Doherty's late winner seals Division 2 title for Donegal

March 31, 2024

Armagh's Rory Grugan tackles Peadar Mogan of Donegal Β©INPHO/Leah Scholes

Donegal captured the Allianz Football League Division 2 title thanks to a 0-15 to 0-14 victory over Armagh at Croke Park this afternoon.

In what was a pulsating finish at headquarters, Aaron Doherty was the man to come up trumps for the Tir Chonaill County in the end by clipping over a point in the third minute of injury time that clinched the silverware.

Jim McGuinness’s side had edged a 0-8 to 0-7 lead at the halfway stage after Ciaran Thompson’s point on the 35-minute mark and they’d go on to stretch their advantage to four after the change of ends.

Armagh battled back however and it made for a thrilling finish, with the points of Conor Turbitt, Stefan Campbell and Oisin O’Neill soaring them in front with three minutes left.

Caolan McGonigle levelled the decider ahead of Oisin Gallen’s booming point nudging Donegal in front. Oisin Conaty’s score at the other end looked to send it to extra time before Doherty snuck in to send over the winner.  

Most Read Stories