Connacht U21FC: Mayo send champions packing

March 15, 2012
Mayo 1-14
Galway 0-15 aet

Galway's reign as Cadbury All-Ireland U21 football champions was ended at the first hurdle by old rivals Mayo in an extra-time thriller at McHale Park last night.

Senior star Cillian O'Connor kicked 0-9 for the winners, including two from play, to help them secure a semi-final meeting with Roscommon. Gerry Fahy's Galway side will rue some very bad wides in the second half which cost them dearly in the end.

Mayo made a dream start with Conor O'Shea's sixth minute goal easing them into a 1-2 to 0-1 lead. However, Galway battled back with frees from Peadar O Griofa and Eric Monaghan to lead by 0-8 to 1-3 at the interval.

The Tribesmen extended their advantage on the restart, but Mayo came roaring back and had edged in front before a late score from Adrian Varley forced extra-time for the visitors.

Mayo led by 1-11 to 0-13 at the end of the first period of extra-time and sealed victory with two pointed frees from Young Footballer of the Year O'Connor in the second period.

Mayo - P Mannion; M Walsh, N Freeman, D Gavin; C Crowe, S McDermott, M Forde (0-1); D Kirby, D Geraghty; A Farrell, A Walsh, C O'Shea (1-0); E Regan (0-2), C O'Connor (0-9), D Coen (0-2). Subs: J Shaughnessey for Farrell, B Harrison for Gavin, C McDonagh for Sweeney, C Walsh for Coen, A O'Toole for Shaughnessey.

Galway - M Breathnach; G Sweeney, J Duane, J Shaughnessey; C Costello (0-1), C Sweeney, C Halloran; B Flaherty, P Cunningham (0-20; C Rabbittte (0-1), T Flynn, S Maughan; P O'Griofra (0-4), P Sweeney (0-1), E Monahan (0-4). Subs: N Walsh (0-1) for P Sweeney, A Molly for Sweeney, A Varley (0-1) for Maughan, P Moran for Cunningham, S Maughan for McDonagh.

Ref - M Duffy (Sligo).

For more information on the Cadbury GAA Championship go to the official Facebook page or follow it Twitter.

Most Read Stories