Wexford Hurling Thread

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "Think Dublin are away to Antrim, then at home to
Down, and then away to Carlow

Although that last match will only matter for Carlow if they get something out of their game against Kildare"
A lot of if buts and maybe's left in this league yet. Im happy its in our our own hands . If another team does us a favour fantastic but we have to concentrate on our own games starting with the trip to Clare. I was delighted to see Jippo and Cian Molloy with the squad Saturday and with Jacko to come back and who knows maybe even Rory we have reason to be hopeful

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 891 - 23/02/2026 12:58:44    2658108

Replying To Afinestick96:  "A lot of if buts and maybe's left in this league yet. Im happy its in our our own hands . If another team does us a favour fantastic but we have to concentrate on our own games starting with the trip to Clare. I was delighted to see Jippo and Cian Molloy with the squad Saturday and with Jacko to come back and who knows maybe even Rory we have reason to be hopeful"
Ah stop with that toxic positivity Afinestick ;-)

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 18501 - 23/02/2026 14:24:30    2658150

The highlights are up on YouTube there now. Refereeing poor imo. That's never a second yellow for the Dublin player and Lawlor's black card was just laughable. Our first penalty was for very little too.

Defensively our organisation still has big issues looking at their goals. First two goals we had two defenders challenging the same dropping ball. Communication needs to improve. Lawlor missed two tackles too, for the second and fourth goal I think. Can't be letting lads run through you at this level. Fair play to Kevin Foley, two goals where he took a good bit of punishment. We probably learned more than they did from the game. It's a positive that Chin was quiet, others needed to step up and did by the sounds of it. Disappointing not to get the result but performance was far more important.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 514 - 23/02/2026 15:13:48    2658168

Replying To Viking66:  "Ah stop with that toxic positivity Afinestick ;-)"
I was fearful at the start of the year tp be honest Viking but im very happy with how the young lads are stepping up so far.

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 891 - 23/02/2026 15:21:01    2658172

xin chao tu Vietnam.
I didn't see the match. One we threw away from my father's analysis. Up against 13 men and we couldn't get the job finished, let a player get the ball unmarked and conceded 60 yards of free space to play the ball in for the equaliser. He was critical of our game management in the last 5.
Its in our own hands, but we were essentially promoted if we held on on Saturday against 13 men. Now, we are relying on a favour OR a win in Clare. It was there to be taken on Saturday. We let it slip.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1967 - 23/02/2026 15:23:20    2658174

Replying To StoreysTash:  "xin chao tu Vietnam.
I didn't see the match. One we threw away from my father's analysis. Up against 13 men and we couldn't get the job finished, let a player get the ball unmarked and conceded 60 yards of free space to play the ball in for the equaliser. He was critical of our game management in the last 5.
Its in our own hands, but we were essentially promoted if we held on on Saturday against 13 men. Now, we are relying on a favour OR a win in Clare. It was there to be taken on Saturday. We let it slip."
We did. We were maybe too caught up trying to prevent a goal, we had our spare men very deep. But the cardinal error was not getting Fanning to take that last free, that ball had to go dead. Likely be the referee wouldve blown the whistle. He'd already added an extra minute. But even if he didnt we wouldve been set up for the resultant puckout before Fanning even hit the free.
But as you would say its all ifs, buts and maybes now.
We need to focus on the next game, and how we plan to win it.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 18501 - 23/02/2026 15:35:00    2658177

Its in our own hands, but we were essentially promoted if we held on on Saturday against 13 men. Now, we are relying on a favour OR a win in Clare. It was there to be taken on Saturday. We let it slip."
We did. We were maybe too caught up trying to prevent a goal, we had our spare men very deep. But the cardinal error was not getting Fanning to take that last free, that ball had to go dead. Likely be the referee wouldve blown the whistle. He'd already added an extra minute. But even if he didnt we wouldve been set up for the resultant puckout before Fanning even hit the free.
But as you would say its all ifs, buts and maybes now.
We need to focus on the next game, and how we plan to win it.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 18501 - 23/02/2026 15:41:14    2658183

Got to agree - call a spade a spade but we had a chance to put promotion in our own hands. Criminal that we didn't see the game out with two extra players.

MyOhMi (Wexford) - Posts: 289 - 23/02/2026 15:42:45    2658186

Replying To Viking66:  "2 friends, 1 from each side, were in Newbridge the weekend. Neither were that impressed with Clare. Both made the point Kildare could've scored more goals, and that the game was pretty close, and was only really settled by Tony Kelly's class. He scored 8 points from play.
Obviously Clare are likely to play much better in Ennis against us, they will be well aware that we have won the last 2 games between us in Ennis. They will be warm favourites with the bookies, and rightly so.
The flip side of that is that Clare have plenty of younger lads that will ideally get tested before Munster starts. If they win in Carlow on Saturday evening coming they will be promoted already by the time they play us. Our game might be a good opportunity for some of these lads to get a game against a tier 1 opponent, assuming Clare will likely play their championship team in the League final."
Tbf, they experimented a lot on Saturday, they probably had half a team out

Don't think Lohan would do that again if they were to go up against Kildare in the league

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 915 - 23/02/2026 16:20:43    2658199

That's one side of it. I agree with your father on the last 5 minutes. We had a free on our own 45 by the sideline that chin took. It would have been better to let fanning take at and have chin in on top of the keeper. They scored from that break. Even if fanning had put it wide I think he'd have blown the final whistle.

Ultimately it doesn't matter. I'd have taken a draw all day from how we had been playing and how far behind we were in the first half.

I was annoyed at the final whistle but within about an hour I'd say the glass was half full

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 4279 - 23/02/2026 16:23:43    2658202

Replying To MyOhMi:  "Got to agree - call a spade a spade but we had a chance to put promotion in our own hands. Criminal that we didn't see the game out with two extra players."
Definitely missed our opportunity but be honest.....none of us thought we'd be anywhere close to getting a result beforehand. Cmon be honest.

15 v 15 in the 2nd quarter of that game we outscored em 1:05 to 0:01 against a huge established team.

We did well for the inexperience we had out there, disappointed not to win but dont make it its a disaster

WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 465 - 23/02/2026 16:25:20    2658203

Replying To MyOhMi:  "Got to agree - call a spade a spade but we had a chance to put promotion in our own hands. Criminal that we didn't see the game out with two extra players."
Promotion is still in our own hands, or have I missed something?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 18501 - 23/02/2026 16:35:44    2658205

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "Tbf, they experimented a lot on Saturday, they probably had half a team out

Don't think Lohan would do that again if they were to go up against Kildare in the league"
12 lads who won AI medals in 2024 played against Kildare. Maybe 13, not sure if Foudy got one. And Stritch is really well thought of and might well be a Championship starter this year.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 18501 - 23/02/2026 16:39:12    2658206

Congratulations to Conor Hearne on making the GAA HTOTW.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 18501 - 23/02/2026 17:00:45    2658218

Replying To Viking66:  "12 lads who won AI medals in 2024 played against Kildare. Maybe 13, not sure if Foudy got one. And Stritch is really well thought of and might well be a Championship starter this year."
It was a good bit more experimental than the team they had out versus Dublin though

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 915 - 23/02/2026 17:48:37    2658232

Looking back at Saturday, I thought before the match that the performance was more important than the result

We've had a young enough team out so far and regardless of whether we're in 1A or 1B next year, it'll still be a young enough team this time next year and you'd imagine we'll have more players to blood through again, I'd rather be in 1A but staying in 1B isn't the end of the world at the moment because we don't have a settled team, we're trying to build a settle team instead

I don't think the performance was that great in the first quarter, not sure Dublin were all that great in the first quarter either but we were leaking goals and we were getting hammered off their short puck-outs

They hit a few wides in the second quarter but out perforce picked up a bit then, the ball didn't seem to be coming out as easily off their puck-outs, the second yellow for their first red was harsh, funnily enough don't think it made that much of a difference to the end result as I think it would've been tight no matter what (As Wexford-Dublin games tend to be)

I think it's easier said than done to make use of the extra man; if you're down to 14, you look to hit their corners in possession and miss the spare man while you drop off against their puck-out and clog the middle. Even with a man advantage, it's hard to run through a clogged midfield although we still should probably have handled that better

Should really have done better against 13, don't think we knew what to do with the second spare man, that's where game management really cost us

At the same time, while the first half was pedestrian, the second half was much better contested by the two teams, we didn't manage the game well but we battled well, we've had some very tight games so far but given the teams we had out, we'll have learned loads, you'd learn a lot more struggling with a weakened side out against a Joe McDonagh side than you would absolutely hammering them

Last two performances were better than the first two and we're less inexperienced now than we were at the start of the league, hopefully we're able to get a few players back and to continue blooding in the youngsters, still have work to do and I know some people love to complain about the league finals being too close to the Championship but I think an extra game for us would be no bad thing given the youth and inexperience of our panel and also the fact that some of the players who have been out will need game time so they're sharp for Championship

And I know some of the games have been hairy but a win's a win, would hope there's some positivity in the camp and the likes of Jippo returning only boosts that

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 915 - 23/02/2026 17:59:54    2658235

Replying To Doylerwex:  "That's one side of it. I agree with your father on the last 5 minutes. We had a free on our own 45 by the sideline that chin took. It would have been better to let fanning take at and have chin in on top of the keeper. They scored from that break. Even if fanning had put it wide I think he'd have blown the final whistle.

Ultimately it doesn't matter. I'd have taken a draw all day from how we had been playing and how far behind we were in the first half.

I was annoyed at the final whistle but within about an hour I'd say the glass was half full"
Never confident on Chin taking a free from long range. Between Fanning and himself they are long enough at it now to realise that no matter what that ball cannot drop short. Or even just play it around short with the extra players.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 514 - 23/02/2026 21:08:09    2658261