Camogs outclassed by Antrim in championship opener

May 23, 2022

Offaly's Aisling Brennan in action against Antrim on Saturday (Photo by John Gavin)

Camogs outclassed by Antrim in championship opener

Antrim 4-18

Offaly 1-10

Offaly’s 2022 All-Ireland Senior Camogie Championship campaign got off to a very disappointing start in St Brendan’s Park, Birr last Saturday when they crashed to a 17-point defeat to last year’s All-Ireland intermediate champions Antrim.

Leading by four points after 20 minutes, the hosts fell away badly after that as Roisin McCormick, Aine Magill and Caitrin Dobbin combined for 4-13 of the winners’ tally.

There was no hint of what was to come in the first half, with Offaly leading until Magill’s first green flag just before the interval. A seventh minute goal by Mairéad Teehan handed Susan Earner’s charges the early initiative and points from Sarah Harding, Aisling Brennan and Teehan kept them ahead, but Antrim had drawn level when Magill struck on the stroke of half-time to send them into the break with a 1-9 to 1-6 lead.

A couple of points from Teehan maintained the hosts’ interest, but when McCormick billowed the net in the 40th minute, the Saffrons cut loose and Offaly had no answer, Dobbin and Magill helping themselves to further goals on a memorable day for the newly-promoted Ulster side.

In contrast, it was a bad day at the office for an underperforming Offaly side who will need to pick themselves up quickly ahead of the visit of All-Ireland champions Galway this weekend. Their other games in the group are against Limerick, Down and Kilkenny.

Scorers – Antrim: Roisin McCormick 1-8 (0-6 frees), Aine Magill 2-2, Caitrin Dobbin 1-3, Caoimhe Wright 0-3, Lucia McNaughton and Nicole O'Neill (0-1 free) 0-1 each. Offaly: Mairead Teehan 1-6 (0-5 frees), Sarah Harding 0-2, Grace Teehan and Aisling Brennan 0-1 each.

Antrim: Caitriona Graham; Chloe Drain, Niamh Donnelly, Amy Boyle; Colleen Patterson, Caoimhe Conlon, Laoiseach McKenna; Lucia McNaughton, Nicole O'Neill; Siobhan McKillop, Maedhbh Laverty, Aine Magill; Caoimhe Wright, Roisin McCormick, Caitrin Dobbin. Subs. Maria Lynn for S McKillop (53 mins) and Kate McKillop for Drain (56 mins).

Offaly: Eleanor Clendennen (Kinnitty); Sarah Guinan (Kilcormac/Killoughey), Aisling Feeney (Tullamore), Orla Gorman (Tullamore); Sarah Walsh (Tullamore), Roisin Egan (St Rynagh's), Orlagh Phelan (Naomh Brid); Aisling Brennan (St Cillian's), Louise Mannion (St Rynagh's); Christine Cleary (Shinrone), Grace Teehan (Naomh Brid), Sarah Harding (Birr); Siobhan Flannery (St Rynagh's), Mairead Teehan (Moneygall), Clodagh Leahy (Drumcullen). Subs. Jane Lowry (Kilcormac/Killoughey)for Egan (44 min), Sharon Shanahan (Shinrone) for Gorman (46 min) and Caitlin O’Meara (Shinrone) for Leahy (48 min).

Referee: Barry Nea (Westmeath).

Most Read Stories