Club Football Championships - General Discussion

Replying To sourmilk93:  "McCarron should have been black carded for a clear body check also. Ref missed a few calls."
Think he pulled him up on that and gave him a yellow but I always thought that that was a black card offence. Remember Richie Feeney if castlebar getting done for similar one early in all Ireland club final against Vincent's and he was off for rest of match and got replaced. Don't think the foot lock from Brigid's defender was a clear penalty. He did stop the ball with his foot but you usually have to be within reach of opponents foot for these to be given and it wasn't in this case.

This advancing for not giving the ball back is a major red herring that needs to be cleared up before it costs teams in championship game. It was done with great intentions but it can be a nightmare for a ref to try and police. The case in the gaeltacht game the last day is open to interpretation asto whether it should be given and that's watching it back numerous times on video. Teams will be smarter too and will try and play the defender with the ball to make it look like he's not giving it back similar to what happened the last day. Lastly the calculation of what is 50 yard advancement does vary with different refs which is too vague. Don't envy the refs in this situation as they have a tough job on their hands

Gaagael15 (Galway) - Posts: 23 - 06/01/2026 15:57:02    2650066

Replying To Drax_the_destroyer:  "Hurliing not relevant perhaps but for football Kerry,Dublin,Cork,Galway the four that has won the most Sam Maguires. While the most senior club All-Irelands has been won by clubs from Kerry,Dublin,Cork and Galway."
That's probably more coincidence, and not strictly true anyway. 1 Armagh club has won as many AIs as all the Kerry clubs put together.
Like in the hurling certain clubs are just better than most.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 17963 - 06/01/2026 16:00:29    2650067

Replying To TheFlaker:  "We get it Barney. You backed Dingle. Your other team didn't get out of their own county. So you are saying now you are not laying ?"
Of course im laying off. Watch match knowing im well up.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3902 - 06/01/2026 21:34:05    2650108

Bridget's to win comfortably- 5+ pts

Captainfantastic (Westmeath) - Posts: 56 - 06/01/2026 23:41:36    2650119

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Of course im laying off. Watch match knowing im well up."
You must be a heavy better if you are well up and able to lay.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8712 - 07/01/2026 10:13:37    2650136

This rule of breaching the half way line is a joke. That was a 3 point swing for Clogher .

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2535 - 11/01/2026 13:39:04    2650644

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "Fantastic win by Dingle to defy the odds once again.
9 points down coming up to half time, have a legitimate goal disallowed and miss an easy free in front of the posts.
Not sure why Paul Geaney did not start but he and Tom O' Sullivan were both outstanding.
Would not be surprised if the St Brigid's v Scotstown match tomorrow also went to extra time. If it does; Brigid's will win it.

Fair play to TG4 ( Live TV and YouTube Channel) for providing some great entertainment today.

Hard luck to Strokestown and best of luck to Glenullin in the Intermediate final. We could do without the planned noise of their supporters whenever Strokestown had the ball, particularly in the first half. Letting GAA supporters down. No need for it when you have a fine team!"
I see what you mean about the Glenullin support, is there no grown-ups in the club and tell them young lads to wise up. Imagine travelling that far and spending all your time acting the maggot, not part of our games.

tireoghainabu (Tyrone) - Posts: 448 - 11/01/2026 15:58:12    2650668

After the epics last weekend, this Intermediate final is one of the worst games I've ever seen. The Derry team's complete unwillingness to push out and pressure the man in possession is mind-boggling.
Happy to sit back and watch An Ghaeltacht pass the ball around under no pressure for minutes at a time, before eventually working a scoring chance.
Death by a thousand cuts doesn't even do it justice.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2693 - 11/01/2026 16:38:13    2650672

Replying To WanPintWin:  "After the epics last weekend, this Intermediate final is one of the worst games I've ever seen. The Derry team's complete unwillingness to push out and pressure the man in possession is mind-boggling.
Happy to sit back and watch An Ghaeltacht pass the ball around under no pressure for minutes at a time, before eventually working a scoring chance.
Death by a thousand cuts doesn't even do it justice."
After Donegal losing the AI with the sit back stuff you'd think it would be consigned to history.

Seanfan (Roscommon) - Posts: 303 - 11/01/2026 17:52:55    2650683

Good day for Kerry club teams. Ballymacelliogot win the Junior club, and An Gaeltacht the intermediate. Hope though St Brigids stop Dingle in the Senior club final.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2710 - 11/01/2026 18:47:37    2650686

Replying To WanPintWin:  "After the epics last weekend, this Intermediate final is one of the worst games I've ever seen. The Derry team's complete unwillingness to push out and pressure the man in possession is mind-boggling.
Death by a thousand cuts doesn't even do it justice."
You'd have some sympathy for them though, given that they were playing a senior team.

points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet (Tyrone) - Posts: 322 - 11/01/2026 18:52:55    2650689

Kerry's ninth best football team in their county win the intermediate all ireland championship.. again. & Junior.. again.
Who would have thought.

cuttothebone (Kildare) - Posts: 175 - 11/01/2026 19:15:09    2650691

Comhghairdeachas Ballymacelliggott agus An Ghaeltacht!

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 9337 - 11/01/2026 20:01:36    2650702

Replying To points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet:  "You'd have some sympathy for them though, given that they were playing a senior team."
I've debated Kerry's advantage in this competition for many years. No arguments from me on that. It has reduced a bit now, as they recently increased their number of senior clubs slightly.
At the same time, I've no sympathy for the style of play the Glenullin went with in the first half. It was obvious after 10 minutes they were going to get a slow painful beating if they kept standing off, but they didn't change until it was far too late. The game was over at half-time.
Someone above mentioned Donegal against Kerry in the All-Ireland, and that's what it reminded me of as I was watching it. Except this was even worse, if that's possible.
A huge day for their club and they never really fired a shot. That has to hurt even more. I'm not taking a shot at them. They're a small club who had a great year, but I just couldn't fathom how they stuck with what was a clearly useless tactic for so long, until the game was done as a contest.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2693 - 11/01/2026 21:49:31    2650719

Congratulations to both Kerry teams today. An incredible achievement and on this note does anyone know if its ever happened where 3 teams from same county got to the 3 club finals?? Am I right in saying that An Ghaeltacht and Dingle are bordering clubs?

Dothesimplethingswell (Sligo) - Posts: 42 - 11/01/2026 21:56:23    2650721

Replying To Dothesimplethingswell:  "Congratulations to both Kerry teams today. An incredible achievement and on this note does anyone know if its ever happened where 3 teams from same county got to the 3 club finals?? Am I right in saying that An Ghaeltacht and Dingle are bordering clubs?"
Not sure off hand in football but Cork in the hurling last year. Junior - Russell Rovers beaten, Intermediate- Watergrasshill winners and Senior - Sarsfields beaten.

Avondhu86 (Cork) - Posts: 31 - 11/01/2026 22:15:22    2650722

Tyrone moaning about kerry what's new

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 1144 - 11/01/2026 22:19:54    2650724

Replying To Dothesimplethingswell:  "Congratulations to both Kerry teams today. An incredible achievement and on this note does anyone know if its ever happened where 3 teams from same county got to the 3 club finals?? Am I right in saying that An Ghaeltacht and Dingle are bordering clubs?"
You are right, they are amalgamated at every age from u12s until senior

otgarom (Mayo) - Posts: 5 - 11/01/2026 22:22:02    2650725

Replying To otgarom:  "You are right, they are amalgamated at every age from u12s until senior"
Well that makes its all the more facinating. Talk about a loaves and fishes operation!!

Dothesimplethingswell (Sligo) - Posts: 42 - 11/01/2026 22:54:18    2650729

The juinor game was some way competitive but the inter final was as a complete bore fest.
Surely glenullinn should have given it a proper go,it was like they just decided we can't win this..an Gaeltacht win by scoring only 3 points in 39 second half minutes..
I'm sure when the Derry boys look back they'll question what could have been..people can give our about how unfair the Kerry system is but both their inter and senior clubs could have been beaten in earlier games..this happened due to opponents having a go..I'm pretty sure bridgids will give dingle a game next weekend and even though I think dingle will get the win,they'll be made work for it..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2634 - 11/01/2026 23:06:00    2650732