Meath V Cork Rd 5

Much better team performance today. Yes Cork were poor but so were Down and Offaly and we couldn't step it up against them so as far as I'm concerned it is only a positive thing. Hogan looks assured in goals, accurate kick outs both long and short, and in regards to him taking frees, who cares how close they are to the goal, if he is the best free taker in the squad then he is the best free taker in the squad, position be damned. There's been plenty of keeps in hurling taking penos and no questions about them because they are good so as long as Hogans % stays in the high 70's and 80's then leave him at it.
Full back line looked a bit better today, however we are playing 3 corner backs and are in desperate need of McGill to return before championship. The difference Menton made in midfield to those around him was highly visible and I believe McGill would do the same in the backs. Muldoon looks a nice tigerish corner back and Harkin looks to be a great attacking corner back who could benefit from not having to mind the house in the full back spot.
We are still short at 6, for all the criticism McEntee got, he was our best option there, Harnan doesn't do it for me at all and never has and the same goes for Brian Conlon. James McEntee is a brilliant footballer but is better suited to wing back in my opinion given his strength in getting forward and his discipline is questionable at times as well for such a pivotal position.
Jones and Menton worked well together, Mentons driving runs were sorely missed the last few games and Jones tackling on Sunday was excellent.
Forwards worked well as a unit, tracked back when we lost and transitioned quickly when we got it back. Scully in particular was very impressive. Shane Walsh will struggle to hold his position if he continues like he did yesterday however, he turned the ball over far to many times, was slow to shoot and dropped the ball a number of times. I think he is a good footballer though and hopefully it was just an off day.

A win next week against Clare I think is a must, not in terms of survival as I think we will be safe now anyway, but in terms of momentum going into the championship, you could see in the crowd standing and applauding at half time, Andy constantly encouraging the lads as they came off and the players body language and work rate when they didn't hear every moan and groan that accompanies a bad pass, short shot or poor turnover, so a win for me is pivotal. The Derry game becomes like the last stern challenge game before our first round, They will need a win for promotion I would imagine so will be massively up for it and we will want the win to keeps momentum going. Hopefully we get the two victories, and then roll on the championship and summer foot ball

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 14/03/2022 16:39:45    2405434

On the captain issue I think Andy has stated previously that he picks it on seniority and not on club or whatever. And going by that logic it would progress since he came in it went to biggy then keoghan and menton together, then Shane was the next most senior, and now it's cos and I believe (although open to correction ) that harnan would be next in line, (maybe Eamonn wallace) ? also there is no set rule that the captain has to start. If I remember correctly didn't Kerry win either munster and or all Ireland with the capt as a sub ?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/03/2022 16:59:55    2405442

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "A lot of negativity somehow despite a really good performance in particular in the first half. Menton and Jones being back is an unbelievable boost. It changes the feel and physicality of the team entirely. Also people saying we finally kicked the ball as if the game plan prior had been to just handpass it constantly. There was more kick passing into Morris in particular and Walsh to some extent but a big part of that was our tackling intensity. Scully, Walsh, Cillian, Thomas, Costello and Jones were really physical and put in a serious shift in the first half to get so many turnovers in the middle 3rd. When you get those turnovers the opposition isn't set and then you get 1 on 1's where you can give the ball in. I don't think it was a change in game plan just a much better execution of the original plan. And the running game is still a huge weapon for us. Hickey, Keoghan, Harkin, Jones, Menton and Cillian are all really strong direct runners so that will certainly be a key part of our play. We've given ourselves plenty of breathing room and a lot of negative energy has been lifted off the team. Clare next week and we've a good record against them recently so let's hope we can back it up and guarantee safety and build form for the championship"
Excellent post. And like you I do think that any sort of result next week and we safe, which while not idea after the draw with Down I'd have bitten ur hand off.
If I was to place a bet now I'd say the two to get relegated would be Down and cork. Offaly to my surprise might just stay up.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/03/2022 18:43:44    2405455

Replying To royaldunne:  "On the captain issue I think Andy has stated previously that he picks it on seniority and not on club or whatever. And going by that logic it would progress since he came in it went to biggy then keoghan and menton together, then Shane was the next most senior, and now it's cos and I believe (although open to correction ) that harnan would be next in line, (maybe Eamonn wallace) ? also there is no set rule that the captain has to start. If I remember correctly didn't Kerry win either munster and or all Ireland with the capt as a sub ?"
RD honestly this is not a go at you at all but there's a few things in this to pick up.

1) Kerry captain is always picked by the county champions from the county champions team and yes they've had multiple joint captains or captains not starting. Kilkenny had similar in Hurling. They're some of the only counties still doing this, Manager has no say on who the captain is.
2) I believe it was you last year who told us (accept it might've been someone else) that the captain was voted on and picked by the players and Andy had nothing to do with who was captain thus saving himself from everyone jumping on him for appointing his son as captain.
3) Seniority would've meant Eamonn Wallace, Brian McMahon, Conor McGill, Padraic Harnan and even Joey Wallace all would've been ahead of Shane for the captaincy. believe most of them played under MOD and Shane only came in with Andy which would kind of back up the point of Shane being elected by the players as captain last year.

Hope you're recovering well from the COVID (think i saw you mention you were struck down last week) and will be able to travel to Clare for the next match. Thankfully at least the match was on TG4 for you to watch this time. It's pretty shameful that outside of division one its hard to get any matches in the lower divisions live or on GAA go.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 15/03/2022 10:38:48    2405495

Well we got the win thankfully.Postives= we won hence easing fears of the drop a bit,Hogan looks like he could answer a few questions on our goalkeeping issues,Menton made a big difference and Jones looked far better with him beside him,tackling was much better especially the first half,Forwards had the best return of the year so far and should have had more.The win will give badly needed confidence and hopefully can go to Clare now and get a win.I dont like been negative but Cork were very poor but still cut through us at ease at times.They kicked some very bad wides,hit the bar and spurned a couple of goal chances(I know we did as well)that better teams would punish.we went 10/15 minutes in the second half without scoring with the wind against better teams that will really hurt us.We got turned over in the forward line a bit as well it needs to stick more.ill stop there as dont want to be nit picking but the next two games should give us a picture of were we are Clare away although we have a decent record in recent years will be tough and Derry will probably need a win v us the last day so that wi be another tough game.I hope this gives us the confidence to play better than we have done in the league and fine tune for the championship.On a sidenote the young lad brought the ball to the match and he was delighted to get out on the pitch at halftime and was buzzing the whole evening and couldnt wait to tell everyone he was playing on the same pitch as the Meath team so fair play for that.

Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 256 - 15/03/2022 11:50:09    2405516

Replying To ratlag:  "Much better team performance today. Yes Cork were poor but so were Down and Offaly and we couldn't step it up against them so as far as I'm concerned it is only a positive thing. Hogan looks assured in goals, accurate kick outs both long and short, and in regards to him taking frees, who cares how close they are to the goal, if he is the best free taker in the squad then he is the best free taker in the squad, position be damned. There's been plenty of keeps in hurling taking penos and no questions about them because they are good so as long as Hogans % stays in the high 70's and 80's then leave him at it.
Full back line looked a bit better today, however we are playing 3 corner backs and are in desperate need of McGill to return before championship. The difference Menton made in midfield to those around him was highly visible and I believe McGill would do the same in the backs. Muldoon looks a nice tigerish corner back and Harkin looks to be a great attacking corner back who could benefit from not having to mind the house in the full back spot.
We are still short at 6, for all the criticism McEntee got, he was our best option there, Harnan doesn't do it for me at all and never has and the same goes for Brian Conlon. James McEntee is a brilliant footballer but is better suited to wing back in my opinion given his strength in getting forward and his discipline is questionable at times as well for such a pivotal position.
Jones and Menton worked well together, Mentons driving runs were sorely missed the last few games and Jones tackling on Sunday was excellent.
Forwards worked well as a unit, tracked back when we lost and transitioned quickly when we got it back. Scully in particular was very impressive. Shane Walsh will struggle to hold his position if he continues like he did yesterday however, he turned the ball over far to many times, was slow to shoot and dropped the ball a number of times. I think he is a good footballer though and hopefully it was just an off day.

A win next week against Clare I think is a must, not in terms of survival as I think we will be safe now anyway, but in terms of momentum going into the championship, you could see in the crowd standing and applauding at half time, Andy constantly encouraging the lads as they came off and the players body language and work rate when they didn't hear every moan and groan that accompanies a bad pass, short shot or poor turnover, so a win for me is pivotal. The Derry game becomes like the last stern challenge game before our first round, They will need a win for promotion I would imagine so will be massively up for it and we will want the win to keeps momentum going. Hopefully we get the two victories, and then roll on the championship and summer foot ball"
On the 6 position i think we were more steady sunday.no lateral ball all the time we had a presense there in harnan.looked like players had more freedom to move ball for whatever reason forward.

Borderroyal (Meath) - Posts: 488 - 15/03/2022 12:23:24    2405523

Replying To brian:  "RD honestly this is not a go at you at all but there's a few things in this to pick up.

1) Kerry captain is always picked by the county champions from the county champions team and yes they've had multiple joint captains or captains not starting. Kilkenny had similar in Hurling. They're some of the only counties still doing this, Manager has no say on who the captain is.
2) I believe it was you last year who told us (accept it might've been someone else) that the captain was voted on and picked by the players and Andy had nothing to do with who was captain thus saving himself from everyone jumping on him for appointing his son as captain.
3) Seniority would've meant Eamonn Wallace, Brian McMahon, Conor McGill, Padraic Harnan and even Joey Wallace all would've been ahead of Shane for the captaincy. believe most of them played under MOD and Shane only came in with Andy which would kind of back up the point of Shane being elected by the players as captain last year.

Hope you're recovering well from the COVID (think i saw you mention you were struck down last week) and will be able to travel to Clare for the next match. Thankfully at least the match was on TG4 for you to watch this time. It's pretty shameful that outside of division one its hard to get any matches in the lower divisions live or on GAA go."
Ahh it's a bad old dose but after avoiding it for 2 years I guess I was lucky upto now. Yeah hopefully will be all clear for Clare.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/03/2022 17:09:19    2405599

Replying To brian:  "RD honestly this is not a go at you at all but there's a few things in this to pick up.

Hope you're recovering well from the COVID (think i saw you mention you were struck down last week) and will be able to travel to Clare for the next match. Thankfully at least the match was on TG4 for you to watch this time. It's pretty shameful that outside of division one its hard to get any matches in the lower divisions live or on GAA go."
Just to add you would be right about Bryan McMahon he would be there longer than either Shane or harnan I'd say. And for some reason I totally forgot about him. Also James mcentee would have been around a long time too. As I said I believe I heard it somewhere about him saying seniority, and the more I think about I do think it was in relation to biggy getting it after donal said he didn't want to continue at the time due to study's or something if I remember, I also think you may be right on the vote last year, I believe that might have been in chronicle or Fergal lynch. I'd have to check it up. But either way I want to wish Shane a safe trip in what actually is a volatile area

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/03/2022 17:18:36    2405601

Replying To royaldunne:  "On the captain issue I think Andy has stated previously that he picks it on seniority and not on club or whatever. And going by that logic it would progress since he came in it went to biggy then keoghan and menton together, then Shane was the next most senior, and now it's cos and I believe (although open to correction ) that harnan would be next in line, (maybe Eamonn wallace) ? also there is no set rule that the captain has to start. If I remember correctly didn't Kerry win either munster and or all Ireland with the capt as a sub ?"
It definitely was'ent on seniority. It might have been better to not keep it in the family for appearance sake.

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 15/03/2022 19:10:25    2405618

It was refreshing to see better football and should continue. But Cork were a very weak team away from home. It is shaping up that 4 points will not save us from relegation ,which would be a disaster as Meath would become one of the teams not playing in the all ireland competition, Leading to lack of interest in the team.
To get more points the rest of the dysfunctional selections have to be altered. We need to start with the best team or sink.

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 15/03/2022 19:15:58    2405620

Replying To royaldunne:  "Just to add you would be right about Bryan McMahon he would be there longer than either Shane or harnan I'd say. And for some reason I totally forgot about him. Also James mcentee would have been around a long time too. As I said I believe I heard it somewhere about him saying seniority, and the more I think about I do think it was in relation to biggy getting it after donal said he didn't want to continue at the time due to study's or something if I remember, I also think you may be right on the vote last year, I believe that might have been in chronicle or Fergal lynch. I'd have to check it up. But either way I want to wish Shane a safe trip in what actually is a volatile area"
Good to hear you're on the mend RD and as you say safe trip Shane. When you see people do things like that it puts football in it's place.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 16/03/2022 08:57:37    2405635

Replying To brian:  "Good to hear you're on the mend RD and as you say safe trip Shane. When you see people do things like that it puts football in it's place."
Yep exactly

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/03/2022 13:06:22    2405707

Replying To Ashrules:  "It was refreshing to see better football and should continue. But Cork were a very weak team away from home. It is shaping up that 4 points will not save us from relegation ,which would be a disaster as Meath would become one of the teams not playing in the all ireland competition, Leading to lack of interest in the team.
To get more points the rest of the dysfunctional selections have to be altered. We need to start with the best team or sink."
Who are the dysfunctional selections and what's the best team?

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1458 - 16/03/2022 15:17:07    2405742