Galway SHC final: St Thomas' time their run to perfection to retain title

November 10, 2019

St Thomas' Eanna Burke celebrates a goal

St Thomas’ overturned a four-point half-time deficit to retain their Galway SHC crown at Pearse Stadium today.

It what was a repeat of last year’s decider, the holders edged out 2017 winners Liam Mellows by 1-13 to 0-14.

Eanna Burke’s 51st minute goal was a decisive moment in the game as Kevin Lally’s charges fought back from being 0-7 to 0-11 in arrears at the halfway stage.

Louis Mulqueen’s challengers responded with a Tadhg Haran point to level matters but a brace of points from impressive substitute Fintan Burke placed St Thomas’ in the driving seat.

Eanna Burke then capped off a fine individual display with his third point of the contest to ensure his team retained the silverware.

The right corner-forward top scored for the winners with 1-3 while Darragh Burke chipped in with 0-5 (four frees).

At the other end of the field, Haran raised nine white flags (7 fs,1 65) for the city club.

St Thomas' - J Barrett; C Mahoney, S Skehill, D Sherry; D Cooney, S Cooney, C Burke; J Regan, David Burke (0-1); O Flannery, Darragh Burke (0-5, 4f), B Burke (0-2); E Burke (1-3), C Cooney, B Farrell. Subs: F Burke (0-2) for B Farrell, E Duggan for B Burke.

Liam Mellows - K Walsh; C Reilly, D Collins, L O'Donovan; S Barrett, M Hughes, S Morrissey; A Morrissey, J Forde (0-1); J Hastings, C Elwood (0-2), R Elwood (0-1); T Haran (0-9, 7f, 1sl), A Callanan, C Kavanagh (0-1). Subs: B Leen for L O'Donovan, M Conneely for A Callanan, J Lee for J Forde.

Referee - C Browne.

Most Read Stories