Tyrone Masters see off Kerry for historic All-Ireland three-peat

September 16, 2023

Tyrone's Stephen O'Neill ©INPHO/James Crombie

Tyrone captured their third All-Ireland Masters football title in-a-row thanks to a 0-12 to 0-6 victory over Kerry in Kiltoom this evening.

2005 Footballer of the Year Stephen O’Neill ran the show for the winners, while full-forward Michael Anderson’s 0-5 tally (0-4 from play) saw the Ulster men over the line as they became the first side to land the Mick Loftus Cup for a third consecutive year.

The Red Hands had edged a 0-4 to 0-3 lead at the halfway stages, with tempers having flared towards the end of the first-half after an incident which involved O’Neill and two-time All-Star Aidan O’Mahony whom had been a late addition to the Kerry line-up.

The second-half would see the holders eventually pulling away from their Munster counterparts, with Anderson shooting over four points during the third quarter.

Kerry couldn’t make up the deficit as former Fermanagh star Marty McGrath and Conor Grimes raised more white flags to seal the historic three-peat for the O’Neill County.

Most Read Stories