Wexford Hurling Thread

Replying To Afinestick96:  "Feels like a huge day for us today . Have a feeling it could be season defining for both teams . Match ups will be key would expect Shane Reck will pick up Eoin Cody and wouldn't be surprised to see Jippo or Donohoe start to mark Tj. We need more out of our forwards Lee can't do it all on his own. We need to play real intensity and run at them from the off . I think a win could give this young team huge confidence to push on for the rest of the year . A loss and its do or die against Dublin. Best of luck to the lads today go out and give it your all and good luck to the minors in the earlier game too"
I'm like a child at Christmas to be honest. No matter how disappointed I am at the end of a season, or no matter what happens during the winter, a day like this is what it's all about.

Expecting a big Wexford crowd, sunny evening, I think it'll be hell for leather.

If we can weather an inevitable storm in the first 15 minutes I think we've a great chance.

Days like this can be huge for the trajectory of a team. Let's hope it's a good one

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 4464 - 25/04/2026 09:14:11    2668486

Replying To Pikeman96:  "Another bit of reminiscing coming up.

About 20 years ago, I was part of a committee that was set up to try get more publicity for the All County Leagues. Basically, the four of us were assigned a couple of divisions each in hurling & football, and it was our job to get details from each club after each match so that short reports could be cobbled together for the newspapers each week ("The Echo" was still in operation at the time too).

It was a nightmare job. You'd be chasing people until all hours of a Monday night after a weekend's matches, and there were many who you'd never get at all. Some clubs were particularly bad. Even if they gave you details by fax (yes, fax!) or email or over the phone, you couldn't rely on them. For example, a common problem was them saying something like their team scored 2-14, but then when you added up the list of individual scorers they sent, it'd come to something like only 1-12.

Or one club would say that they won by 2-15 to 1-12, but the other club would say that they lost by 2-13 to 1-13.

It's a lovely idea in theory to say "clubs send in details so that they can be published" but the reality is it's far from that simple."
Reminds me of an article back in the day in a Dublin newspaper. I was playing full back but told the reporter (I knew his brother) who missed the first half that I had scored 1-2 from full forward but we were being destroyed back the field so they had to move me back. In truth, I never went beyond the 45 in my life.
I put the scores down to a few other players I liked on our team because he had no idea who scored what.
The report in the paper was along the lines of "the surprise springing of Exile to full forward reaped huge dividends as he caused untold trouble for the full back line before helping himself to 1-2 in the opening exchanges". It got a great laugh at training the Tuesday afterwards.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1632 - 25/04/2026 10:19:52    2668495

This looks like a good wexford minor team. Well balanced with no obvious tail on the team. Downey is a good centre back

richiepmurphy (Kilkenny) - Posts: 72 - 25/04/2026 12:17:13    2668515

Fair performance from the Minors, have to caveat it by acknowledging who they were playing against but at the same time, Laois ran Galway to four points last week, maybe that was because they had a fitness advantage they had from the qualifier games or maybe they were very good against Galway and very poor against us

As for us, we couldn't have done much more, out-scored them by about 6-20 or 6-21 to 1-02 from play (And they got a point from play with the last puck of the game), frees might be a concern for us, Tobin was very good today but I don't think he's really a free taker

Downey, Sludds-Murphy, Kavanagh, Whelan, Tobin, and Kehoe impressed me a lot, good to see GOH with a good lad, we need them to stay producing good hurlers from a Wexford perspective (He was the only player from a town team in the matchday squad, two Harriers lads on the extended panel)

Have a feeling we're playing a lot of 17yos and that our S&C work is very good, it was a bit men against boys out there, we physically dominated them out there and out stickwork was very good and sharp, big improvement from last week, thought our use of the ball was very good too

Can only beat what's in front of you and wouldn't be getting carried away but I liked what I saw

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 1093 - 25/04/2026 13:30:23    2668523

Minor hurlers could actually be in major trouble to qualify (And that's really down to the nonsensical format)

So we're in a group with Westmeath and Galway

Westmeath lost by 16 to KK at home but beat Dublin by 7 at home

Galway beat Laois by 4 away and KK by 2 away

We lost to Dublin by 3 away and then beat Laois by 28 away

So Galway are on 4 points and then us and Westmeath are on 2 (We have a better score difference by 34 points)

But Westmeath have Laois in their last game and we have Kilkenny

So we need to better whatever result Westmeath get against Laois

Would imagine we'll be at home to KK but don't know if it works like that, think one of Westmeath and Laois will end up getting three home games out of three in the group stages

Tbf, I'd say that Westmeath team are a good side, Coláiste Mhuire are in A competitions all the way up and they were in the Leinster Senior A SF this year, they were two points up againt KK coming into HT last week (KK had a man sent off very early on) but they gave away a black card penalty and then gave a goal away straight from the puck-out and went in four points behind, fell away after that

This isn't to suggest Westmeath aren't good but the format makes no sense, the U20 format is much fairer, this Minor format is asking for trouble

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 1093 - 25/04/2026 14:35:12    2668529

This is it lads, the nerves are kicking in.

It wasn't too long ago I would be looking at this game with apprehension and just expecting a beating. Dreading the thoughts of Shefflin and he who shalt be named destroying us. I remember Shefflin actually scoring more by himself than we did collectively in a Leinster final one year. We weren't even the bridemaids, we were the flower girls.

But hurling is cyclical, every county goes through its peaks and troughs, and we travel up there today with belief. It reminds me of the 2017 game (albeit away from home this time), I watched it in an Irish pub in Clapham and the pride I felt at the full-time whistle was like nothing I felt before. And we have had good days against them since then, there is certainly no trepidation there anymore. I know we aren't world beaters, but they are far removed from their legendary team too and I can bank on the lads raising their game.

No fear, no regrets. A croi agus lamh.

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1537 - 25/04/2026 15:12:32    2668539

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "Minor hurlers could actually be in major trouble to qualify (And that's really down to the nonsensical format)

So we're in a group with Westmeath and Galway

Westmeath lost by 16 to KK at home but beat Dublin by 7 at home

Galway beat Laois by 4 away and KK by 2 away

We lost to Dublin by 3 away and then beat Laois by 28 away

So Galway are on 4 points and then us and Westmeath are on 2 (We have a better score difference by 34 points)

But Westmeath have Laois in their last game and we have Kilkenny

So we need to better whatever result Westmeath get against Laois

Would imagine we'll be at home to KK but don't know if it works like that, think one of Westmeath and Laois will end up getting three home games out of three in the group stages

Tbf, I'd say that Westmeath team are a good side, Coláiste Mhuire are in A competitions all the way up and they were in the Leinster Senior A SF this year, they were two points up againt KK coming into HT last week (KK had a man sent off very early on) but they gave away a black card penalty and then gave a goal away straight from the puck-out and went in four points behind, fell away after that

This isn't to suggest Westmeath aren't good but the format makes no sense, the U20 format is much fairer, this Minor format is asking for trouble"
On the flip side Kilkenny know they are qualified before they play us. And they could well still top their group with 1 win and 2 defeats as Dublin play Galway in their last game.
They are on 2 pts like Dublin and Laois have 0.
And Laois have a minus 30 or so compared to Kilkenny plus 10 or so.
They might throw in a few subs etc especially as there is a chance they might have to play us again in a semi final .
I think its a positive for our team knowing that its basically win or bust.

Paull (Wexford) - Posts: 265 - 25/04/2026 15:35:05    2668541

How we're only four points behind at the break is a minor miracle

We haven't been at the races at all, it's all too easy for them to work the ball out from the back, we're not creating much in open play apart from Chin and our game plan seems to revolve around hitting every ball into him, should be running at them instead

They've let us off the hooks with wides and missed goal chances, need to up our intensity levels and make use of the ball, they've left us in the game and we need to take advantage

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 1093 - 25/04/2026 19:13:37    2668595

That's just upsetting. It was nice while it lasted.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 4464 - 25/04/2026 19:44:34    2668605

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "How we're only four points behind at the break is a minor miracle

We haven't been at the races at all, it's all too easy for them to work the ball out from the back, we're not creating much in open play apart from Chin and our game plan seems to revolve around hitting every ball into him, should be running at them instead

They've let us off the hooks with wides and missed goal chances, need to up our intensity levels and make use of the ball, they've left us in the game and we need to take advantage"
You are correct,so lucky to be at 4 points at 1/2 time. Simon Roche's score was the only time our 1/2 line had ball in their hand?? We are all over the place, players are confused. Surely by now we should know that Conor Foley should not be in the full back line. Don't know how long they keeping Banville on the field?

Spuds&GAA (Wexford) - Posts: 2 - 25/04/2026 19:48:53    2668608

Got a lesson today. Young team. Will learn from it. I said during the league we have 2 all irelands this year. Kildare and Offaly. That's the level at the moment.

Well and truly hurled out the gate.

Shocking performance to be fair

Yellowhelmet (Australia) - Posts: 172 - 25/04/2026 19:57:46    2668611

Replying To Yellowhelmet:  "Got a lesson today. Young team. Will learn from it. I said during the league we have 2 all irelands this year. Kildare and Offaly. That's the level at the moment.

Well and truly hurled out the gate.

Shocking performance to be fair"
Says it all when Wexfords aim was to beat Offaly and Kildare just to stay in the Leinster Championship..
Upper Joe McDonagh is where this group realistically is and people need to accept it. It's been that way for a couple of years but a few wins over KK papered over the cracks.
What happens if Chin doesn't come back next year.. I dread to think.
This Kilkenny team was there for the raking, so everyone thought but by Jesus we got a lesson today.

Inaroundthehouse (Wicklow) - Posts: 16 - 25/04/2026 20:33:41    2668623

Offally will beat ua, so will dublin

WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 477 - 25/04/2026 21:03:03    2668633

Replying To Inaroundthehouse:  "Says it all when Wexfords aim was to beat Offaly and Kildare just to stay in the Leinster Championship..
Upper Joe McDonagh is where this group realistically is and people need to accept it. It's been that way for a couple of years but a few wins over KK papered over the cracks.
What happens if Chin doesn't come back next year.. I dread to think.
This Kilkenny team was there for the raking, so everyone thought but by Jesus we got a lesson today."
Upper Joe McDonagh is about the 7th/8th best team in Leinster, our underage results may not be where we want them to be but we're never really 7th or 8th in Leinster at under-age level

This isn't to say things are good but there's no need for hyperbole

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 1093 - 25/04/2026 21:07:02    2668635

Replying To Viking66:  "Richie Reid will start instead of who?"
It doesn't really matter, does it?

Wexford hasn't been able to consistently beat Kilkenny since the 1950's! Yes, there was a purple patch in the mid70's! But late wins like 2004 and round-robin games when KK has already qualified don't cut any mustard.

Wexford had a chance to cutthroat their greatest rival today. Instead what happened! They lid on their yellow bellies.

I don't even know if Richie Reid hurled today or not. It's totally irrelevant.

From now on here, please try to concern yourself with the more important aspects of the Wexford game!

It is not good how low Wexford is, and all your if this and if that, and we did that, and trashing out statistics about beating KK in games that DIDN'T MATTER helps no one, and actually only serves to paper over the obvious cracks that are there in Wexford hurling!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2501 - 25/04/2026 21:07:52    2668637

Been a while since we've played that bad, Kilkenny played well to be fair to them but we made them look good at the same time, they played with intensity whereas we were pretty much lifeless from the very first whistle

We were just cleaned out of it in physical battles across the pitch, half-forward-line hardly won a ball, full-forward-like struggled to make the ball stick too, their forwards were much better than ours in comparison when it came to winning high/dirty ball

Doesn't matter how good or bad you are in terms of skill, intensity is the most important thing in hurling and we were miles off it

It seemed like 18 vs 15 at times, they seemed more energetic and always had options, we didn't do a good job tracking runners either, was way too easy for them to work the ball out the pitch

Thought some of our subs were weird too, Simon Roche is capable of better but he still scored two from play, I would've taken off Banville or Jack Redmond before him

Wickham played very well last week and while I can understand him not starting, it was weird not to even bring him on

Don't think TJ Reid really got much out of Jippo but they seemed to drag Jippo away from full-back, we've had a soft spine for a while and we were reminded of that today, hopefully Cian Molloy is back soon as he can win high ball and is a proper centre-back, think we could do with playing a sweeper

Losing away to KK isn't the end of the world but it's the manner of the defeat that's the big issue, need to bounce back against Dublin like KK did against us or else it'll be a short summer

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 1093 - 25/04/2026 21:18:06    2668642

Replying To WEXILE:  "Offally will beat ua, so will dublin"
They will if we play that way again

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19314 - 25/04/2026 21:39:37    2668648

Just back from kilkenny were never at the pace of the game at all should of been 10 or more down at halftime,kilkenny backs had the freedom of the park all night done what they wanted we dont have enough of ball winners and could see most of the balls hit in were aimed at chin 5.13 conceded from open play kilkenny had 14 wides aswell unfortunately looks like will be an early finish again this year.

Ryanworld (Wexford) - Posts: 54 - 25/04/2026 21:57:01    2668656

Was as bad as we've seen for a long long time. Some of our defending is juvenile and that's being respectful. Very low evening for Wexford hurling.

Goreylad1985 (Wexford) - Posts: 32 - 25/04/2026 22:02:45    2668658

Some basic things lacking, and not singling out any individuals-
1- will to win, no diving blocks, chasing lost causes, with a very few exceptions.
2- workrate, no tracking runners, very little movement to give our ball carrier options, with a few exceptions as 1 above.
3- starting players who play with 1 and 2 above.
4- management. Apart from selections, it was obvious their short puckouts were working well, mainly due to the lack of 1, 2 and 3 above. So why did we keep conceding them? Why were players who didnt play with 1 and 2 above staying on the pitch, some til the end? Some havent really shown 1 and 2 above all the way up from minor......
5- coaching. Basics like long puckouts looked chronically undercoached. No1 on the quarters most of the time. No real short puckout ability, Mark still not great at them.
6- Scores. 1-16 is a pathetic total in modern hurling.
7- marking. Non existent at times. At one point Paddy Deegan caught a puckout from Murphy with noone within 20 yards of him and stuck it over the bar.
Apart from the above as a team we were excellent :-D

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19314 - 25/04/2026 22:08:40    2668661