Team news: Connolly doesn't make Dubs squad but Brogan on the bench

July 20, 2019

Dublin's Jonny Cooper, Paul Mannion, Dean Rock, Paul Flynn, Paddy Andrews and Diarmuid Connolly.
©INPHO/James Crombie.

The recently returned Diarmuid Connolly won’t play any part for Dublin in this evening’s Super 8s phase 2 clash with Roscommon at Croke Park (7pm).

Jim Gavin has unveiled his squad and the St Vincent’s ace – who rejoined the squad last weekend – doesn’t feature.

Former ‘Footballer of the Year’ Bernard Brogan – who hasn’t seen any championship action so far this year – will wear the number 18 jersey while fit-again duo James McCarthy and Jonny Copper are also named on the bench.

Dean Rock is, once again, kept in reserve by Gavin and his selectors.

Dublin (SF v Roscommon) – Stephen Cluxton; Michael Fitzsimons, David Byrne, Philip McMahon; Jack McCaffrey, Cian O’Sullivan, John Small; Brian Fenton, Michael Darragh Macauley; Niall Scully, Cormac Costello, Brian Howard; Ciaran Kilkenny, Paul Mannion, Con O’Callaghan. Subs: Evan Comerford, Paddy Andrews, Bernard Brogan, Jonny Cooper, Darren Daly, Eric Lowndes, James McCarthy, Kevin McManamon, Rory O’Carroll, Dean Rock, Paddy Small.

Most Read Stories