Leitrim GAA thread

Replying To ohwow:  "No one in Leitrim expected a heavy loss. Maybe those who don't know their football thought that way. You're shocking concerned about whether I attended the game aren't you. It shouldn't matter to someone in the UK"
Sure no one in Leitrim expected it. Bookies and punters had it at 15 point loss at least the people who make money from their knowledge of football.

Concerned I'm not however you not attending the game as I thought you wouldn't is pretty much confirmed with that passive aggressive reply.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 795 - 25/04/2026 19:55:43    2668610

Replying To ohwow:  "A case of what might have been. Our best player had an off day and we still ran Galway close. You'd have to say advantage Mayo for winning the final on the basis of this result."
Good effort from the Leitrim lads. You see now that good advice I proferred in an early post that young Shane Walsh was going well on training. He made the difference today.
You see now how Galway finished the third Connacht team in Division one. They'll improve no doubt. As for Leitrim best of luck in the second tier competition going forward. Keep the faith. Love to all.

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1359 - 25/04/2026 19:59:47    2668612

Today's result proved we are very near the top of the tree. Was discussing the permutations with some very shrewd Leitrim football men earlier,men that really know their football and we are reckon we can give Sam a right rattle through the qualifiers.

Gantric (Leitrim) - Posts: 12 - 25/04/2026 20:05:47    2668615

Replying To Drax_the_destroyer:  "Sure no one in Leitrim expected it. Bookies and punters had it at 15 point loss at least the people who make money from their knowledge of football.

Concerned I'm not however you not attending the game as I thought you wouldn't is pretty much confirmed with that passive aggressive reply."
Who cares about bookies?

I surely attended the game. And indeed spotted some of your fellow Roscommon men attending too. Grown men in Roscommon jerseys mind you. Now maybe they had their diary wrong and thought they were playing in Carrick, they spend enough time in it anyway and we always welcome them spending their money across the river. Fair play to them

ohwow (Leitrim) - Posts: 137 - 25/04/2026 20:17:29    2668616

Replying To Gantric:  "Today's result proved we are very near the top of the tree. Was discussing the permutations with some very shrewd Leitrim football men earlier,men that really know their football and we are reckon we can give Sam a right rattle through the qualifiers."
Oh God there'll no team want to play ye in the qualifiers for sure..Laythrum are the team to watch out for now..Sam will be in Drumshambo on fair day for all to see. Yup

D.Hyde (Roscommon) - Posts: 333 - 25/04/2026 20:19:08    2668617

Replying To ohwow:  "Who cares about bookies?

I surely attended the game. And indeed spotted some of your fellow Roscommon men attending too. Grown men in Roscommon jerseys mind you. Now maybe they had their diary wrong and thought they were playing in Carrick, they spend enough time in it anyway and we always welcome them spending their money across the river. Fair play to them"
I wondered about that too. Probably wanted to see a competitive semi final thank you as opposed to the avalanche they will face tomorrow from mayo who is managed by a Roscommon man who wouldn't play for them. Thanks for agreeing.

bláthach (Leitrim) - Posts: 517 - 25/04/2026 20:32:17    2668622

I surely attended the game. And indeed spotted some of your fellow Roscommon men attending too. Grown men in Roscommon jerseys mind you. Now maybe they had their diary wrong and thought they were playing in Carrick, they spend enough time in it anyway and we always welcome them spending their money across the river. Fair play to them"
Great fighting performance shown by leitrim today. If they had taken their point scoring opportunities in the first half they could have been in the connacht final. Best of luck to the rossies tommorrow. A roscommon leitrim final would have great day and some craic as there is great rivalry betwen both football mad counties.

Charliepace (Donegal) - Posts: 31 - 25/04/2026 21:18:27    2668643

Replying To Gantric:  "Today's result proved we are very near the top of the tree. Was discussing the permutations with some very shrewd Leitrim football men earlier,men that really know their football and we are reckon we can give Sam a right rattle through the qualifiers."
Just to point out to you that our interest in the quest for the Sam Maguire is over for the year.
We now enter a competition called the Tailteann Cup which pitches us against teams more or less our own level and slightly above. But I'm sure a knowledgeable football man such as yourself knew that already.
In other words the likes of Kerry/Donegal/Dublin won't be gracing Pairc Seán this year.
The very shrewd Leitrim football men were just pulling your leg I think.

Boxtyeater (Leitrim) - Posts: 778 - 25/04/2026 21:29:45    2668647

Lots of people care and betting a big business.

Your obsession with Roscommon makes you think every non Leitrim person that posts on here must be from Roscommon LOL as Clare would say.

You spotted some rossies on the GAA+ highlights and that made your blood boil didn't it?

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 795 - 25/04/2026 21:47:28    2668650

We in Galway were honestly lucky enough to get out of there today with a win. A very good Leitrim team and something good is undoubtedly building with that group ye have. Best of luck for the rest of the summer and go raibh maith agaibh for the usual craic and great reception around lovely Carrick.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 1127 - 25/04/2026 21:51:05    2668652

Galway very lucky indeed. Credit to Leitrim if ye can keep that group and momentum together you will have a right tilt at the Tailteann this year.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1764 - 25/04/2026 21:58:07    2668657