Kildare's humiliation of Meath continues...

Ah these types of runs between rivalries happen all the time in sport.

Up until last year Leinster had 5 wins on the trot against Munster in the rugby, in all competitions in Croker, Thomond and all that. Munster were never humiliated by it and it's beginning to balance out a little now, Munster beating Leinster in the Magners final being a shining example of that & the rivalry goes on

The same could apply to the Kildare/Meath rivalry here, healthy, sporting, fiercely competitive that only adds to the game when they meet on the pitch. Quite frankly, I'm excited at the prospect of a Kildare/Meath semi in Leinster this year and hope it happens, with all due respect to other teams on their side of the draw

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 08/03/2012 14:05:52    1125212

the thread name is a tad ridiculous.. but i would not mind 6 in a row either gigeor ;)

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 08/03/2012 16:07:08    1125325

Meath have lost 6 games on the trot against Kildare

The question remains , What have Kildare got to show for that ? They have not been promoted to Division one and haven't won any silverware bar an Obyrne cup which is Gaas equivalent to something like soccers Amsterdam tournament or emirates cup. I.e Pre season tournament.

Meath on the other hand have lost 6 games in a row against Kildare yet in that time have won Leinster. Yeh they where very fortunate but won it none the less. Now i dont know but i believe alot of teams are remembered for all irelands they win or leinsters they win and not beaten a particular team x,y or z times in a row

For example, Dublin won 5 Leinsters in a row, In 15 years that will be remembered, in 15 years no-body will remember (or care) about the 2010-2012 Kildare team that beat a declining meath team 6 times in a row (3 of which where league games which in all honesty are very rarely remembered anyway) but didnt get to an all ireland final or win their provincial title. I say a declining Meath team because lets face it, Meath have seen better periods in their history.

As was already said, These things swing in roundabouts, Domination over a team doesnt last forever. Meath will beat Kildare sooner rather than later.
Personally i think Meath and Kildare are over-rated but thats neither here nor there.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 08/03/2012 16:41:21    1125359

You're quite right in what you're saying about honours and what-not Wayno, but c'mon, loosen up, there's just a bit of rivalry-fuelled banter going on here. It's good to live in the moment sometimes instead of thinking about 15 years from now

And besides, even most of the Kildare posters think the use of the word humiliation is OTT

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 08/03/2012 16:52:56    1125383

For the record, it's 5 defeats in a row to Kildare!

The Indo was incorrectly suggesting it was 4 at the weekend and now people on here are saying 6!

Here they are:

2012 NFL (Navan)
2011 Round 3 Qualifier
2011 Leinster Quarter-Final
2011 NFL (Newbridge)
2010 All-Ireland Quarter Final

The game before that was the 2010 NFL game in Navan, won by Meath!

GloryHunter (Meath) - Posts: 136 - 08/03/2012 16:54:04    1125387

but c'mon, loosen up, there's just a bit of rivalry-fuelled banter going on here. It's good to live in the moment sometimes instead of thinking about 15 years from now

______

yeh i know man and i dont mind that. Im all for banter. Just speaking facts too..

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 08/03/2012 17:29:24    1125413

Great post Waynol. Two average teams who won't win anything.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 08/03/2012 17:49:56    1125431

waynoI

Personally i think Meath and Kildare are over-rated but thats neither here nor there.

Is it really fair to say Meath are over-rated wayno, I'm not getting into whether Kildare are over-rated or not but Meath are 33/1 to win the All-Ireland, odds which place us in around 10th spot over all. We're also 3rd in leinster at 7/1 which is a bit behind Kildare at 10/3 and miles behind Dublin at 8/13 so I think it's fair to say that people would have roughly the right impression of us at the moment.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 08/03/2012 17:51:30    1125432

gloryhunter we know it is 5 in a row,what i was saying was i wouldnt mind if it turned out to be 6 in a row if meath and kildare were to meet in leinster semi final..
wayno it is a bit nieve of you to say neither meath or kildare will win anything,unless you can predict the future have you got the lotto numbers while your at it?..
i bet you didnt see meath putting 5 goals past dublin in 2010 and getting into the leinster final,and getting by kildare in 2011 by a whisker..
and you would do well to remember a lot of media and people were saying that dublin team would never win anything but leinster titles they were called the bottlers of the last decade until the breakthrough last year so you just dont know what can happen on a championship day..
keep one eye on kildare this year we just might pop up and catch dublin on leinster final day so to could meath,wexford laois!

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 08/03/2012 19:09:08    1125497

If were called bottles what would you call Kildare?? I said it last year before we even won Leinster that domination is coming and from what I've seen with our u 21s and minors I'm even more convinced that we our going to rule Leinster and Sam for years to come.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 08/03/2012 19:22:18    1125510

what i would call kildare? a very good honest team that has a great chance of leinster this year and who knows after that but until we do win and win the top 4 ie dublin,tyrone,cork ,kerry im aware that kildare team will probably keeb receiving jibes such as yours and wayno's.. but...this is what im getting at dublin were called the bottlers for years and im sure you and wayno dont need reminding of how frustrating that was until dublin won sam last year..it is nieve of both him and you to call meath and kildare average teams that will win nothing, im not saying they will but who's to say that kildare wont make the breakthrough this year? and do an armagh like in 02'
you just never know on a championship day.

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 08/03/2012 19:47:15    1125529

They won't make the breakthrough cause there not good enough simple as. But we have consistently won Leinster yous have won nothing in years. You just don't have the players. You keep beating Meath and then getting carried away with yourselves. The scary thing is Dublin are getting better and better with a very young team.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 08/03/2012 19:55:37    1125537

whos's getting carried away? did a kildare person start this thread? no! in fact kildare people on here are calling the thread name ridiculous..
i also am NOT! saying dublin wont dominate for years you seem to think im saying that clondalkin..
what i am saying is..the gaa is a game of inches and no matter how much you think kildare dont have the players you better believe kildare will put it up to dublin in leinster this year if they meet!!

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 08/03/2012 20:24:00    1125566

Think about it lily mcgeeney is trying his best to get seanie Johnston to Kildare, now if he thought he had the players to win sam why is he mad to get sj? Imjust telling people we will dominate nothing to do with you.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 08/03/2012 21:02:01    1125600

Look both Kildare and Meath are very competitive sides but the bottom line is both teams have glaring weaknesses as it stands. Meath have a poor midfield and struggle to get enough posession to dominate games. Kildare either seem to be a solid defensive team who can't get enough scores or an attacking side who can create dozens of chances but then struggle not to concede at the other end. Both sets of supporters know there is a chance that one day it might all come together for them but until it does it's all just meaningless speculation, isn't it?

On the other hand as far as Dublin go I still don't think that Dublin supporters honestly would have dared to dream that after being hammered by Tyrone in 2008 and then Kerry in 2009 that you would beat both on the way to winning Sam two years later. There is a bit of revisionism among Dubs in that regard, that since you've now been there and won it, that ye think ye were always there or thereabouts. Did them Dublin teams not have similar glaring weaknesses too?

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 08/03/2012 21:18:29    1125619

thats a fairpoint doublehop.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 08/03/2012 21:48:17    1125665

But doublehop our team has change since 09 when we got a hiding off Kerry but the Kildare team is more or less the same since 09 yet yous couldn't beat us and we only had 14 men and the worst Dublin six defenders I've ever seen. So that's why I don't think your good enough.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 09/03/2012 08:37:21    1125686

until we do win and win the top 4 ie dublin,tyrone,cork ,kerry im aware that kildare team will probably keeb receiving jibes such as yours and wayno's.. but...this is what im getting at dublin were called the bottlers for years and im sure you and wayno dont need reminding of how frustrating that was until dublin won sam last year..it is nieve of both him and you to call meath and kildare average teams that will win nothing

Calm it for a second and take a look at my post again

Will you please point out where i said "Meath and Kildare are average teams that will win nothing.

I looked over my post twice and couldn't see that. I said Kildare and Meath where both average teams. Thats an opinion its far from a jibe. Are people not entitled to opinions ? It is my belief that Kildare are a good side but they have not beaten a team like Dublin, Kerry, Cork, Tyrone or a Mayo in Kieran McGeeneys reign. Its all well and good beating Meath but where is your silverware ? All i'm saying is you have won nothing in the last few years.

You say i know what its like, Yea of corse i do, We have had some devestating blows over the years and some horrible embarrassing hammerings. But your right others will keep questioning Kildare and why shouldnt they ? Why should we be turning around and say Kildare have the mentality and the players when in all honesty you havent achieved anything of any note to prove that ? Again your right by saying until you do question will be asked and i think thats only fair dont you?

I'm not having a go at Kildare nor Meath , I dont know why you are on your high horse about it, The Meath lads didn't have a go at me they acknowledged my opinion. Maybe you should grow up a little and stop thinking everyone is against Kildare.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 09/03/2012 10:37:35    1125743

waynoI

Wait till sedico gets his hands on you. Praise Kildare or else..... Anything less and your only an anti-Kildare person.

Its interesting however that you mentioned Kildare having not beaten one of Dublin, Cork, Tyrone, Kerry or Mayo in their term of prominance. As was pointed out in another thread, probably the best team they have beaten in the championship has been Meath. And thats not any massive feat.
But as you also pointed out, while we are constantly told Meath are sop much infrior, Meath still have (in the past 5 years) Won a Leinster, beaten Tyrone, Dublin and Mayo in championship games where it counted.

So I guess it just depends what spin you put on it. On one hand Kildare are miles ahead of an utterly useless Meath team, as posters from Many counties like to tell us, OR, Meath have had more significant victories over top teams, reach more semifinals and ultimaltley, won more significant silverware than Kildare over the same period. Either way, its all down to the spin someone puts on it.

The only common denominator for both, is that neither would trouble Dublin, Kerry, Cork and possibly Tyrone right at this moment.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 09/03/2012 11:00:55    1125758

Jinxie

Good post.

JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 09/03/2012 15:41:38    1125978