Ashboune Cup and Shield stay in Limerick for 2005

February 21, 2005
The 2005 JJ Kavanagh Ashbourne Cup and Shield are safely tucked away in Limerick for this season following UL's Cup victory of -12 to 1-4 over UCD in the final in Ballygunner on Sunday 20th February, likewise MIC defeated CIT  2-7 to 2-4 in the Shield Final.    Seeking back to back victories and their third title in all, it was the underdogs UCD who set the scoring with a Ciara Lucey free after two minutes. However, UL Captain fantastic Jennifer O'Leary soon showed her free taking accuracy and by the end of the first half had sent over 0-5 from frees, the other score coming from Galway player Aoife Lynskey.   However, UCD who were beaten by UL in last year's final were in no mood to let the Limerick side motor in top gear and so after twelve minutes it was UCD who got the only goal of the match.  A close in free from Louise O'Mahony sailed across the square where a number of UCD players were ready to pounce but in the end it was Offaly player Emilie Darmody who got the final touch to the sliotar to leave it, UCD 1-2 to UL's 0-5.   Another Ciara Lucey free just before the break left it UCD 1-3, UL 0-6, Jennifer O'Leary having got the UL free three minutes from the half time whistle.   The second half saw a very determined UL team send over two rapid fire frees from the Cork 2004 All-Star Jennifer O'Leary.  UL's midfield pairing of last year's captain Siobhán Ryan and Eimear Cregan, niece of MIC Manager Eamonn were in top form. However, if they were so was the UCD full-back and Wexford senior player Catherine O'Loughlin who time and time again denied both UCC shots in the semi-final and on Sunday was once again a thorn in the face of UL.   While the Dublin college battled hard in the second half, they could only manage one score from Ciara Lucey midway while UL further increased their score with two more Jennifer O'Leary frees, one a '45 and the second a free. The final score of the 2005 Ashbourne Final fittingly went to a Limerick player Aoife Sheehan.   There will be much partying in UL over the next few days as the camogie team have now got one up on the hurlers, they have never won back to back Fitzgibbon titles, so guess the girls will let the lads know that very quickly!!   Meanwhile, MIC managed by Eamonn Cregan and coached by his daughter Ciara won their first ever Ashbourne Shield when they defeated Cork IT in a very entertaining curtain raiser. Having had to endure two periods of extra time in their semi-final victory over UL the girls were naturally very tired, and after a while it began to show, but not before they had given of their very best.   Karen Farrell, sent over the opening score from play for MIC after just forty seconds, but  within the minute CIT leveled with a Deirdre Delaney free. Eight minutes later the opening goal of the match came from Galway player Brenda Hanny,  but it was quickly cancelled out when Marian Jago got UL's first goal to leave it MIC 1-1, CIT 1-1.   The sides went in at the break, MIC 1-3, CIT 1-2. Tipperary senior All-Ireland winner and 2004 All-Star Claire Grogan sent over a free by the third minute,but still CIT came back with another Deirdre Delaney point from play.   When Mary Coughlan sent a fine pass to full-forward Marian Jago she knew what she would with it and so MIC went ahead 2-6 to CIT's 1-3. They appeared to be coasting with time almost up, but Cork IT player Cora Hennessy found the back of the net to narrow the gap, 2-7 to CIT's 2-3. However, time was against CIT and despite a Brenda Hanny point from play the Limerick college held out to make it a double Ashbourne victory for Limerick.   Details: Teams/Scorers.   UL: D Lynch; R Glynn, S O'Gorman, S Sullivan; A Mulcahy, A O'Regan, L Lally; S Ryan,E Cregan; A Sheehan, M Nash, J O'Leary; J Feighery, A Lynskey, O Kilkenny.   Subs: A Connolly for A Lynskey, half time,  E Maher for M Nash 38mins.   Scorers:  J O'Leary 0-10 (0-9F), A Sheehan,A Lynskey 0-1each.   UCD: L Condell: S O'Grady, C O'Loughlin,M Handrick; D Corcoran, M Leacy, C Leacy;C Flanagan, S Daly;  L Mahony, C`Hardiman, L Codd; S Moylan,E Darmody, E Moran.   Scorers: C Lucey 0-4(0-3F), E Darmody 1-0. Referee. J O'Brien, Wexford.   MIC: 2-7: M Jago 2-0, C Grogan 0-5, (0-4F, 0-2 '45), K Farrell, A M Hayes 0-1each. CIT: B Hanney 2-2, D Delaney 0-2.   Ashbourne Cup semi-finals:UL 0-12, UCC 1-7, UCD 1-5, WIT 0-6 Ashboune Shield semi-finals: MIC 1-10, NUIG 1-8, CIT 0-10, UUJ 0-9 (After two bouts of extra time.)

Most Read Stories