Kiladangan and Loughmore-Castleiney edge through to Tipperary SHC semis

September 17, 2023

Kiladangan's Darren Moran celebrates with Ruairi Gleeson. ©INPHO/Laszlo Geczo.

Kiladangan are two wins away from capturing the Tipperary senior hurling championship title after edging out Holycross Ballycahill by 2-22 to 3-17 in a thriller in Thurles yesterday evening.

Bryan McLoughney’s goal helped the 2020 champions create some daylight after an airtight opening 25 minutes at Semple Stadium before Holycross Ballycahill responded in emphatic fashion.

All-Star defender Cathal Barrett smashed in a 29th minute penalty for them ahead of David Fogarty finding the net again in injury-time, leaving the sides all square (1-12 to 2-9) at the break.

The teams were level three more times after the restart before Billy Seymour broke through to raise a second green flag for Kiladangan but it was immediately cancelled out by Jimmy Lahart at the other end.

Two Darragh Woods points (one a free) ushered Holycross Ballycahill in front and it’d require John O'Meara’s men to dig deep in the closing stages to earn the win, with a pair of Seymour frees levelling it prior to Alan Flynn and Seymour sending over points from play for the win.

Meanwhile, 2021 winners Loughmore-Castleiney booked their place in the last four thanks to a 2-22 to 1-24 win over Roscrea.

John McGrath’s 1-13 tally proved crucial for the victors as they survived a late onslaught from their counterparts at Semple Stadium to advance towards the business end of the Dan Breen Cup race.

Most Read Stories