Hurling Helmets, Cooper, Mycro or Marc ?

Oh an Pinkie, u are being very foolish. The majority of hurlers wear Coopers, do you really think referees are going to stop players playing cos they havent a mycro on? Coopers are and will be around forever!

creeposaurus (Kerry) - Posts: 56 - 23/06/2009 13:02:08    320527

Obvoiusly your club arent keeping you well informed if so - email straight from central council.

Dear Secretary,

I wish to remind you that the following motion was passed at Congress
2008: -

Rule 4.2 (Equipment) of the Playing Rules for Hurling and Football

a) In all Hurling Games and Hurling Practice Sessions it is
mandatory for all players to wear a helmet with a facial guard
b) Helmets shall be approved for use on the basis of compliance
with standards and tests set out in IS 355 as determined by the
National Standards Authority of Ireland (NSAI)
c) A Referee shall not allow a helmet to be worn in a football
game

This rule shall come into operation on January 1 st 2010 . Players who
have not worn a helmet previously, including goalkeepers, will need
time to adapt to the change - accordingly it is important to advise all
your adult players of this rule immediately.

Kind regards.

Lads, this will be enforced I can absolutely guarantee you this. Also keep in mind Cooper (www.cooper.ie I think) are bringing out a new helmet next month (or it could be out already but they said July 2009) which will conform to this NSAI requirements fitted with faceguards. I have had players in the club asking me about this and have rang the GAA, Cooper and Mycro about it and can guarantee you it will be enforced. If your helmet doesnt have the NSAI logo on the back of it you wont be allowed to wear it. Not sure how they are going to enforce it but the initial indication from CC is that it wont take referees more than 1 minute to line up the players and check the helmets.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 23/06/2009 16:51:46    320870

woops

146682 i have a friend with a box of cooper helmets gathering dust at home.his ex girlfriend's father was a coach in galway or something.box was put in his boot, sometime after he got the red card for himself so he kept the helmets
they not brand new but they in good nick.
let me know if u want one.

ya hardly wanna send one up to cavan?

beer baron (Cavan) - Posts: 3916 - 23/06/2009 16:58:41    320883

Pinkie you're trying to tell us that on a wet Sunday morning a ref will line up 30 hungover lads who are playing Junior C and tell them to take off their helmet if it doesn't have an NSAI stamp on it..I can't see it happening

dubinlaois (Dublin) - Posts: 304 - 23/06/2009 18:16:27    320981

Well lads I am only passing on what I am told! Do what you want I dont care!! I've told all the lads in our club. How will it be different from soccer referee's checking studs (do the still do that?!).

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 24/06/2009 13:13:24    321735

Pinkie I got that e-mail from our secretary - what club you from!?
Lads that Kerryman is just trying to flog those helmets now that they will be worthless in January!!! Make sure you keep the receipt!!!!

bored_sod (Wexford) - Posts: 43 - 24/06/2009 17:09:40    321998

http://www.cooper.ie/category/8.aspx?page_id=3

Hurry up and flog those helmets kerryman!!!!!

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 29/06/2009 13:52:43    326425

i'll not be wearing a lid until january 1st 2010

MadDog22 (Down) - Posts: 10 - 29/06/2009 14:10:45    326467

Whoops i'll take one of the helmets off ya

doyler1000 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1 - 13/10/2009 22:36:16    453681

brian walsh from enniscorthy co.Wexford is an agent for Cooper. think he only one in Ireland

mondred (Wexford) - Posts: 872 - 13/10/2009 22:38:47    453682

woops can i have 1

sonnky (Galway) - Posts: 498 - 04/11/2009 18:48:24    475278

creeposaurus

320527 Oh an Pinkie, u are being very foolish. The majority of hurlers wear Coopers, do you really think referees are going to stop players playing cos they havent a mycro on? Coopers are and will be around forever!

Cooper still no. 1 with Tipp players but I'd say Mycro is now the most popular with intercounty players, certainly in Killkenny anyway. Stay away from Marc, they're awful yokes. If you get a tailored Mycro I'd say'd be your best bit. They are a bit lighter then the ones you see in the shops.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 04/11/2009 19:08:03    475296

HokeyPokey

i have 1 of them in the shed...il sell it to ya if ya want

lowerormond (Tipperary) - Posts: 1267 - 04/11/2009 19:15:25    475307

kerryman.give me your number or email.or anybody.i will pay good money for an old cooper

oshea94 (Meath) - Posts: 3 - 06/12/2009 20:41:15    505270

the man from tyrone.can i have your number i will defo buy that

oshea94 (Meath) - Posts: 3 - 06/12/2009 20:45:01    505271

does anybody know where i can get cooper senior hurling helmets for sale, any help would be great, thanks

homer101 (Longford) - Posts: 53 - 10/12/2009 11:39:58    509504

cooper.ie I think were releasing before christmas.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 10/12/2009 14:04:25    509663

I'm currently wearing a saucepan with a chin strap painted blue anyone intrested

Minor123 (Antrim) - Posts: 40 - 10/12/2009 14:40:41    509699

lads the coopers are great because the guard doesnt get in the way of your vision. if they hurt your head just loosen it

Shotstopper01 (Limerick) - Posts: 55 - 09/01/2010 10:39:29    528600

lads,if theres anyone who has a stitched cooper i'm willing to pay 160 to 170 euro......................please write back

richiehurler (Cork) - Posts: 23 - 09/01/2010 12:05:55    528647