Leinster Club SFC: Portlaoise make St Pat's pay the penalty

November 10, 2019

Kieran Lillis of Portlaoise lines up a shot at goal. ©INPHO/Lorraine O'Sullivan.

There was drama aplenty in Aughrim today as Portlaoise got the better of St Patrick’s in a penalty shoot-out to seal their place in the last four of this year’s Leinster Club SFC.

Normal time and extra-time failed to produce a winner so a penalty shoot-out was required to determine who would advance to a last four showdown with Carlow’s Eire Og.

Craig Rogers converted what proved to be the winning penalty for the visitors after Tommy Kelly was off target with the Wicklow champions’ first attempt.

Rogers’ strike gave Portlaoise a 5-4 win.

It was cruel luck on the hosts who were twice denied victory by Kieran Lillis.

The Laois county star salvaged a draw for his team with an injury-time point during normal time which finished: Portlaoise 0-9, St Patrick’s 1-6.

Lillis was also responsible for his team’s goal in the second period of extra-time.

Portlaoise 1-11, St Patrick’s 2-8 was the scoreline at the end of extra-time.

Portlaoise - M Nolan; F Flanagan, D Seale, D Holland; P Downey, B Mulligan, C Finn; K Lillis (1-2), C McEvoy; B Glynn, C Boyle (0-2), G Dillon; B McCormack (0-2f), B Carroll (0-2, 1f), R Maher (0-1). Subs: G Brody for M Nolan, D Larkin for B Glynn, R McEvoy (0-1) for B McCormack (BC), P Cahillane (0-1) for R Maher, C Rogers for P Downey, R Maher for P Cahillane, J Kavanagh for B Carroll.

St Patrick's - S Doyle; S Murley, N Donnelly, W Doyle; P O'Keane, C Ffrench, C Doyle; J Crowe (0-1), D Healy (0-1); P O'Brien (1-0), P McWalter, B Doyle (0-1); M Traynor (0-2), S Duffy (1-1), T Kelly (0-2, 1f). Subs: C McGettigan for S Duffy, J Delahunt for P McWalter, S Duffy for B Doyle, P Higgins for C Doyle, L Rampersaud for P O'Brien.

Referee - J Hickey.

Most Read Stories