Aussie Rules Selection

Thoughts will soon be turning to selection of suitable players for the the two games coming up. Are we better going with a pacy team or a stronger more physical team? Any stand out candidates so far?

GerryD (Monaghan) - Posts: 341 - 30/08/2010 16:02:40    760337

Well the obvious one is martin clarke

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 30/08/2010 16:23:26    760398

Usual contenders, Paul Galvin, Stevie McDonnell & Tadgh Kenelly will be available.
Looking forward to seeing it in croke park again in october always a good battle.

Royal_Green11 (Meath) - Posts: 2 - 30/08/2010 16:45:13    760437

Setanta o hailpin

pidge (Cork) - Posts: 543 - 30/08/2010 17:06:01    760481

Justin and joe mc mahon again.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 30/08/2010 17:12:02    760488

Apparently Michael Murphy has been contacted for it. Only donegal player that iv heard of. Benny coulter has excelled at the compromise game before and after a good year with down should walk onto the team. Is colm Begley still playing out in australia? Also any word on walsh from kerry?

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 30/08/2010 17:13:47    760490

Benny Coulter always has a good outting against the Aussies.
Kevin Reilly, Shane O'Rourke & Graham Reilly or Seamus Keeny from my own County.

Any Idea when a squad is being picked?

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 30/08/2010 17:34:21    760520

30/08/2010 17:13:47
dstuction

760490 Apparently Michael Murphy has been contacted for it. Only donegal player that iv heard of. Benny coulter has excelled at the compromise game before and after a good year with down should walk onto the team. Is colm Begley still playing out in australia? Also any word on walsh from kerry?

Colm Begley back playing with Laois this year,he also transferred to Parnells in Dublin

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 30/08/2010 17:44:22    760532

I think this year we need a good balance i think kavanagh from kildare has basically picked himself after his performances this season along with dermot earley and maybe smith and o'callaghan. I think down have plenty to offer in Marty Clarke, Benny, Gordon? McVeigh for keeper and Ambrose Rodgers. Dublin certainly with M.D MacAuley, McConnell, O'Carroll, Cluxton, and the two Brogans. Cork Pearse O'Neill and Canty, Kerry; Declan O'Sullivan and Donaghy Shine from Roscommon?

MourneMan95 (Down) - Posts: 27 - 30/08/2010 18:38:49    760595

Paddy Keenan-Louth,Gary Brennan-Clare,James Kavanagh-Kildare,Joe Sheridan-Meath,Gary Hurney-Waterford deserve a call up

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 30/08/2010 21:59:07    760871

dublins big eamonn fennell

brolly_4_pres (Derry) - Posts: 356 - 31/08/2010 08:40:37    760891

Meh.

Coylers Elbow (Meath) - Posts: 1075 - 31/08/2010 09:34:27    760921

Well the funny thing about picking good compromise rules players is that they arent nessesarily the best gaelic players. Example is leighton glynn last time. I doubt donie shine will get picked. same with o carroll for dublin. eamonn fennell has to be picked - he is a tank. need to get quick big guys which are hard to come by. In saying that Ciaran mcDonald played great at the game and he would be what I consider a fancy player. I also think they should be told not to start rows. Its ironic all the bad publicity the aussies get for the game - most of the time its the irish lads starting and getting killed. they are most bigger and are professionaly trained for the more pysical side of things.

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 31/08/2010 09:52:19    760936

eamonn fennell is half man half machine he has to go he'd run through a brick wall

brolly_4_pres (Derry) - Posts: 356 - 31/08/2010 11:05:15    761034

brendan murphy of carlow has to be on it

arrows85 (Carlow) - Posts: 202 - 31/08/2010 12:04:44    761116

Eoghan O'gara

Con (Louth) - Posts: 511 - 31/08/2010 12:13:40    761130

You cant go purley on form from this year you have to pick the players who will be physical enough and can play against the aussies (ie - if down would have gone out in the qualifiers i would still pick benny)

that being said Donaghy and sean cavanagh have to start

tribes4liam09 (Galway) - Posts: 147 - 31/08/2010 12:15:42    761132

for aussie rules these days you only need a couple of big lads, you need runners who are also good at fielding.

paul flynn(dublin) what do you think

rubywalsh (Dublin) - Posts: 356 - 31/08/2010 12:26:08    761152

From Kildare I would say, James Kavanagh, Darryl Flynn, Hugh Lynch, Mick Foley, Rob Kelly and Gary White would be worth giving a trial.

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 31/08/2010 13:30:20    761277

John Galvin from Limerick he would excell if he came up against those aussie boys.

themullocker (Limerick) - Posts: 42 - 31/08/2010 14:38:10    761402