Galway SHC: Turloughmore end 30-year wait for final berth

September 21, 2020

Turloughmore are on course for their first Galway SHC triumph since 1986

Turloughmore moved into their first Galway senior hurling championship final in 30 years yesterday after overcoming Loughrea by 2-17 to 1-17 at Pearse Stadium.

Goals from Barry Callanan and Gary Burke helped the winners edge a 2-6 to 0-11 lead at the half, having had a penalty from marksman Conor Walsh saved by Gearoid Loughnane.

Four unanswered points from Turloughmore at the start of the second-half looked to have them on the path to victory before their opponents hit back with singles from Neil Keary and Emmet Mahoney.

Walsh kept the scores flowing the for the victors though and they’d even survive a late scare after Joseph Mooney hit their net late in injury-time.

On course for their first Galway SHC triumph since 1986, Turloughmore now await the winners of St Thomas and Cappataggle after the earlier semi-final in Salthill was postponed following a confirmed case of Covid-19 among one of the teams.

Most Read Stories