Poacher showed his cards in the championship last year after being mocked for league effort. He is a top manager and no reason why ye wont be in contention for promotion again. Great effort after such a trip down.
martinjoe (Mayo) - Posts: 565 - 25/01/2026 15:46:48 2653084 Link 0 |
Great effort by the lads considering who we were missing but unfortunately a defeat all the same. If ever the value of having someone to kick 2 pointers was shown it was today. A draw would have been a fair result. We could rue that yet JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 317 - 25/01/2026 16:41:35 2653114 Link 0 |
Apparently I'm not allowed to say he's better than your lad who left us in a state or question why you keep coming here commenting on Leitrim football.
Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 1697 - 25/01/2026 17:53:10 2653130 Link 2 |
100%. Wicklow were not great shakes. After what I seen today, we're better than I thought but still lacking a few hardy bucks around the field. We're still a light enough team. Imagine how much better we would be with the few lads in Australia & Barry McNulty. Even Beirne might have been useful today be it starting or from the bench. Definitely Barry would have played havok in midfield today. I thought Keegan had a decent game, caught and handled some good ball. Tom Prior was phenomenal, ran round the place linking up play well. Ryan O'Rourke also had a great game, anytime he got the ball he looked dangerous. The backline held up well enough but the 2 pointers killed us. I would also have my doubts about how much pressure they could take, would have been a different story had one of those two Wicklow first half chances had gone in. All in all, Poacher has the team well drilled and I hope they learn from today as we are well capable from what I seen.
Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 1697 - 25/01/2026 20:12:11 2653161 Link 3 |
I have liked what I seen from Poacher since the Connacht championship last year. I dont think we will get promoted this year, It might not be a popular opinion but that might not be a bad thing, the last time we flucked a promoted we were miles of being a division 3 team and thats before 75% of the team opted out. We need to develop a panel that will be fit enough and strong enough to stay in division 3, we wont progress as a county until we can establish ourselves as a div 3 team. I think we are a year or two away from that at the moment. On another note I am a fan of 90% of the new rules, i dont like the two point free, it is a very harsh way to lose a game of football. 3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 441 - 26/01/2026 13:29:09 2653324 Link 1 |
I don't think we will either but I seen enough yesterday so be of the view that we could give it a good rattle this year and hopefully promotion in 2027 if we kept all these lads together and maybe added a few more. We definitely should be looking to get 8-10 points. Carlow look a stronger outfit from the bit I seen of them online yesterday. That was a good win for them yesterday up in Antrim. We have both at home this year and surely we'd good enough to beat one of them or at least run them both close. Looking around the rest of the table we have to be beating Tipp, Longford & London to be taking things seriously. I expect a win next week but there will be nothing easy in London in 3 weeks.
Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 1697 - 26/01/2026 13:58:23 2653338 Link 1 |
We're away to Carlow in the final group game on 22/03/26 actually. It potentially could be a pivotal fixture. We were beaten by an injury time goal there on our last visit. Boxtyeater (Leitrim) - Posts: 756 - 26/01/2026 14:24:03 2653349 Link 0 |
Fair play to Leitrim (and Roscommon). They both gave as good as they got in these away games. Draws would have been fairer results in each game. I expected both teams to get hockeyed, but that did not happen. Onwards and upwards, now.
foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2432 - 26/01/2026 14:44:44 2653354 Link 0 |
You're right, got that mixed up. The last game was down there in 2023, that was a sickener. Absolutely could be, I think Wicklow have Carlow next so will be interesting to see how that shakes out.
Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 1697 - 26/01/2026 15:15:40 2653366 Link 0 |