with more and more players taking supplements of protein and creatine is it a cause for concern?? fooligan (Cavan) - Posts: 293 - 21/09/2009 22:34:13 432609 Link 0 |
I'd be amazed if only 2 of them taking it. beer baron (Cavan) - Posts: 3916 - 21/09/2009 23:13:24 432673 Link 0 |
Who are these players?? Are these supplements dangerous?? Winner08 (Cavan) - Posts: 3 - 21/09/2009 23:59:21 432723 Link 0 |
i think they are encouraged to take it as part of a shake cause it helps their muscles recover quicker after weights/training or games..? Doubt if it's too dangerous if taken properly or else shops like tesco, etc wouldn't be able to sell it freely? wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1732 - 22/09/2009 04:09:47 432796 Link 0 |
doesnt seem to be of much benefit now does it? maco (Meath) - Posts: 357 - 22/09/2009 12:17:12 433004 Link 0 |
I have been involved with rugby for a number of years where protein & creatine are used. However, programmes are designed for individual specfic needs. Protein in particular needs to be controlled as it can seriously increase body weight if overconsumed and not ran with a correctly tailored weight programme. Castleman (Cavan) - Posts: 32 - 22/09/2009 12:39:49 433040 Link 0 |
it ruined barons career, it slowed him down, and when a corner back loses his pace he's in trouble rexbanner10 (Cavan) - Posts: 396 - 22/09/2009 14:19:34 433159 Link 0 |
these supplements come in healthy snacks aswell so young lads are tempted to eat them! spuds cabbage and bacon/steak and 2 pints a water are the best things to eat! joefinch (Cavan) - Posts: 16 - 22/09/2009 17:19:44 433379 Link 0 |
just eat the correct foods after doing weights and you should be grand...where are footballers not the british and irish lions cavanboy (Cavan) - Posts: 53 - 22/09/2009 17:51:33 433415 Link 0 |
bjasus lads its a bit late in the day to be talking about protein and creainte, next jan n feb talk about it and then d county players and those with an ambition to be on the county team might think about it to supplement there sessions of sauce of a weekend. rising1916 (Cavan) - Posts: 187 - 22/09/2009 18:02:28 433441 Link 0 |
rexbanner10 beer baron (Cavan) - Posts: 3916 - 22/09/2009 18:15:30 433453 Link 0 |
Don't know their names but i think one is from butlersbridge anyway. fooligan (Cavan) - Posts: 293 - 22/09/2009 22:07:20 433743 Link 0 |
raw eggs are good for boxers that are fully grown but i still believe in spuds nd on sunday a bit of gravy if they play well! its great motivation whilst gettin in all the vital goodness! joefinch (Cavan) - Posts: 16 - 23/09/2009 21:12:32 434745 Link 0 |
why sud cavan players go on creatine, when they have some of the most gifted footballers in country monkeydude (Cavan) - Posts: 55 - 24/09/2009 11:58:26 435127 Link 0 |
If taken correctly, i would strongly recomend it, too many "wee" "handy" footballers, we need strong powerful running players that can break tackles and dish out the hits. However i strongly disagree with "creatine", it is illegal as far as i know. However, protein shakes are just as good and the same results, only not as quickly, however, training must be done while taking these supplements!. I think any good pharmaceutical shop sells the protein shakes. I guarantee you the lads up the north are on them. Without a doubt. galoping gazele (None) - Posts: 174 - 24/09/2009 17:50:44 435574 Link 0 |
Ye i believe protein can be alright if used properly but how is a young lad meant to know how to use it properly and train accordinly with no proper weight programmes readily available from most clubs.. Where can these weight programmes and good protein diets be found.. mclovinxx (Cavan) - Posts: 101 - 26/09/2009 00:40:50 436969 Link 0 |
mclovinxx beer baron (Cavan) - Posts: 3916 - 27/09/2009 11:07:56 437568 Link 0 |
Protein can be useful for recovery when in weights training but really isn't necessary. a good balanced diet is all the nutrition that is necessary. it is also a good tip to drink a glass of milk after a weights session. As for creatine, it works by allowing the muscle to retain water and enlarges it and can allow it to generate more power but it should only be used once you have maxed out in what you are lifting. for instance when you begin a weights programme the weight you can lift will increase gradually but eventually it will stop increasing.this is when creatine should be used. jonjoeR (Cavan) - Posts: 11 - 27/09/2009 20:45:26 437930 Link 0 |
Protein can be useful for recovery when in weights training but really isn't necessary. a good balanced diet is all the nutrition that is necessary. it is also a good tip to drink a glass of milk after a weights session. As for creatine, it works by allowing the muscle to retain water and enlarges it and can allow it to generate more power but it should only be used once you have maxed out in what you are lifting. for instance when you begin a weights programme the weight you can lift will increase gradually but eventually it will stop increasing.this is when creatine should be used. jonjoeR (Cavan) - Posts: 11 - 27/09/2009 20:45:32 437933 Link 0 |