Cork take seven hurling All-Stars

November 26, 2004
All-Ireland hurling champions Cork have been honoured with seven All-Star awards, while accolades have also gone to Kilkenny, Waterford, Wexford and Tipperary. Defenders Wayne Sherlock, Diarmuid O'Sullivan, Ronan Curran and Sean Og O hAilpin, midfielder Jerry O'Connor and forwards Niall McCarthy and Brian Corcoran are the toast of Cork after they received All-Star awards at a gala banquet in the CityWest Hotel on Friday night, November 26. Beaten All-Ireland finalists Kilkenny and Munster champions Waterford received three awards each, while Leinster champions Wexford and Tipperary each received one award. Kilkenny are represented on the team by defenders Tommy Walsh and JJ Delaney and attacker Henry Shefflin, while Waterford's winners were Ken McGrath, Dan Shanahan and Paul Flynn. Wexford's Damien Fitzhenry took the goalkeeper's position, while Eoin Kelly's selection at right corner forward will be welcomed by Tipperary fans after a disappointing year for the county. While 12 of the All-Star football team were first-time winners, just five of the hurling team were picking up their first awards - Wayne Sherlock, Jerry O'Connor, Dan Shanahan, Niall McCarthy and Paul Flynn. For Damien Fitzhenry, Tommy Walsh, JJ Delaney, Ronan Curran and Sean Og O hAilpin, it was their second time to win All-Star awards. Diarmuid O'Sullivan, Eoin Kelly and Brian Corcoran were honoured for a third time, while Henry Shefflin scooped his fourth award after being named at left half forward. It was a special night for Corcoran who came out of retirement at the start of the year to play a key role in Cork's All-Ireland success.. He holds the distinction of being honoured in three different positions - right corner back (1992), centre back ('99) and now at full forward. Another feature of the team is the inclusion of Ken McGrath at midfield, despite the fact that he played most of his hurling in the half back line this year. The 2004 hurling All-Stars are: Damien Fitzhenry (Wexford); Wayne Sherlock (Cork), Diarmuid O'Sullivan (Cork), Tommy Walsh (Kilkenny); JJ Delaney (Kilkenny), Ronan Curran (Cork), Sean Og O hAilpin (Cork); Ken McGrath (Waterford), Jerry O'Connor (Cork); Dan Shanahan (Waterford), Niall McCarthy (Cork), Henry Shefflin (Kilkenny); Eoin Kelly (Tipperary), Brian Corcoran (Cork), Paul Flynn (Waterford).

Most Read Stories