Jimbo the culchie generalising just undermines the fair points you are making.
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 03/07/2012 15:20:59
Any county with ambition should relish playing the dubs in croke park. If Brosnan had backbone he would of slotted them over and silenced the hill just like meath will do in three weeks time.
atta (Meath) - Posts: 714 - 03/07/2012 15:24:35
Breffni39 County: Cavan Posts: 7571
1208532 Jimbo the culchie generalising just undermines the fair points you are making. _____
Culchie is just a lose term I use to describe the very ones that I'm targeting. They know who they are... just like they know who they are not.
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 03/07/2012 15:49:01
If that makes sense. :) ?
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 03/07/2012 15:51:18
atta County: Meath Posts: 527
1208539 Any county with ambition should relish playing the dubs in croke park. If Brosnan had backbone he would of slotted them over and silenced the hill just like meath will do in three weeks time.
No question
Meath are the team going in on form... Dubs have not looked good.
Just hope we can discover the form that sees us as the only unbeaten Championship team over the last couple of years.
But lets be honest... we've been poor.
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 03/07/2012 15:52:59
clondalkindub County: Dublin Posts: 2300
1208220 Hill I knew we were disliked but it's only since I've joined this forum I realise how much were hated. It's very bad I couldn't believe the stick we got after the Kilkenny game. They hammer everyone but we took more stick than anyone ever has.
Its funny the only ones who say the Dubs are disliked are the Dubs themselves, no one else says it.
moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 03/07/2012 15:53:45
I dislike the Dubs, no problem saying it.
Bosco (Carlow) - Posts: 664 - 03/07/2012 15:57:44
atta County: Meath Posts: 527
1208539 Any county with ambition should relish playing the dubs in croke park. If Brosnan had backbone he would of slotted them over and silenced the hill just like meath will do in three weeks time.
that their be fighting talk bring on the royals ;-)
dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 03/07/2012 15:58:36
cavanman47 County: Cavan Posts: 79
"....as regards the issue of clubs down the country needing dublin games in croker to survive, i can tell you that my own club built its clubrooms and developed its grounds on the back of a credit union loan, while many clubs use national lottery funding for their development."
Fair play to your club, but its the same for all Dublin clubs. Very little money goes on capitol grants to any clubs, it goes to county boards to distribute as they see fit. If your county board has a "strategic" plan to develop the game they can apply to various bodies to get grant aid including HQ but also the Government and local authorities even clubs that jointly develop pitches facillites with a local school may get get aid.
But your County has to have a plan. Dublin have had two plans the latest one is "unleashing the blue wave" or some such grandiose title, but local clubs still have to look after themselves.
arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4968 - 03/07/2012 16:03:51
Bosco County: Carlow Posts: 341
You're from Carlow... no one cares what you think.
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 03/07/2012 16:15:11
Bosco County: Carlow Posts: 341
1208584 I dislike the Dubs, no problem saying it. ______
Personally I have nothing against the 17 people living in Carlow
12 of which are Dubs.
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 03/07/2012 16:21:57
Jim bob, eloquently put. Thanks for that stunning example of the unique wit that "da Dubs" bring to the Gaa. Were you long waiting for that kind of inspiration or does this stuff just come to you? Thanks again for illustrating my point.
Bosco (Carlow) - Posts: 664 - 03/07/2012 16:38:42
Yeah Ok Bosco.. so you dont like us...
Clap Clap.. thanks for sharing that.
We'll enjoy our Leinster Final.. you can enjoy ehhhh.... ehhhm....
I'll get back to you
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 03/07/2012 16:46:58
lochgarmanabu County: Wexford Posts: 754
1208217 Jack I dont know you from Adam but I trust you are a decent fellow and I certainly never called you a tyke.
Yes I am a decent lady thanks and I was on the hill so therefore according to you I'm a tyke and like my fellow dubs said, I'm guessing it's not a term of endearment!
Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 03/07/2012 16:48:56
http://www.nra.ie/RoadSchemeActivity/KildareCountyCouncil/N9N10CarlowBypass/SchemeName,16514,en.html
That's about the only good thing I can think about Carlow...
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 03/07/2012 16:50:26
It's a pity this thread got hijacked.
The main point about Dublin playing all their games at Croke Park, for me isn't as much about it being a home venue (which it clearly is). The main point I'd like to make about it is that Dublin are well suited to playing on the biggest pitch in the country. They have a huge panel with strength throughout, and by playing on the biggest pitch every time they play, their fitness kills smaller teams. If you looked at Sunday's match, the skill levels of both teams were very even. Wexford even looked to have more natural forwards than Dublin. But what told in the end was that Wexford ran out of steam while Dublin's subs like MD McCauley came on and kept their team going hard til the end. Yes, the likes of Wexford should be fit enough to last the hour. But it'd be a hell of a lot easier in a tighter county ground like Wexford Park or Dr Cullen or Aughrim where fitness wouldn't be such a crucial factor because the pitch would be smaller.
Also, Croke Park is a home venue for Dublin. It's in Dublin. Therefore its a home venue. And if its the number of fans people are concerned about and the money generated, why not bring the 50,000 fans to Thurles instead? Perhaps because if Dublin had to play Wexford outside Dublin, that 50,000 would only be 20,000 fans.
icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2592 - 03/07/2012 17:02:53
icehonesty County: Wexford Posts: 986
Then why arent we allowed to train there?
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 03/07/2012 17:06:50
If Croke Park is now Dublins home ground...
As has been mentioned several times... we havent played a game in Parnell park in the league OR championship since March 2010
Surely we should also be allowed to train there... we train in Parnell Park and have to play our games in Croke Park
Do Cork, Kerry, Tyrone get to train on their respective home pitches and also play their games there?
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 03/07/2012 17:12:36
icehonesty County: Wexford Posts: 986
1208681 It's a pity this thread got hijacked.
The main point about Dublin playing all their games at Croke Park, for me isn't as much about it being a home venue (which it clearly is). The main point I'd like to make about it is that Dublin are well suited to playing on the biggest pitch in the country. They have a huge panel with strength throughout, and by playing on the biggest pitch every time they play, their fitness kills smaller teams. If you looked at Sunday's match, the skill levels of both teams were very even. Wexford even looked to have more natural forwards than Dublin. But what told in the end was that Wexford ran out of steam while Dublin's subs like MD McCauley came on and kept their team going hard til the end. Yes, the likes of Wexford should be fit enough to last the hour. But it'd be a hell of a lot easier in a tighter county ground like Wexford Park or Dr Cullen or Aughrim where fitness wouldn't be such a crucial factor because the pitch would be smaller.
Not sure Croker is the biggest pitch in the country and has standard dimensions. Think this came up on here before that pundits saying "the wide open spaces of croke park" were fooling themselves
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 03/07/2012 17:16:12
jimbodub County: Dublin Posts: 9060
1208690 If Croke Park is now Dublins home ground...
As has been mentioned several times... we havent played a game in Parnell park in the league OR championship since March 2010
Surely we should also be allowed to train there... we train in Parnell Park and have to play our games in Croke Park
Do Cork, Kerry, Tyrone get to train on their respective home pitches and also play their games there?
Ye have to play in Croke Park, Do the GAA force ye to play there? Kerry's home pitch is Killarney but they train in Tralee so they dont get to play and train on there home pitch
moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 03/07/2012 17:32:47