Fair Play to Aindreas Doyle

Is it really an advantage to the Dubs? 2 All Irelands since 1983. Since then Kerry, Meath, Cork and Tyrone all have won more in that time and Galway have won it twice themselves.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 26/06/2012 12:48:18    1202436

waynoI

Someone woke up on the wrong side of the bed this morning , Oh Aindreas ... you poor soul.

Unlike the Dubs who woke up on the wrong side of the bed - this afternoon

vice99 (Donegal) - Posts: 1054 - 26/06/2012 12:49:08    1202437

It seems to be only you leinster lads whinging about the dubs playing in croke park!
Counties from the other provinces have beaten them consistently in croke park over
years. There is no better atmostphere than that of a silent hill! ;)

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 26/06/2012 12:56:16    1202449

Dublin is the capital, its only right you county folk pay homage now and again. It does your type of people good.

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1663 - 26/06/2012 13:02:51    1202464

Exactly the gate, how inter county footballers can complain about playing Dublin in Croker il never know.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 26/06/2012 13:05:32    1202470

paddyogall

In Dublins last game (which was a double header) there was less then 30,000 at it. It could easily have been played at a regional venue.

there was 31,500 at it and that was the lowest crowd at a leinster championship match involving dublin in over a decade but still no other ground in the province could have held that attendance so get your facts right,there would have been over 40 thousand at it only for the severe traffic restrictions all over dublin that day because of the formula 1

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 26/06/2012 13:07:38    1202473

if it was any other county there would be no problem most countys want to play the matches in croke park as its were you want to play.
look at waterford hurlers the match is fixed for pairc ui choimh against tipp but they put in a request to play it in thurles the home ground of tipp so i dont see what people are whinging about

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 26/06/2012 13:10:58    1202483

In my years of going to see Meath games, Croke Park was considered our home pitch too by all in Meath.

Diego (Meath) - Posts: 1210 - 26/06/2012 13:19:03    1202496

I find it so difficult to understand how any Dublin fan can try and justify that playing at Croke Park isn't a huge advantage to them! It's beyond ridiculous that they continue to get preferential treatment year in year out playing every game at Croker. Fair play to Doyle for coming out and saying what he did, he's only speaking the truth and should be applauded for it.

MourneArmy (Down) - Posts: 1787 - 26/06/2012 13:32:57    1202518

good thinking getting the excuses in earlier for sunday,lets use the croke park advantage thing again for when we lose.

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 26/06/2012 13:38:35    1202527

In Dublins last game (which was a double header) there was less then 30,000 at it. It could easily have been played at a regional venue.

Its time to split Dublin into four teams anyway. The four teams would be Dublin City, South Dublin County, Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County and Fingal County.

All I can say is that this is WUM tactics. Hell will freeze over first before Dublin is split. Offer something genuine to the debate or offer nothing at all. Muppet.

A proper debate is needed on this. I would suggest that Dublin matches are alternated between opposition counties grounds, the nell and Croker during the provincials for a period of three years, and lets see what state the LC coffers are in at the end. It would be interesting. I will concede that I can see the point of it been unfair but again it should not be personalized towards Dublin, its a leinster and GAA HQ issue.

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 26/06/2012 13:42:28    1202536

so should the all ireland final if dublin meet tyrone be played outside croker maybe morgan atheltic grounds being neutral

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 26/06/2012 13:42:58    1202539

waynoI

Someone woke up on the wrong side of the bed this morning , Oh Aindreas ... you poor soul.

Unlike the Dubs who woke up on the wrong side of the bed - this afternoon
unlike the donegal folk who woke up on the bar-stool.lol....

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2901 - 26/06/2012 13:47:58    1202545

And if he was playing the dubs in wexford park sunday then hed be giving out that they were not playing in croke park. Begrudgery and the dubs go hand in hand. Dublin and croke park makes economic sense. why have a stadium closed all year round. If Doyle doesnt like it then he could always join the dubs!

db9 (Meath) - Posts: 283 - 26/06/2012 13:49:31    1202552

The main advantage is familiarity with the pitch and sorroundings.. Mayo were willing to play the rescheduled game V Dublin in Croker so we could get an extra game there before the championship starts so it shows that it helps playing more games there... But what can you do... Dublin have a big popluation of GAA supporters and the GAA has to try and accomodate them as much as possible.. Otherwise fans and potential players of the future may be lost to soccer rugby etc.

unclegerry (Mayo) - Posts: 1223 - 26/06/2012 13:50:16    1202554

maybe they should revamp portlaoise to hold 40 thousand then you could have dublin play more matches outside croker instead of building another 50 thousand stadium in munster where there is already enough stadiums with big capacitys

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 26/06/2012 13:55:24    1202565

paddyogall

Its time to split Dublin into four teams anyway. The four teams would be Dublin City, South Dublin County, Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County and Fingal County.

Eh why?!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 26/06/2012 13:58:41    1202573

Why not just dilute the Hill? It's obvious (from that "march to the hill) nonsense that it's a great psychological boost to the Dubs, and it would be human nature for referrers to feel increased reassure from it

So sell Hill tickets through clubs in the opposing county. The latecoming League of Ireland boys can fork out thee tea rennet for a change. Leaves them with less cider money anyway, so the odd game might start on time

Evens things up a bit without loss of revenue

Count_Awesome (Kildare) - Posts: 736 - 26/06/2012 13:59:22    1202576

I think that there are a lot of people missing the point of what the Croc was saying. There is an element of having the superior number of fans there and also how handy it is for the home supporters to get to the venue. But this is a statement that was being made from a players point of view.
Think of how much easier it is for a player on match day knowing that the game is on in the "home" venue. (I use home as its in Dublin and its dublin playing) No think of a player that is coming from the south of Wexford for the game. I am not sure if Wexford are travelling up on the day of overnighting in Dublin but either way there is going to be a disruprion to the norm in termsof your normal build up. Time on the bus, waiting around in traffic, different sleeping arrangements...

There is of course the arguement that the players nowadays are so professional that things like that would not make a difference, but in this modern envoirnment gameof inches every little helps.

yabogginotya (Kildare) - Posts: 7 - 26/06/2012 14:07:00    1202586

Jackeen

Because of your massive population advantage.

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 26/06/2012 14:10:52    1202589