Limerick SHC final: Na Piarsaigh claim sixth title in emphatic style

September 19, 2020

Na Piarsaigh captain William O'Donoghue lifts the Limerick SHC trophy. ©INPHO/Ryan Byrne.

Na Piarsaigh 5-27

Doon 1-12

Na Piarsaigh were crowned Limerick SHC champions for the sixth time thanks to a power-packed final performance over Doon.

Kieran Bermingham was captain in 2011 when the Caherdavin club claimed their first ever championship success and guided them to the same title as manager in emphatic style tonight.

David Dempsey and Peter Casey bagged a brace of goals each while Adrian Breen added the fifth to put the icing on the cake in a comprehensive 27-point victory at the LIT Gaelic Grounds.

Doon were just a point behind (0-6 to 0-5) approaching the first water break before Dempsey struck a stunning opening goal and suddenly they trailed by eight. Two placed balls trimmed the deficit to six at half-time, 1-12 to 0-9.

Doon’s Michael Ryan and William Henn of Na Piarsaigh. ©INPHO/Ryan Byrne.

A Peter Casey point within ten seconds of the restart set the tone for the second-half as Dempsey followed up with his second major and the eventual winners never looked back even though Barry Murphy netted a goal from the penalty spot at the other end.

By the second water break, Bermingham's outfit asserted clear by ten points (2-19 to 1-12) but were in no mood for pulling up. The floodgates opened thereafter as they fired 3-8 without reply, Casey (2) and Breen running in further goals.

Na Piarsaigh - P Kennedy; K Kennedy, M Casey, C King; J Boylan (0-2), R Lynch (0-4, 3f, 1'65), A Dempsey; T Grimes (0-1), W O’Donoghue; A McNamara, D Dempsey (2-2), A Breen (1-3); P Casey (2-4), C Boylan (0-1), W Henn (0-8, 7f, 1'65). Subs: M Foley for A Dempsey, N Buckley for K Kennedy, J O’Brien (0-2f) for R Lynch.

Doon - E McNamara; C Thomas, E Fitzgibbon, T Hayes; C Ryan (0-3f), M O’Brien, J Cummins (0-1); M Ryan, Josh Ryan (0-2); D Moloney (0-2), P Ryan, B Murphy (1-4, 1-0pen, 0-3f, 0-1'65); E Stokes, D Stapleton, Jack Ryan. Subs: D Coleman for M Ryan, P Cummins for D Stapleton, N Maher for D Moloney.

Referee - J Murphy.

Most Read Stories