Wexford championship draws made

February 01, 2023

Ferns St Aidan's Paul Morris celebrates at the final whistle in the Wexford SHC final ©INPHO/Laszlo Geczo

The draws for the various 2023 Wexford adult hurling and football championships were made last night.

In the SHC, last year's first-time winners Ferns St Aidan's have been drawn in the same group as Rapparees, Shelmaliers, newly-promoted Oulart-The Ballagh, Crossabeg/Ballymurn and Rathnure St Anne's. The other group consists of last year's runners-up St Martin's, Naomh Eanna, St Anne's Rathangan, Glynn-Barntown, Faythe Harriers and Oylegate-Glenbrien.

Champions Castletown are in the same group as St Anne's Rathangan, Crossabeg/Ballymurn, Glynn-Barntown, HWH Bunclody and Sarsfields in the SFC. In the other SFC group, last year's runners-up Shelmaliers are joined by St James', St Mogues Fethard, Starlights, Kilanerin and Gusserane O'Rahilly's.

Wexford has decided to retain its controversial spilt season model which sees the club hurling championships run off first before the club football championships get underway.

Most Read Stories