They played Ulsters three best teams in the quarter/semi,and final last year, and won all three games easily . Think before you post... Seniorleague (Galway) - Posts: 44 - 30/05/2026 22:23:20 2676655 Link 4 |
Give your head a wobble there. Actually blaming Murphy for defending his friend/team mate and somehow also blaming the victim in the assault. Classic Mayo fans. Odd bunch.
eddieSize5Balls (Donegal) - Posts: 377 - 31/05/2026 02:21:08 2676680 Link 0 |
One weekend without a Mayo fan complaining about Donegal…challenge impossible. eddieSize5Balls (Donegal) - Posts: 377 - 31/05/2026 02:22:09 2676681 Link 0 |
Armagh never really had to get out of 2nd gear yesterday. Surprised by how comfortable it was. Some very poor shooting from Derry meant we never had to move up the gear either. ArmaghAndProud (Armagh) - Posts: 54 - 31/05/2026 08:58:36 2676687 Link 0 |
I think Donegal realized that Ulster had to be sacrificed this year, interesting to see how Armagh fare from preliminary round in Ulster from now on.Tyrone were poor enough, beat a poor Dublin team, who didn't know how to win the match last year, and deservedly beaten by a great kerry team. They will unlikely be all on the pitch this year, and a few will be ring rusty, so there to be shot at. Galway best in West, and Joyce also realized he didn't need another provincial title, and focused the training to arrive and peak now. Armagh, Donegal, Galway, Kerry that's alphabetical order, now to sort it playing wise.......
Expertinall (UK) - Posts: 127 - 31/05/2026 09:14:58 2676689 Link 0 |
Armagh I think are in front on power rankings. Very disappointed in Derry last night but Armagh looked like champions staying ahead of any danger without hitting top gear. Looking like Kerry will be safe enough in round 2B. Worst case scenario would be away to Roscommon. Right now I don't see any other loser troubling them. If Dublin or Mayo lose today, maybe they'd be interesting with home advantage but overall, I fear Kerry will come roaring back after last weeks hiding. shaggykev (Donegal) - Posts: 452 - 31/05/2026 10:07:03 2676694 Link 0 |
Ok expertinnothing.,So Galway and Donegal threw their provincial titles.Donegal going for 3 in a row for first time ever and Galway going for 5 in a row No word on Dublin?Whats your county?
brayballer (Wicklow) - Posts: 637 - 31/05/2026 10:41:45 2676698 Link 0 |
There are plenty of more teams also that will beat donegal but all yous worried about is Kerrt.
brayballer (Wicklow) - Posts: 637 - 31/05/2026 10:47:19 2676701 Link 0 |
Dublin playing today and Dave Brown is still worrying about Donegal.
peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1651 - 31/05/2026 11:48:47 2676705 Link 0 |
I didn't say they threw their provincials, they targeted their training to the current format. That's what has to be done, semifinals and finalists, no use to Joyce or MC Guinness, neither is another provincial title. When they meet their county boards at end of season, will another provincial earn them much kudos? Pauric Joyce must be tripping over them, as a player and Manager, and I hope they meet Donegal in the final. If it's relevant I'm a londoner, born and bred.
Expertinall (UK) - Posts: 127 - 31/05/2026 11:50:00 2676706 Link 0 |
You don't have to worry about Kerry or Donegal in the Tailteann Cup?
Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 983 - 31/05/2026 11:54:12 2676707 Link 0 |
Well, taking into account just 2026, it's only been Down and Roscommon, so far, and can't meet either in next round! Put up your list, and we'll see if they are so plentiful?
Expertinall (UK) - Posts: 127 - 31/05/2026 12:01:52 2676711 Link 0 |
Looking at westmeath players exhaustion levels after game yesterday im wondering if people agree that it might be time to at least consider increasing number of substitutions in the interests of player welfare in the condensed season. One suggestion would be to retain the limit of 5 for in play substitutions but to allow an additional 3 at half time and also 3 changes between coin toss at start. Logic for keeping at 5 for in play would be not to disrupt play further. Logic for adding the pre game change would be to keep a role for marquee players who might not have 70 minutes in them. As an example, take paul conroy, galway want him on the field as a 2 point threat but he is no such threat against wind . But Galway start him in case they have wind in first half and may end up playing full game at 36/37 in order to ensure he plays with wind for a full half. There many such players at club and county level around the country and we want to see these lads playing without dogging them. Also increasing these pre game and half time changes could add to the intrigue and give managers (and commentators) more work to do...they are, in general, getting well paid , unlike the players who are currently being dogged. anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 1080 - 31/05/2026 12:11:11 2676716 Link 1 |
you don't start the lads who don't have 70 mins, simple solution, especially if you are waiting for a coin toss.
suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1799 - 31/05/2026 12:39:26 2676723 Link 0 |
Interesting to hear Armagh say they learned lessons from the defeats of provincial winners in the first weekend of Round 1. Flawed system. legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 9760 - 31/05/2026 13:37:15 2676737 Link 1 |
Exactly. They dont have to.... but they do. Also the intensity of games is getting the stage that few players have 70 minutes at the intensity thats required. Its going like rugby.. You would never ask Andy Farrell not to start Dan Sheehan because he doesnt have 80 minutes in him..
anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 1080 - 31/05/2026 13:59:41 2676740 Link 0 |
They can make 11 changes at full time before extra time
Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 2649 - 31/05/2026 14:10:25 2676742 Link 0 |
Complaining for the sake of it. Kerry could have easily learned from last year. Louth win Leinster lose first game. Donegal win Ulster lose first game. Galway win Connacht lose first game. Lúla571210 (Louth) - Posts: 183 - 31/05/2026 14:16:56 2676744 Link 0 |
Ye might be born in London but you still know more than the Wicklow man.
Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2694 - 31/05/2026 14:42:00 2676754 Link 0 |
Brilliant scheduling by the boys in power on timing of the 2 football matches today. Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2694 - 31/05/2026 16:04:26 2676764 Link 0 |