Connacht Club SFC: Corofin march on thanks to Silke's goal

November 10, 2019

Ballintubber's Ruaidhri O'Connor and Corofin's Kieran Molloy

Defending champions Corofin finished with two points to spare over Ballintubber in today’s keenly contested semi-final at Tuam Stadium.

Kevin O’Brien’s charges advanced to a final against Padraig Pearses of Roscommon courtesy of a 1-10 to 0-11 success over the Mayo men.

Chasing a third All-Ireland title in-a-row, Corofin shaded the opening period by 0-5 to 0-4 despite playing against the wind and Liam Silke’s goal shortly after the resumption sent them on the road to victory.

With Cillian O’Connor a constant thorn in their side, they were made to fight all the way to the final whistle, however,

The Mayo sharpshooter punished the Galway team’s indiscipline in defence with five frees and his last effort cut the deficit to the bare minimum a minute into stoppage time.

Substitute Darragh Silke had the final say, however, with a converted free and it’s Corofin who march on to yet another provincial showpiece.

Corofin - B Power; C Silke, K Fitzgerald, L Silke (1-1); D Burke, D McHugh, D Wall; K Molloy (0-1), R Steede; G Sice, Michael Farragher (0-1), J Leonard (0-4f); I Burke, Martin Farragher (0-2), M Lundy. Subs: C Brady for D McHugh, D Silke (0-1f) for M Lundy, G Burke for G Sice, C Cunningham for D Wall, C McGrath for K Fitzgerald.

Ballintubber - B Walsh; G Loftus, B Murphy (0-2), R O’Connor; D Coleman, M Plunkett (0-1), M Kelly; J Gibbons, D O’Connor (0-1); C Gavin (0-1f), C O’Connor (0-5f), B Walsh; A Plunkett, A Dillon, S O’Malley (0-1). Subs: K McDonnell for B Walsh, P O’Connor for C Gavin, J Geraghty for M Kelly.

Referee - E O’Grady.

Most Read Stories