Cork coaching roles for Walsh and Ó hAilpín

November 16, 2022

Kevin Walsh.

Kevin Walsh and Seán Óg Ó hAilpín will coach the respective Cork senior football and minor hurling teams in 2023.

Their appointments were confirmed at last night’s county board meeting. Former Galway and Sligo manager Walsh, who won two All-Ireland SFC medals with the Tribesmen in 1998 and 2001, will join James Loughrey, Ray Keane, Mícheál Ó Cróinín and Barry Corkery in new football manager John Cleary’s backroom team.

Ó hAilpín will link up with new Cork hurling manager boss Kieran ‘Fraggy’ Murphy whose backroom team also includes Garry Gray (Sarsfields), Martin Coleman (Ballinhassig), David Long (Kinsale), James Nyhan (Cloyne), Colman O’Reilly (Shanballymore) and Denis Murphy (Glen Rovers).

Ó hAilpín won three All-Ireland SHC medals (1999, 2004 and ’05) in a glittering career with the Rebels.

Most Read Stories