Carlow great Joyce passes away

February 22, 2014

Carlow Leinster Senior Football Champions 1944 Back: Ted Joyce (Ballymurphy), Jim Archbold (Tullow), Paddy Farrell (Kilbride), Paddy O"Sullivan (Army and Tinryland), Jim Morris (Erins Hope), Seamus Corcoran (O'Hanrahans), Brian O'Rourke (Ballymurphy), John Doyle (Tinryland), Jim Hughes (Tinryland), Chris Maher (Tullow), Johnny Lawler (Fighting Cocks), Johnny Darcy (Tullow), John Brady (Palatine). Front: Luke Kelly (Ballymurphy), John Moore (O'Hanrahans), Jimma Rea (O'Hanrahans), John Quinlan (O'Hanrahans), Michael Byrne (O'Hanrahans), Andy Murphy (Tinryland), Willie Hosey (Tinryland), Joe Brennan (O'Hanrahans), Mattie Doyle (Borris), Peenie Whelan (Tinryland) Captain. Photo courtesy of
The death has occurred of Ted Joyce, who was the last remaining link to the Carlow team which won the county's only Leinster SFC title in 1944.

Aged 90, Joyce was the youngest member of the team that defeated Dublin in the final in Athy by 2-6 to 1-6, lining out at left half back. Carlow subsequently lost to Kerry in the All-Ireland semi-final by 0-10 to 3-3.

Joyce hailed from Borris, which is the base of All-Ireland club hurling finalists Mount Leinster Rangers. Along with midfielder Luke Kelly, he had the distinction of winning junior and senior football championships with Borris and Ballymurphy in the same year (1947).

He is survived by his wife Helen, five sons and two daughters.

May he rest in peace.

Most Read Stories