Ah Joxer, please tell me you didn't go rummaging around in an online dictionary looking for that did you? You know as well as I do what you were referring to with that little capital colloquialism and what it means in your vernacular so leave it so now with the outback will ya please? Your unrelenting altruism towards the coffers of the wider GAA family is touching and everything but be honest it's a flag of convenience isn't it? The Dubs always have home advantage and that makes an already unfair sporting contest even moreso.
Bosco (Carlow) - Posts: 664 - 27/06/2012 16:54:34
lochgarmanabu County: Wexford Posts: 745
1203704 Gaa_lover they would certainly win more than one every 15 years. It is strange that the Dublin supporters on here are still finding it difficult to accept the fact that it is an advantage to play in Croker.
I don't think that anybody is arguing that it doesn't have it's pluses but it also has a lot of negatives and I think the players, and supporters, preference would be to play away from Croker. Having said that your own county didn't want to play at home against us in 2010 when they had the chance so what hope have we got. We agree to play away and then you tell us that you don't want to. Come off it now will ye! Anyway 1 trophy in 15 years like you say. So where's the advantage? You've made the argument for us. Thanks
Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4749 - 27/06/2012 17:00:40
I've no real problem with Dublin playing most of their games at Croker but it would be no harm to see them play the odd Leinster QF outside of Dublin. Also if Dublin came through the back door and reached the QF, I think they should play outside of Dublin again depending on who they draw.
Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 27/06/2012 17:03:05
TheMaster County: Mayo Posts: 4359
Jesus are you for real? We get a chance to buy them, but we dont get the same chance the dubs do, that is the whole point. Can you not see that what I am saying is a possibility to counteract it being a home tie? No need to go to county boards or any of that waffle that you keep pushing. Look if there are 12 seats up fro grabs to a game between mayo and dublin in croker. There are 12 dubs looking for a ticket and there are 8 outlets for them to get tickets in dublin. Now lets say in mayo we have 8 people looking for tickets and 4 outlets. Obviously, all things being equal, the dublin fans are going to buy more than their share of the tickets in the same time the mayo fans will have bought a little over half their share. This is my point, you need to give the mayos of this world more time to get their share of tickets than the likes of dublin. That is if you want to make things a bit fairer anyway, if you dont then you will keep waffling on about county boards and anything else you can think of rather than address the real issue.
My point about the hill was slightly different. Even on top of the above point, the reality is nobody wants to go into the hill when dublin are there because they know they will be surrounded by dubs with many dishing out abuse, which in all fairness would spoil the spectacle of the game. For this reason the gaa should make a special effort with the hill to make sure that it is split evenly between the 2 sets of fans. No 1 set of fans should take over a full stand, it can effect the game. For instance, if hill 16 was full of kerrymen last year and cluxton was shooting into it in the last minute, it would be a lot harder for him than say if he was shooting into a stand of dublin fans. The point is it could possibly unbalance the game, not to mention it is offputting for people going to a match, and that should never be the case in any game.
Also MesAmis, a simple yes or no question, is playing in your back garden in from of a huge partisan crowd an advantage to the home team?
Yes I am for real as you put it.
How is giving more time going to get a more even split of tickets? Despite your utterances it isn't not particularly clear what you're on about. Should no tickets be sold in Dublin until everyone in Mayo has had the opportunity to purchase their tickets? Should one county only ever be able to purchase half the number of tickets for any stand leaving empty seats?
Playing in Croke Park is probably an advantage to Dublin against some teams. If we had to travel more to games then there would still be a lot of times where the Dublin support would outnumber the opposing support as well.
If Mayo and Dublin meet later in the summer and you want to go to the Hill then go. You will have no problems and will enjoy the day, especially if Mayo repeat their 2006 performance!
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13846 - 27/06/2012 17:04:49
Cute_Kerry_Hoor County: Kerry Posts: 908
1203727 I've no real problem with Dublin playing most of their games at Croker but it would be no harm to see them play the odd Leinster QF outside of Dublin. Also if Dublin came through the back door and reached the QF, I think they should play outside of Dublin again depending on who they draw.
Agree with that about AI 1/4 finals. I don't think they should automatically be in Croke Park although I think it has something to do with the Corporate tickets that means they always will be.
Leinster quarter final venues are decided by whoever gets drawn at home. Counties drawn at home to Dublin are more interested in the cash rather than giving themselves home advantage.
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13846 - 27/06/2012 17:10:02
lochgarmanabu County: Wexford Posts: 746
1203704 Gaa_lover they would certainly win more than one every 15 years. It is strange that the Dublin supporters on here are still finding it difficult to accept the fact that it is an advantage to play in Croker.
If its such an advantage then why did Wexford insist on giving up home advantage in 2010?
Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 27/06/2012 17:11:39
No point in Aindreas Doyle giving out about in a newspaper. Why didn't he raise these concerns with his county board in 2010 when they had a chance to bring the Dubs to Wexford Park and declined for some strange reason!! ________________
Yep I couldnt have said it better. Fair play Mes
Listen it would be more of an advantage to play in Parnell Park. I dont see how that could ever be in doubt but it's not big enough for the greedy culchie suits running the GAA
BUT
Teams that are good enough have beaten Dublin in Croke Park over the last 10 years
It doesnt help the weaker counties to cough up home advantage ie Wexford in 2010. The Spring series has put some life back into the league with the Dubs playing in Croker. Nice bit of media coverage to boot. Nice for the sponsors and well yes nice for us too.
Preach all you want culchies but it's the greedy amongst you that has the Dubs in Croke Park
There hasnt been too many Dublin men at the head of the GAA in recent times.... it's your very own making all the calls.
It's your very own coughing up home advantage aye Aindreas... :)
If you're good enough to beat Dublin in Croke Park.. well you'll do just that... something that Meath, Laois and Westmeath have proven in Leinster in the last 10 years
Personally I'd love a 50,000 seater stadium in Dublin to call our very own. Dedicated 100% to Dublin GAA Páirc Uí Dubh Linn basked in glorious sky blue and navy. I'd feckin love that.
It's a pity that Parnell Park doesnt feed the greedy culchies running the GAA, because it would be much more of an advantage for us to play at our home ground.
Also some of you boys could sleep better at night.
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 27/06/2012 17:24:03
Of course it's an advantage to play at home, for christ sake, will ye give over.
It shouldn't happen and what about if they lose out on money by bringing it outside croker, big deal.
If Man United draw wrexham in the cup away, they don't turn round and say, lets have it at old trafford as we will get at least another 20k bums on seats.
Its farcical , it can only happen in GAA though, obedient general public, submissive even, never really protest about anything in life/politics or sport, its a genetic disease , i think.
51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 27/06/2012 17:26:33
To joxer, jimbodub and jackeen. . . . lads check the facts please. Wexford didnt concede home advantage in 2010
yellabelly (Wexford) - Posts: 1062 - 27/06/2012 17:33:34
51longago
Switching of home advantage for financial reasons has a long history in the FA cup!
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13846 - 27/06/2012 17:44:54
Yellabelly
Yous did.
Wexford County Board tried to spin it differently at the time alright.
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13846 - 27/06/2012 17:48:00
Bosco on the basis that this is like throwing logic at a brick wall (not an actual brick wall you understand) and in light of the fact that you cannot stand over your claims so would rather hack away at the chip on your shoulder over harmless comments that you perceive as a put down on our country neighbours, I give up. Yes it is a massive advantage to Dublin when playing big championship games in the capital. Aindreas of course was right and he has his excuses should they lose 'away' to the AI champs. But hey that's life. Get over it.
Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4749 - 27/06/2012 17:57:03
i can tell you dubs we did not give up home in 2010 i know cause i was on co board at time so stuff your bull
Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 3115 - 27/06/2012 17:58:32
51longago County: Mayo Posts: 1558
1203746 Of course it's an advantage to play at home, for christ sake, will ye give over.
It shouldn't happen and what about if they lose out on money by bringing it outside croker, big deal.
If Man United draw wrexham in the cup away, they don't turn round and say, lets have it at old trafford as we will get at least another 20k bums on seats.
Its farcical , it can only happen in GAA though, obedient general public, submissive even, never really protest about anything in life/politics or sport, its a genetic disease , i think.
Happens all the time in cup competition in soccer. FA Cup, FAI Cup and in fact has happened a lot with EL clubs in european competition to secure TV rights.
Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4749 - 27/06/2012 18:02:37
Happens all the time in cup competition in soccer. FA Cup, FAI Cup and in fact has happened a lot with EL clubs in european competition to secure TV rights.
happens all the time? Hey what do you mean. Can you show me some "all the time" examples in fa cup in England. All the time, would have to be at least 51% of the time, so we will use the example i gave Man united, so i'm away off to google to check this out, if you're right fair enough but my memory does not recall such thing.
51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 27/06/2012 18:11:26
First of all, thanks Jackeen for reading my long post yesterday. It seems the like of TheMaster etc didnt really read it!!!
Aindreas Doyle was trying to use psychology ahead of the Dublin game the weekend.....fair play to him....trying to get an edge. Wexford conceded home advantage in 2010, they get a bigger share of gate receipts from The Leinster Council, which gives them more resources to pump into Wexford GAA, which is a good reason to concede home advantage.
TheMaster - I just dont get your point??? Like the winding up the others are doing is grand etc.....but they are living in a dream world if they think a BUSINESS like the GAA arent gonna maximize profits by using Croke park.
TheMaster first of all said Dublin fans couldnt accept playing in Croke Park is an advantage - read back through the thread, Dublin fans pretty much said yeah...it is an advantage, but one we dont have a choice over. For economic reasons, its a no brainer not playing Dublin games in Croke Park.
Now the ticketing issue you'll just have to take up with Ticketmaster; Dublin fans have more ways of getting tickets and thats unfair. A private company like Ticketmaster are hardly gonna open up thirty outlets in Mayo for Mayo's once every three/four year semi final trip to Croke Park. It would make NO ECONOMIC SENSE for a private company to do that!
About tickets, being a Mayo-man you will know that last year for Mayo's quarter final, did Mayo fans travel??? Oh thats right....No they didnt. How about we give Mayo fans/Kerry fans/Wexford fans the allocation for their last game in Croke Park plus ten percent.....
Ill give you an example, Kerry fans dont travel, in fact they were outnumbered in Killarney by Cork fans a couple of years ago. Now last year Kerry were demanding a huge allocation of tickets for the final, yet their fans didnt travel to the quarters of the semis. So my suggestion is that Kerry brought about 8000 fans to the semi, so give them 8000 tickets for the next game plus ten percent of that. They get 8800 tickets....
No heres my point..... 50000 plus Dublin fans turned up for their quarter and their semi..... 50000 plus ten percent.... oh thats 55000 isnt it????
So my point is counties should only be allocated tickets if they actually turn up to games in Croke Park, like if Mayo were playing Dublin in a semi or a final they demand four times their allocation for the previous games.....is that fair....
Should the fans who turn up not be rewarded first.....???
Discuss ;)
JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 27/06/2012 19:17:50
JayP, your comments are all logical and are common sense like but believe me logic and common sense cuts no ice here. We are hiding behind the "flag of convenience" that is the GAA wallet.
Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4749 - 27/06/2012 20:11:19
MesAmis How is giving more time going to get a more even split of tickets? Despite your utterances it isn't not particularly clear what you're on about. Should no tickets be sold in Dublin until everyone in Mayo has had the opportunity to purchase their tickets? Should one county only ever be able to purchase half the number of tickets for any stand leaving empty seats?
Are you saying you do not understand how dublin would buy up more tickets than another county in a set period of time? They have more people to buy them and they have more places to buy them from, it is really simple logic. And no I am not saying that empty seats should be left, as well you know because I have stated it twice already. Again I repeat, after a set period any unsold tickets could get made available
Playing in Croke Park is probably an advantage to Dublin against some teams. If we had to travel more to games then there would still be a lot of times where the Dublin support would outnumber the opposing support as well.
What teams is it not an advantage against? That may be the case, but it would not be as extreme. Also I doubt that this would be the case against the teams that will be filling croker.
If Mayo and Dublin meet later in the summer and you want to go to the Hill then go. You will have no problems and will enjoy the day, especially if Mayo repeat their 2006 performance!
Again, that may be the case, but I would enjoy it more if it was evenly split.
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 27/06/2012 21:42:05
JayP Aindreas Doyle was trying to use psychology ahead of the Dublin game the weekend.....fair play to him....trying to get an edge
He may well have been, but he wasnt telling any lies either.
TheMaster - I just dont get your point??? Like the winding up the others are doing is grand etc.....but they are living in a dream world if they think a BUSINESS like the GAA arent gonna maximize profits by using Croke park.
You dont understand it becuase you didnt read it, I said the tickets could be sold to dub fans after a certain time period of them not getting sold.
TheMaster first of all said Dublin fans couldnt accept playing in Croke Park is an advantage - read back through the thread, Dublin fans pretty much said yeah...it is an advantage, but one we dont have a choice over. For economic reasons, its a no brainer not playing Dublin games in Croke Park.
Very few said yes it is an advantage. They are saying 'well it might be in certain circumstances' etc etc. But that just isnt true. Playing at home is an advantage,, and playing in front of a huge home crowd is another one, no ifs ands or buts.
Now the ticketing issue you'll just have to take up with Ticketmaster; Dublin fans have more ways of getting tickets and thats unfair. A private company like Ticketmaster are hardly gonna open up thirty outlets in Mayo for Mayo's once every three/four year semi final trip to Croke Park. It would make NO ECONOMIC SENSE for a private company to do that!
Again, didnt read the point. Tickets will still be sold. Next.
About tickets, being a Mayo-man you will know that last year for Mayo's quarter final, did Mayo fans travel??? Oh thats right....No they didnt. How about we give Mayo fans/Kerry fans/Wexford fans the allocation for their last game in Croke Park plus ten percent.....
Werent there only 30 odd thousand at a dublin game recently? There is your allocation for the year...
Ill give you an example, Kerry fans dont travel, in fact they were outnumbered in Killarney by Cork fans a couple of years ago. Now last year Kerry were demanding a huge allocation of tickets for the final, yet their fans didnt travel to the quarters of the semis. So my suggestion is that Kerry brought about 8000 fans to the semi, so give them 8000 tickets for the next game plus ten percent of that. They get 8800 tickets....
Again no relevance, the tickets are not lost forever.
No heres my point..... 50000 plus Dublin fans turned up for their quarter and their semi..... 50000 plus ten percent.... oh thats 55000 isnt it???? So my point is counties should only be allocated tickets if they actually turn up to games in Croke Park, like if Mayo were playing Dublin in a semi or a final they demand four times their allocation for the previous games.....is that fair....
But what if the dubs used their numbers to buy up all the tickets like I have outlined? Maybe the other counties couldnt buy them because the dubs have them all bought. That isnt fair.
Should the fans who turn up not be rewarded first
Not if they have had an advantage to get there in the first place. If it is to be a neutral venue for commercial reasons then they should make an effort to make it neutral. That is fair.
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 27/06/2012 21:56:14
the master take it up with the gaa hierarchy that you want the hill evenly split, all the things in gaa that could be changed and you have a problem with that. you do know that anyone can buy a ticket for the hill or are you just spitting the dummy out of the pram because half the hill isnt in mayo colours on the day of a match.
AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 27/06/2012 21:57:59