Donegal Knives are out for JJ.

How do yez see this one going lads?
We've had a low key build-up and expectations are low within the county. The knives are out for JJ already and I'd say he'll be doing well to hold on to his job.
That said we are at home and we've added a few of the better U-21 players to the panel so there's still hope.
Down looked good in the league and will be formidable opponents but I can just see us squeaking through with a couple of points to spare.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 10366 - 24/05/2010 15:15:22    656684

another tough one to call .. Down by 2 .. Sorry Locky

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 24/05/2010 15:34:34    656721

If the game was in Newry I'd say Down, but it isnt. Down probably in better form recently but Donegall are unpredictable.

Just depends which Donegall team turns up on the day. The good Donegall can play anyone off the partk, the bad one just doesnt want to know.

My heart says Down by 3, my head isnt sure!

blu (Down) - Posts: 1240 - 24/05/2010 15:34:55    656722

Down apparently got quite a few defensive injuries going into Sunday's game but it is gonna be tight sure enough. I just fear that the match between 2 free flowing sides will be ruined by Marty Duffy.
This man is just whistle happy.

Mourneman5stars (Down) - Posts: 102 - 24/05/2010 15:36:00    656725

Down had a solid league. But then again who rates the league, most counties use the league to get players fit for the championship, blood new players etc., so i wouldn't take league form into consideration. Get on Donegal halftime fulltime.

JammyDodger (Meath) - Posts: 306 - 24/05/2010 15:50:35    656745

To be honest Donegal seem to do the opposite to what you expect. Over they have last decade they have lost to Monaghan, Antrim, Fermanagh and Cavan
in Ulster or "back Door" but have beaten Galwayx2, Derry,Tyrone, Meath and Armagh when they were not expected, so after a miserable end to the league campaign and a stuffing from Armagh they are on a bit of a low - just about time for them to pull something out of the bag.

I'll go for Donegal by 3 - 4 points
Haven't seen what changes they have made from last year, they have lacked at half forward for a number of years. Toye is probably the most gifted option but doesn't always seem up for it. They have tried to play the "sweeper system" with men dropping back to the half back line but they don't have the quality of say a McMahon so it often appears that the front two are totally isolated for long periods in a game. Also they need to be much more direct. The lateral hand-passing game is horrible to watch and is likely to get blown up frequently if the ref is fussy

madasbutter (Mayo) - Posts: 872 - 24/05/2010 15:56:39    656753

very very difficult to call this one , i was in the middle of typing "Down by 4" when i thought , nah , Donegal will edge it .. but ill stick with my gut instinct .. Down to win for me.

Fredthered (Donegal) - Posts: 1144 - 24/05/2010 15:56:57    656754

Donegal to win by 2. Michael Murphy, the standout young forward in the game at the mo, will be the difference.

Tongo (UK) - Posts: 1795 - 24/05/2010 16:05:34    656772

Donegal by 2 because its in ballybofey

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 24/05/2010 16:14:18    656790

very very difficult to call this one , i was in the middle of typing "Down by 4" when i thought , nah , Donegal will edge it .. but ill stick with my gut instinct .. Down to win for me.

Hahaha !! Very Funny Fredthered ;-)

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 24/05/2010 16:32:04    656825

Donegal are just so inconsistent I don't know what way to measure them. I'm giving the nod to Down for this one. Good league and in Benny they have a potential match winner. Looking forward to seeing Martin Clarke, haven't seen him play yet but he's getting good reviews

NavyNBlue (Dublin) - Posts: 1357 - 24/05/2010 16:36:41    656830

I can't feckin wait for it! Hopefully the good weather will keep up. Hard to beat a few pint bottles of Bulmers and dodging on down to MacCumhaill Park for the county's Championship opener!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 10366 - 24/05/2010 16:40:49    656838

This was posted as a new thread but has been brought in here as the subject matter is the same.

The_Dude

24/05/2010

17:36

Down or Donegal to win??

whats ur verdicts?

Administrator (None) - Posts: 535 - 24/05/2010 17:40:25    656979

I feel down will win this by about 6 points to be honest as they seem in great form this year.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 24/05/2010 17:43:31    656983

The news that Duffy is the ref has certainly put a dampener on my excitement for the game, however I'm still looking forward to it, you can't beat the Championship!

The return of Christy Toye is a big big boost, coupled with the addition of some lads from the U-21s I'm feeling good about the panel this summer. I know we had a poor enough league topped off with the disasterous game against Armagh but I think we have a good mix of the U-21s and experience. Down are a team on the up no doubt but I've a feeling we'll nick it on Sunday. If not I hope Down go on to win Ulster. Hoping for a great game anyway, may the best side win.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 24/05/2010 18:53:07    657092

In fairness I've given up trying to predict what Donegal will do on any given day!!! I've been burned too many times by those unpredictable rogues!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13846 - 24/05/2010 21:55:05    657367

Tight match though home advantage might swing it to Donegal, Donegal by 2 good luck lads see you in the semi's

DynamoDooher (Tyrone) - Posts: 423 - 24/05/2010 21:58:28    657373

Donegal by a couple of points, don't think the Down full back line will be strong enough to hold McFadden & Murphy

irlande (Fermanagh) - Posts: 535 - 25/05/2010 09:58:37    657445

If Donegal play well and Down play well then Donegal will win. They have the better players , but its not always that simple. Lookin forward to see the u21s get a run out for Tir Connail , especially young McHugh. Looks a real class act.

gaelantrim (Antrim) - Posts: 1616 - 25/05/2010 10:33:24    657482

I hope young Molloy starts in the corner. By all accounts he is flying in training and is a real hot shot from dead ball situations. If himself, Murphy and McFadden can gel it could spell trouble for the Down full back line. In the league game in Ballybofey they played a sweeper in front of Murphy but if we get Colm Anthony and the Brick motoring it will give the Down backs something to seriously worry about.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 10366 - 25/05/2010 10:42:42    657499