Non-Gaa Forum

Replying To Doylerwex:  "I absolutely get what you're saying but I would say two things,

1. Human nature is generally selfish and greedy so it's perfectly logical.

2. I don't believe the church is necessary at all. I need God, I don't necessarily need the church although I do attend and personally enjoy it."
Plato reputedly said,"He was a wise man who invented God".

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4462 - 10/11/2025 18:24:53    2643895

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Plato reputedly said,"He was a wise man who invented God"."
I think Plato predated some of our gods, so, I'm not sure which ones he was referring to.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1922 - 10/11/2025 21:27:12    2643904

The BBC caught deliberately interfering and attempting to influence the Presidential election in America,
this is the BBC we are all supposed to trust to give us impartial news? I hope Trump sues them into bankruptcy.
Trump was spot on about the fake news after all.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3549 - 10/11/2025 22:15:25    2643911

Replying To Freethinker:  "I think Plato predated some of our gods, so, I'm not sure which ones he was referring to."
He didnt predate our God. And as many people believe Jews and Christians and Muslims worship the same God, while Plato did predate Mohammed and Jesus he didnt predate our God. The main difference between Christians and Muslims/Jews is that Christians believe that Jesus was the son of God, while the others don't.
The Greeks and Romans worshipped many Gods.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 17449 - 11/11/2025 08:11:30    2643922

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "The BBC caught deliberately interfering and attempting to influence the Presidential election in America,
this is the BBC we are all supposed to trust to give us impartial news? I hope Trump sues them into bankruptcy.
Trump was spot on about the fake news after all."
I wouldn't think that too many of the electorate in the US would be taking their political views and opinions from the BBC. They are either Fox or CNN. That particular organisation (BBC) has been having its issues for a number of years now. Mr T labels ALL mainstream media that don't agree with his view of the world and world order as "fake news". As for your hope of Mr T suing them to bankruptcy, what's another billion or two on top of all the other grift that him, his family and friends are making off the back of his second term. But, wait, that's all probably fake news too.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1922 - 11/11/2025 08:58:19    2643928

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "The BBC caught deliberately interfering and attempting to influence the Presidential election in America,
Fox News were successfully sued for 800 million over false election claims they promoted over and over. That's the platform Trump uses for all interviews and pr work. So...................

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8627 - 11/11/2025 09:14:13    2643930

Indeed silence on here is deafening if it was Fox News there would be smoke coming off some people keypads on here

A penny for Gary linekars thoughts

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1737 - 11/11/2025 09:43:12    2643935

Replying To jm25:  "Indeed silence on here is deafening if it was Fox News there would be smoke coming off some people keypads on here

A penny for Gary linekars thoughts"
Good for us that our national broadcaster is squeeky clean, is it not.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 3297 - 11/11/2025 09:52:00    2643938

Replying To jm25:  "Indeed silence on here is deafening if it was Fox News there would be smoke coming off some people keypads on here

Indeed even with what happened the usual suspects deflecting but but but trump did this no balance at all

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1737 - 11/11/2025 09:59:12    2643941

Replying To supersub15:  "Good for us that our national broadcaster is squeeky clean, is it not."
Indeed they are and throw a good beach party

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1737 - 11/11/2025 09:59:48    2643942

What kind of god gives you a rod and says you can't go fishing?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8335 - 11/11/2025 10:10:00    2643949

I don't remember any Fox news lawsuit chat? Did you bring it up? Did the man from Donegal? If not then why?

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8627 - 11/11/2025 10:48:28    2643956

I still find it unbelievable that people think there is a god overseeing all that happens in the world. If there is then he is some craic.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8627 - 11/11/2025 10:54:51    2643958

Replying To TheFlaker:  "I don't remember any Fox news lawsuit chat? Did you bring it up? Did the man from Donegal? If not then why?"
I was not aware of it have they impartiality like bbc ?

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1737 - 11/11/2025 11:22:40    2643961

Do ye think? I'm no fan of BBC nor RTÉ but I have to say BBC Ulster have shown more coverage of all things Donegal than RTÉ. I'd also give them credit for the GAA coverage in Ulster.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2462 - 11/11/2025 11:35:40    2643963

Replying To jm25:  "I was not aware of it have they impartiality like bbc ?"
It's telling you and the other lad are commenting on this but didn't have any interest in chatting about the Fox News case at the time?

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8627 - 11/11/2025 11:37:01    2643964

lucky we have RTE which is fair and balanced

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1768 - 11/11/2025 12:03:27    2643970

Replying To TheFlaker:  "It's telling you and the other lad are commenting on this but didn't have any interest in chatting about the Fox News case at the time?"
I don't believe I was on forum at time from checking fox were fined in 2023 I drift in an out over years.

If I was I would say it was wrong and they were rightfully fined and not deflect to something that happened previously

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1737 - 11/11/2025 12:19:05    2643972

Replying To TheFlaker:  "I still find it unbelievable that people think there is a god overseeing all that happens in the world. If there is then he is some craic."
I don't find it unbelievable at all. It's no coincidence that cultures all over the world developed belief systems in a higher being, independently of each other, thousands and thousands of years ago.
It's simplistic to say that people would believe this means bad things shouldn't happen. In fact, it's to help deal with the trials, tribulations and tragedies of the world that the faith is relied upon.
There are many scientific studies which show that people with a stronger faith cope better with tough situations or tragedy than those with little or no belief in a higher being. From times in the past where families would lose very high percentages of their children as infants, and even basic survival was a challenge, you can see how people developed a belief system to help them cope.
Even if you were completely agnostic, you'd be better advising someone to have faith than not, if you wanted to give them a better chance of dealing with the challenges of life.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2629 - 11/11/2025 12:20:12    2643973

Replying To TheFlaker:  "It's telling you and the other lad are commenting on this but didn't have any interest in chatting about the Fox News case at the time?"
Let's add a little fair play to this thing. Firstly, the only case I remember against Fox in this context is one successfully brought by a voting machine manufacturer to counter claims that their machines were rigged. I'll leave it to you to work out whose side Fox were on at the time. I rarely engage on topics to do with US politics anymore, as I find it tiresome trying to keep abreast of the excesses of the current regime - not that I was a big fan of the previous one either, but at least it wasn't overtly trying to sabotage the whole world order - at least as we know it and one that has managed to maintain reasonable stability throughout the world. With the rise of authoritarianism in the world presently, I can see turbulent times ahead and we can no longer look west for calm cool heads anymore, that's if we ever could - at least for the last twenty thirty years anyway.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1922 - 11/11/2025 12:20:41    2643974