Banagher, Mooncoin and Kilmeena taste provincial club glory

January 08, 2022

Banagher, Mooncoin and Kilmeena celebrate provincial wins.

Banagher (Derry), Mooncoin (Kilkenny) and Kilmeena (Mayo) got their hands on provincial club championship silverware today.

Banagher became the first Derry club in history to claim the Ulster IHC title after getting the better of Fermanagh standard bearers Lisbellaw St Patrick's at Healy Park. Goals either side of half-time from Brian Og McGilligan and Ciaran Lynch saw Banagher to a 2-11 to 0-12 victory.

Mooncoin maintained Kilkenny's stranglehold on the Leinster club JHC trophy with a convincing 4-13 to 0-15 win over Shamrocks of Offaly at UPMC Nowlan Park. Patrick Walsh scored 3-6 for the winners.

Meanwhile, a dominant Kilmeena cruised past St Patrick's (Sligo) in the Connacht club JFC final. It finished 1-18 to 0-5 in favour of the west Mayo outfit at Markievicz Park.


Most Read Stories