When was that? We haven't been big favourites for a game in Croke Park for a long time. Favourites for this year's Leinster final obviously, not big favourites, but we won that comfortablly. We might have been slight favourites against Kilkenny in the Leinster final in 2020. We threw that away, but it was a tight game. Favourites in 2018, went well behind but almost levelled it at the end. We certainly weren't favourites for any of our Croke Park games against Limerick after that. WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2934 - 03/07/2026 13:33:09 2683922 Link 1 |
all the best tomorrow.. gbay (Galway) - Posts: 291 - 03/07/2026 13:56:44 2683929 Link 1 |
Apparently over 25,000 Galway people going with Galweigins who live in Dublin could be over 30000 supporting the men in maroon and white....Cork will probably have 50000 supporters there. katser (Galway) - Posts: 2899 - 03/07/2026 14:07:01 2683935 Link 1 |
Keep it coming lads....
bloodandbandage (Cork) - Posts: 606 - 03/07/2026 14:22:39 2683938 Link 1 |
Lapse of concentration was meant to have said last time Cork were favourites in Croke Park they got embarrassed.
ColmFlaherty (Galway) - Posts: 144 - 03/07/2026 15:37:04 2683959 Link 1 |
Slight typo of sorts their was meant to have read 'last time Cork were deemed as big favourites in Croke Park they got embarrassed'
ColmFlaherty (Galway) - Posts: 144 - 03/07/2026 15:38:15 2683960 Link 1 |
Have to eat humble pie with my prediction congrats to Galway great display lovely style of hurling well done . Tiger1 (Wexford) - Posts: 459 - 04/07/2026 17:13:15 2684177 Link 5 |
Nothing won yet but by God that was tremendous. Blew Cork away in that second half. Stunning performance. festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3161 - 04/07/2026 17:13:26 2684178 Link 1 |
Beaten 11pts by a majestic Galway team. Goodluck katser (Galway) - Posts: 2899 - 04/07/2026 17:22:54 2684181 Link 1 |
Well, they definitely kept it coming.
festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3161 - 04/07/2026 17:29:47 2684183 Link 1 |
Cusack needs to have more respect for Golwaaay....that would be a start. First round of the NHL....said Galway hurlers were like de sponsors.....de supermac burger......looks lovely and invoiting.....but when you take a boite out of it, it doesn't taste too good at all. Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4845 - 04/07/2026 17:52:48 2684190 Link 1 |
Well done lads! Pretty comprehensive win!!! Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 20195 - 04/07/2026 18:19:00 2684200 Link 1 |
Congratulations, Galway. Keep the heads and with that skill and work rate, ye are good enough to win it out, irrespective of whether it is Clare or Limk (50-50 game). foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2593 - 04/07/2026 18:53:54 2684210 Link 1 |
Well done Galway, I didn't see that coming. But, you've got to keep your feet on the ground, there's a final still to be played. It's great to see the Leinster Champions give a top Munster side a beating. Especially after most people had written you off. Plus, all the recent denigration and mocking of the Leinster Championship. Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2925 - 04/07/2026 19:25:55 2684218 Link 4 |
Cork were out hurled, out worked and totally out if their league today. Well done Galway Armchairreporter (Galway) - Posts: 152 - 04/07/2026 19:57:11 2684226 Link 1 |
What a performance that was...a day to live long in the memory whether we win it out in two weeks or not! Flaherty (UK) - Posts: 132 - 04/07/2026 19:57:21 2684227 Link 1 |
Fair play to Galway a fantastic display. Keep grounded and ye just might win it. jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1980 - 04/07/2026 20:28:53 2684230 Link 1 |
What a fantastic performance and such a tonic after the footballer's lame exit last week! It feels a lot to me like the 1985 semi-final when Cork were also red-hot favourites but were blown away by a brilliant display from a new look Galway team under the second coming of Cyril Farrell. Would be great if this bunch goes on to emulate the subsequent exploits of that great 1985-1990 team. Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 1054 - 04/07/2026 20:51:29 2684236 Link 2 |
Tremendous result, huge congrats to management and players, everything on point today. They've been excellent all championship and there's a great sense of momentum behind this team now, one more big one now lads!!! Roll on the final. Toast (Galway) - Posts: 50 - 04/07/2026 22:07:15 2684244 Link 1 |