Donegal GAA thread

Well done Down.

Worthy winners. Balloon burst but hopefully McGuinness finds a way to take advantage of not needing 2 more games to win Sam.

Hope comment on Langan out for season is not true.

shaggykev (Donegal) - Posts: 426 - 26/04/2026 17:13:26    2668838

Delighted for down. By far the best team on the day. Mcguiness looked dumbfounded.
Why take Gallen off for a teenager after scoring 5? Strange.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2105 - 26/04/2026 17:26:33    2668845

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Delighted for down. By far the best team on the day. Mcguiness looked dumbfounded.
Why take Gallen off for a teenager after scoring 5? Strange."
Teenager that actually showed a bitta fight scored a 2 pointer, fetched a ball outta the air like a seasoned midfielder and unfairly punished setting up a goal.

naomh_conaill_4 (Donegal) - Posts: 519 - 26/04/2026 17:34:31    2668848

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Oh dear, bit complacent were we"
I wouldn't speak if I were you. Did you not need a Donegal man to get yous going?

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1572 - 26/04/2026 17:36:36    2668851

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Delighted for down. By far the best team on the day. Mcguiness looked dumbfounded.
Down in Ulster fighting for championship lives such a dangerous animal have ambushed plenty of teams over the years would never lack belief v anyone . Donegal losing their best player in my opinion Langan a big blow in fairness.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1977 - 26/04/2026 17:43:34    2668862

He's always been strange when it comes to Gallen…no idea why he took him off. Great manager but very poor today.

eddieSize5Balls (Donegal) - Posts: 342 - 26/04/2026 17:59:51    2668876

Replying To shaggykev:  "Well done Down.

Worthy winners. Balloon burst but hopefully McGuinness finds a way to take advantage of not needing 2 more games to win Sam.

Hope comment on Langan out for season is not true."
Seems like the Langan story of gone for the season is true. That coupled with our performance today would indicate Donegal will not be winning Sam this year.

Gutted

shaggykev (Donegal) - Posts: 426 - 26/04/2026 18:19:01    2668890

How many scores did we leave behind because we have no left foot free taker?

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 1221 - 26/04/2026 18:24:15    2668891

There will be some whinging by Jimmy now..

brayballer (Wicklow) - Posts: 544 - 26/04/2026 18:41:42    2668902

Replying To brayballer:  "There will be some whinging by Jimmy now.."
Is that right Dave? He was actually very gracious in defeat. Maybe give his interview a listen back?

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1572 - 26/04/2026 18:45:51    2668906

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Oh dear, bit complacent were we"
Guilty as charged.

Fair play to Down, very worthy winners.
No complaints here.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 10307 - 26/04/2026 19:46:54    2668929

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Guilty as charged.

Fair play to Down, very worthy winners.
No complaints here."
Good man lockjaw. After timers are a pain. Never have an opinion on match BEFORE it is played.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 4233 - 26/04/2026 20:19:04    2668951

Replying To totalrecall:  "How many scores did we leave behind because we have no left foot free taker?"
A good few... I'd say down were even under instruction to foul in the right hand side of the attack. Dean Rock used hit all the frees off his right so not sure it really matters about not having a left footer free taker but Murphy was just not comfortable on them.

mcGuinness summed up the performance and downs own performance pretty well in the interview.

I've definitely a greater appreciation for Langan after today. He's a serious operator. It would be a real blow if he's out for the year, but if that's the case, you just have to get on with it. It might be no harm now to get a few of the lads who didn't feature much back playing club football and build up some match sharpness

We had a few defeats in the last few years and still pushed on and sure meath beat Kerry last year and armagh drove on after losing Ulster in 2024 so hopefully it won't take them too long to regain the focus.

Next match will be an away trip to cork, Kerry, the Rossies, Galway or Leinster/Ulster finalists and sure no matter who it is or where it is we'll have as good a record there as the o'Donnell park!!!!

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 1000 - 26/04/2026 20:21:09    2668953

Didn't see that coming. Did Donegal put too much in to the League.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2641 - 26/04/2026 20:54:56    2668971

Replying To Ulsterchamps_32:  "A good few... I'd say down were even under instruction to foul in the right hand side of the attack. Dean Rock used hit all the frees off his right so not sure it really matters about not having a left footer free taker but Murphy was just not comfortable on them.

mcGuinness summed up the performance and downs own performance pretty well in the interview.

I've definitely a greater appreciation for Langan after today. He's a serious operator. It would be a real blow if he's out for the year, but if that's the case, you just have to get on with it. It might be no harm now to get a few of the lads who didn't feature much back playing club football and build up some match sharpness

We had a few defeats in the last few years and still pushed on and sure meath beat Kerry last year and armagh drove on after losing Ulster in 2024 so hopefully it won't take them too long to regain the focus.

Next match will be an away trip to cork, Kerry, the Rossies, Galway or Leinster/Ulster finalists and sure no matter who it is or where it is we'll have as good a record there as the o'Donnell park!!!!"
And even then if we lose we get a last chance lol.
I'd be hoping we draw a Leinster side. Everyone else would probably smell blood and beat us. A very bad day today. O Donnell park doesn't suit us. Our squad depth is also very much poor. Not much to come off the bench when the game is going away from us. No idea why Jim subbed Gallen off. Ridiculous decision in hindsight.

eddieSize5Balls (Donegal) - Posts: 342 - 26/04/2026 20:58:06    2668973

Why did donegal play in letterkenny when they have a good to brilliant record in ballybofey strange ?

Farneyblueandwhite (Monaghan) - Posts: 131 - 26/04/2026 21:31:40    2668988

Replying To Farneyblueandwhite:  "Why did donegal play in letterkenny when they have a good to brilliant record in ballybofey strange ?"
First championship match since 1951 in the O'Donnell park. After today it might be another 75 years before they want to play another. The Mccumhaill park pitch was relaid at the end of last year and will be a while yet before it's ready to use

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 1000 - 26/04/2026 21:50:50    2668993

4 weeks since the league final and we looked like we had played a gruelling extra time match last night. Langan is our best player and has been for a couple years now. But there was enough talent there today to put in a much better performance.

Down full value, took their chances and played with intensity and confidence. Best of luck to them going forward, some classy footballers

CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 319 - 26/04/2026 22:22:09    2669001