Mayo hold off Kerry to set-up derby All-Ireland MFC final against Galway

June 25, 2022

Michael Gallagher celebrates with Mayo's Diarmuid Duffy after the game ©INPHO/Tom Maher

Mayo will face Galway in the All-Ireland minor football championship final in July 9th after defeating Kerry by 1-8 to 0-9 in Tullamore this afternoon.

Ronan Clarke’s goal gave the Connacht lads an 18th minute lead after Cathal Keaveney’s free got them off the mark three minutes in before being erased by the points of Darragh O’Connor, Cormac Dillon (free) and Donagh O’Sullivan at the other end.

Dillon and Paddy Lane swung over points that gave Kerry back the lead by the 21st minute but the Westerners were able to finish out the half strong via the scores of ‘Man of the Match’ Clarke (free), Jack Keane and James McHeady that left it at 1-5 to 0-6 for the half.

Clarke made it a three-point game within four minutes of the restart and the same player would add another free to up the Mayo lead to four heading into the final quarter at O’Connor Park.

The Kingdom pushed with more points from O’Sullivan and Lane (free) but they were left two short in the end as Mayo advance to the Tom Markham Cup decider in two weeks’ time – a game which is set to mark their third meeting with neighbours Galway this year and first All-Ireland MFC final apperance since 2013.

Most Read Stories