Morris And Flynn

Hey RD looks like its me that's in the wrong, checked the hightlights footage earlier on Youtube and couldn't see the incident there, balls.ie had a picture which seems to back up what Ratoath Royal said about giving the Wha Wha after he'd been red carded.

I'm probably contradicting myself here, but i wonder was there something said by Jordan and the linesman relayed that the referee. I'm not for a second suggesting he did say something but it seems crazy that he was sent off just for the shove. Has anyone seen the referee's report as that would have to clearly lay out why he sent off Jordan?

if it's just the shove then as you've said it's not a red card offence.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 25/05/2022 14:29:53    2420181

Replying To brian:  "Hey RD looks like its me that's in the wrong, checked the hightlights footage earlier on Youtube and couldn't see the incident there, balls.ie had a picture which seems to back up what Ratoath Royal said about giving the Wha Wha after he'd been red carded.

I'm probably contradicting myself here, but i wonder was there something said by Jordan and the linesman relayed that the referee. I'm not for a second suggesting he did say something but it seems crazy that he was sent off just for the shove. Has anyone seen the referee's report as that would have to clearly lay out why he sent off Jordan?

if it's just the shove then as you've said it's not a red card offence."
I think if you look at both cases on replay, O'Mahoney couldnt get the card out quick enough.

I think both incidents were cases of him buying the reaction of the "fouled" player, hook line and sinker.
A good ref gives himself a few seconds before reacting, but O'Mahoney seemed to have his mind made up instantly.

As for the cards being rescinded - Is there a timeframe for appealing? Id have imagined we'd have seen something on it by now.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6342 - 25/05/2022 16:04:51    2420208

What Morris done was silly but it isn't a red card.If that's the case you would be looking at three or four a game at least.Id imagine he will get off with it and be available for the Clare game.Gannon was at Morris as well just before the peno he was in morris face practically head to head so I'd imagine that's what got Morris frustrated (plus the score of course)and I'd say he was sledging so Gannon is hardly innocent.Sledging is rampant in the game dont like it at all horrible to hear it but you just have to try and rise above it but it can be hard to sometimes.I dont condone the push (silly really)but can sort of understand Morris (a young lad)just let it get to him and hit(pushed out)at his man.Flynn s red seeing it in real time was thinking he would probably go for it (was probably the first and only hit we got at them)but the more I saw it that night Copper does duck and dive in to him.Not sure he will get off be 50 50 probably.

Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 254 - 25/05/2022 20:45:05    2420260

Replying To brian:  "Hey RD looks like its me that's in the wrong, checked the hightlights footage earlier on Youtube and couldn't see the incident there, balls.ie had a picture which seems to back up what Ratoath Royal said about giving the Wha Wha after he'd been red carded.

if it's just the shove then as you've said it's not a red card offence."
No harm. We all make mistakes.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/05/2022 21:48:35    2420267

Replying To royaldunne:  "No harm. We all make mistakes."
I think here was a level of frustration on Morris' part. He was probably pretty devastated at the performance, annoyed looking at the goalie coming up and taking and missing frees he may have felt that he could have taken, frustrated at missing a couple of goal chances himself and a bit spooked a being able to see many supporters leaving early.

Lets face it, that day wasn't the highlight of his year so far.

I wouldn't condone his push but I kind of understand it in the circumstances.

The referee should have had a bit of cop on and given a yellow.

By the way, when are the appeals being heard?

stillaroyal (Meath) - Posts: 223 - 26/05/2022 13:04:38    2420333

The cards are a welcome distraction from what was a crappy team performance.

The lads should take their medicine with no complaints and go out an bate the hell out of Clare in Ennis.

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 26/05/2022 20:27:36    2420418

Fergal Lynch on Twitter has said Jordan's red card was over turned. No joy for Jack Flynn.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 27/05/2022 09:43:37    2420435

Replying To brian:  "Fergal Lynch on Twitter has said Jordan's red card was over turned. No joy for Jack Flynn."
Was worried about that. And I think Flynn could have done some damage v clare. Morris was always going to get off, (as it was only a yellow card offence ) But I was hoping Flynn would too . Pity.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/05/2022 13:29:28    2420484

Replying To royaldunne:  "Was worried about that. And I think Flynn could have done some damage v clare. Morris was always going to get off, (as it was only a yellow card offence ) But I was hoping Flynn would too . Pity."
Wouldnt have minded seen another bit of Flynn alright. Looked to have a bit of fire in him when he came on, albeit in a game that had died, but all the same.

Sure he'll be back for the game v Kildare in the next round anyway

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6342 - 27/05/2022 14:31:32    2420499

Replying To Jinxie:  "Wouldnt have minded seen another bit of Flynn alright. Looked to have a bit of fire in him when he came on, albeit in a game that had died, but all the same.

Sure he'll be back for the game v Kildare in the next round anyway"
That's it exactly ;)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/05/2022 21:25:34    2420539