Dublin GAA thread

Should insist on Parnell.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 4393 - 15/06/2026 10:00:29    2679746

Replying To Fionn:  "Monaghan of course.

Gonna be very interesting to see if Ger gets his wish now and we play Donegal In Parnell Park.
Reckon there will be pressure from the GAA HQ to play it in Croker though.

But surely as the Home team, we get to decide, and can play it where we want to…?!
I personally think we have a better chance of beating Donegal in the Neller."
LOL.
Its a great draw for us . One of the big two in Kerry or Armagh will be gone and we have donegal at home.A great opportunity and yes "The Neller or Nowhere".

brayballer (Wicklow) - Posts: 705 - 15/06/2026 10:13:04    2679753

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Should insist on Parnell."
Defo.

Looks like the die hard Dublin fans want it in PP also.

It would be an amazing atmosphere.

As the designated Home team, we want it on our Home ground.
Much better than say a 25,000 loss making attendance in HQ.

#NellerOrNowhere

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 5065 - 15/06/2026 11:06:17    2679786

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Should insist on Parnell."
There would be enough place to accommodate Parnell Pass holders & the equivalent in Donegal. And that's not even taking account of the neutral who might want to see it. People shouldn't loose out because Parnell Park isn't big enough.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 2079 - 15/06/2026 11:45:16    2679811

Replying To Fionn:  "Defo.

Looks like the die hard Dublin fans want it in PP also.

It would be an amazing atmosphere.

As the designated Home team, we want it on our Home ground.
Much better than say a 25,000 loss making attendance in HQ.

#NellerOrNowhere"
Croker is breakeven at 10k. It will be in Croker, no question about that.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 2079 - 15/06/2026 11:46:19    2679814

Replying To Square_B:  "Croker is breakeven at 10k. It will be in Croker, no question about that."
AFAIK it is 30k to break even for the Dubs to rent it out.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 5065 - 15/06/2026 12:58:06    2679856

I have to laugh - everyone wanted us out of Croke Park for years and now we want to move back to Parnell Park, they want us to stay in Croke Park.
Unbelievable Jeff..!
;o)

And so as to accommodate the neutral fans also no less… lol
Hilarious.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 5065 - 15/06/2026 13:02:49    2679862

The last time the Dublin men's senior football team played a championship match at Parnell Park was in 2004.
And now for a do or die clash, they want to have a game for around 8.5k.

It will make it some game in fairness but tickets will be like golddust.

I do agree ye need out of Croker and add back that amazing Dublin atmosphere back up but you really need a 25k stadium asap.

shaggykev (Donegal) - Posts: 488 - 15/06/2026 13:03:29    2679864

Replying To Square_B:  "There would be enough place to accommodate Parnell Pass holders & the equivalent in Donegal. And that's not even taking account of the neutral who might want to see it. People shouldn't loose out because Parnell Park isn't big enough."
Amazing with all their success and resources for the past 15 years Dublin GAA never build a 25k seater stadium.

It's only hurting themselves but Croker is too big for them now and Parnell Park is clearly too small.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1677 - 15/06/2026 13:15:52    2679878

Replying To Square_B:  "There would be enough place to accommodate Parnell Pass holders & the equivalent in Donegal. And that's not even taking account of the neutral who might want to see it. People shouldn't loose out because Parnell Park isn't big enough."
Its Dublin's call. What suits Dublin not what suits anyone else.

Ger won't be in mood to back down after all that's happened.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 4393 - 15/06/2026 13:28:37    2679884

Replying To peiledoir20:  "Amazing with all their success and resources for the past 15 years Dublin GAA never build a 25k seater stadium.

It's only hurting themselves but Croker is too big for them now and Parnell Park is clearly too small."
100%
I have been calling for it for years.

DCB have themselves to blame.

Absolutely bonkers.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 5065 - 15/06/2026 13:39:05    2679892

The Neller or Nowhere!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13847 - 15/06/2026 13:39:07    2679893

Replying To Fionn:  "I have to laugh - everyone wanted us out of Croke Park for years and now we want to move back to Parnell Park, they want us to stay in Croke Park.
Unbelievable Jeff..!
;o)

And so as to accommodate the neutral fans also no less… lol
Hilarious."
It is laughable because the Dubs always said it was their home ground.....so why is it not their home ground now!

In the Super 8s you had 2 games at Croke Park, basically your home venue twice. It was laughable then that the same stadium could be your home and neutral venues and its laughable now that you want to use Parnell Park. Croke Park was used to allow more people to access the games and so it should remain for this weekend.

How the mighty have fallen when the dubs are trying to move to an 8000 capacity venue to give themselves a chance.

dats_rite (Australia) - Posts: 23 - 15/06/2026 13:46:11    2679897

Replying To MesAmis:  "The Neller or Nowhere!"
Louth in Inniskeen blows any argument about season holders and capacity out of water.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 4393 - 15/06/2026 13:49:52    2679904

Replying To peiledoir20:  "Amazing with all their success and resources for the past 15 years Dublin GAA never build a 25k seater stadium.

It's only hurting themselves but Croker is too big for them now and Parnell Park is clearly too small."
100%

Absolutely bonkers.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 5065 - 15/06/2026 13:56:03    2679906

Replying To Fionn:  "100%

Absolutely bonkers."
Definitely poor planning and foresight. I believe they only recently got a training base of their own on the Southside?

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1677 - 15/06/2026 14:01:41    2679910

It would be novel to have it in Parnell Park alright. There would be a tasty wee atmosphere!
Aside from the difficulty in getting tickets, I don't mind where we play Dublin. That's not arrogance on my part, Lord knows we got our coughs softened by Cork last weekend. It's more that I want our lads to realise it's KO from here, proper Championship stuff, so if it's in PP or CP, it shouldn't matter - we need to step up bigtime.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 10379 - 15/06/2026 14:18:47    2679918

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Its Dublin's call. What suits Dublin not what suits anyone else.

Ger won't be in mood to back down after all that's happened."
Indeed, totally agree. Dublin needs to look after itself and to blazes with the begrudgers. Play it in PP.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2580 - 15/06/2026 15:11:51    2679937

That argument falls with Louth's rightful insistence on picking a ground that did not cater for a third of the Armagh demand alone through clubs.

I have a PP pass but would be happy to be in lottery. PP would harldy hold even the Dublin crowd that was in Cavan and not the regular number on Hill these times. But supporters as Fionn says seem to massively favour Parnell despit that.

Huge pay off too if getting to quarter finals if they win and if - as they will be - the crowd and familiarity with the mad pitch is an advantage. Donegal themselves have made Ballybofey in particular into such a cauldron.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 4393 - 15/06/2026 15:13:37    2679938

The Neller is perfect for the opposition.donegal were the county that wanted us taken out of croker acfew years ago so we will play in Neller as a kind gesture to them.

brayballer (Wicklow) - Posts: 705 - 15/06/2026 15:38:01    2679945