AthCliath soccer is fairly strong in all irish cities and some parts of the country also so this is not solely a dublin issue. Rugby would be proportionally bigger in other counties than Dublin also added to this the fact that some other counties thrive in dual codes of hurling and football whereas the dubs are predominantly football with hurling being a recent thing
tj09 (Cork) - Posts: 481 - 06/08/2012 17:45:48
tj09 County: Cork Posts: 454
1240012 AthCliath soccer is fairly strong in all irish cities and some parts of the country also so this is not solely a dublin issue. Rugby would be proportionally bigger in other counties than Dublin also added to this the fact that some other counties thrive in dual codes of hurling and football whereas the dubs are predominantly football with hurling being a recent thing
yes but whats your point?
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 06/08/2012 17:53:39
hill16no1man County: Dublin Posts: 2194
1240005 athcliath
strong rumours the hill is sold out for mayo match already mate went to ticketmaster and said they had none left and tickets.ie have none either
Id say there will be big crowd alright, looking forward to it, thank god for season ticket.
AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 06/08/2012 18:01:26
yeah have the parnell pass myself
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 06/08/2012 18:13:55
there were about 15-20 thousand dubs at meath v louth. i was at the double header that day it was nowhere near 40,000 dubs. for the population you have i'd put you down as the worst supported county in ireland.
BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 06/08/2012 18:35:17
hill16no1man County: Dublin Posts: 2197
1239855 a saturday evening fixture for two all ireland quarter finals is the reason for their being less on saturday then sunday. dublin had around 45 thousand of the 52
That's just a flat out lie. there were over 6,000 mayo fans alone there and the same goes for down. laois support was bad but there was 5,000 at least. the hill was about 70% full and the stands weren't exactly packed full of dubs. very bad turnout stop denying it.
BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 06/08/2012 18:38:57
BettystownRoyal County: Meath Posts: 2851
1240097 there were about 15-20 thousand dubs at meath v louth. i was at the double header that day it was nowhere near 40,000 dubs. for the population you have i'd put you down as the worst supported county in ireland.
haha now betty if we had 15-20 thousand at a game not even involving DUBLIN that just proves how good a supporters we are your priceless pal outnumbered meath at a meath match you keep digging that hole
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 06/08/2012 18:41:35
Haha hill good spot!
Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 06/08/2012 18:48:43
waynoI
it's a real shame laois didn't win............the dublin fans that were saving their money for the semi final with mayo/down would have gotten everything that they deserved..............dublin fans DO NOT travel in decent number to away league games.............you're saying dublin attract a big following in the championship therefore i dare you to define decent numbers when you say dublin fans tend to travel in decent numbers to away league games..............a few hundred at best would be the norm at away league games..............genuine dublin fans are the salt of the earth but the big following dublin get at championship games mainly comprises of people who wouldn't have a bulls notion who ciarán kilkenny was..........
Gammy_Knee (USA) - Posts: 1482 - 06/08/2012 19:00:31
BettystownRoyal County: Meath Posts: 2854
That's just a flat out lie. there were over 6,000 mayo fans alone there and the same goes for down. laois support was bad but there was 5,000 at least. the hill was about 70% full and the stands weren't exactly packed full of dubs. very bad turnout stop denying it.
6 thousand mayo fans come off not even a mayo fan that was in croker would agree with that. and then you go and top it by saying laois support was bad but they had over 5 thousand hahahaha they had 500 at most pal. the hill was full,the nally was no where near full,45 thousand aint a bad turn out from us not our best turnout but hardly bad turnout out of 52 thousand in the stadium
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 06/08/2012 21:03:49
Cant agree lads with croker being so huge its vital to the gaa having the dubs there at the business end of things. at the weekend with the live telly and the result predictable enough [although it was close] a lot stayed away and id say the main reason for that was financial because thats the way things are at the moment because no matter what you have on at the moment its hard to sell. People go on about the poor support for cork but Mayo is equally as bad and they cant blame Hurling they have a hardcore support who always follow them but then if they do go to a semi final or final they have a load of bandwagon supporters who start whinging about tickets, and how hard it is to get them but then they get them mainly cos they have a lot of brethern spread around the country.
johnsee (Meath) - Posts: 389 - 07/08/2012 08:30:07
johnsee
true id say there be at least 20 thousand mayo there for the semi final against us now
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 07/08/2012 09:37:59
hill, my point is that your fellow dublin supporter was arguing that soccer is very strong in dublin and so has a big effect on yer support, I am pointing out that other counties have similar if not bigger distractions. Do you follow???
tj09 (Cork) - Posts: 481 - 07/08/2012 09:52:24
Gammy_Knee County: USA Posts: 972
1240143 waynoI
it's a real shame laois didn't win............the dublin fans that were saving their money for the semi final with mayo/down would have gotten everything that they deserved..............dublin fans DO NOT travel in decent number to away league games.............you're saying dublin attract a big following in the championship therefore i dare you to define decent numbers when you say dublin fans tend to travel in decent numbers to away league games..............a few hundred at best would be the norm at away league games..............genuine dublin fans are the salt of the earth but the big following dublin get at championship games mainly comprises of people who wouldn't have a bulls notion who ciarán kilkenny was..........
Well said Gammy, there was 10,000 at Dublin v Mayo league last year and the vast majority of them were mayo. the 5 dublin LOI clubs put together would bring more away fans to their away games than dublin do. and they have to go down the country more than dublin do! dublin gaa don't fund the gaa anymore than cork, tipp and donegal do! even if you had 5,000 more at the weekend than donegal did they were paying the higher price so more money for the GAA!! i know it's hard to take but you winning the all-ireland wasn't the saviour the GAA thought it would be.
BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 08/08/2012 18:41:56
i know it's hard to take but you winning the all-ireland wasn't the saviour the GAA thought it would be. --------- It's more than ticket sales though, it also works in terms of jersey sales and increased advertising revenue due to increased interest in Dubs ie; more viewership etc
OgraAnDun (Down) - Posts: 406 - 08/08/2012 20:35:35
"Roll Up"! "Roll Up"! "......who wants a new clubhouse??!!"
Just ask the Dubs politely and you shall receive!!!!!
Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 08/08/2012 21:50:35
betty ye need to stop this fixation with the dubs. also adding on bits from the dubs posts to make them look like your own.
AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 08/08/2012 21:52:04
OgraAnDun County: Down Posts: 217
why is it hard to take, and for who is it hard to take. All we care about is winning gaa matches.
AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 08/08/2012 21:59:28
j09 County: Cork Posts: 460
1240450 hill, my point is that your fellow dublin supporter was arguing that soccer is very strong in dublin and so has a big effect on yer support, I am pointing out that other counties have similar if not bigger distractions. Do you follow???
yes i agree with you,i actualy dont think soccer has much of an effect on our support though as airtricity league attendances for each team only come in at between 1-2 thousand,i think nowadays its more the opposition that determines support levels but we have increased our hardcore support as league attendances have been hugely popular
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 09/08/2012 09:27:36
OgraAnDun It's more than ticket sales though, it also works in terms of jersey sales and increased advertising revenue due to increased interest in Dubs ie; more viewership
Point taken. I'm sure all of that has increased the revenue greatly for the GAA and with far less Dubs going to games I'm sure many more are at home watching on the TV so TV rights revenue will be going up.
Snufalufagus "Roll Up"! "Roll Up"! "......who wants a new clubhouse??!!" Just ask the Dubs politely and you shall receive!!!!!
Snuffy you never cease to make me laugh :D Only thing I'd say is the admin should be putting all your posts into the friday afternoon wind down thread.
AthCliath betty ye need to stop this fixation with the dubs. also adding on bits from the dubs posts to make them look like your own.
If anything it would be considered a fixation with donegal. The only team I'm really fixated with are Meath and there's not really a lot to say about them right now hence why I'm talking a lot about other things like this. and as a blind man could see I put bits of other peoples posts into mine so people can clearly see who exactly i'm addressing. think you lost the plot a bit there pal.
BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 09/08/2012 18:33:30