Galway Football thread

IDK I'm probably too raw to take a proper look at overall year performance but maybe it will be cathartic.

Gleeson: long range kickouts were overall really good even vs Meath. Had a few really good ones - one to Darcy in second half and one over top eventually got to Thompson. If we decide after all to stick with Gleeson have to prioritize long kickouts and get quicker banging them out. Short kickouts a waste of time for him and he's too slow to get mid range off. Brilliant saves including 2 v Meath. Needs to be better commanding his square see 1st Meath goal.

McGrath: always got the toughest opp to mark. Never subbed off. nearly every minute of every game. Legs looked gone at end. Great ball carrying but let down for 2nd Meath goal. Brilliant player but needs more help.

Fitz: really stepped up after last few games. Has marked some really great players out of it, great tackling and turnovers. New rules suit him as he's no longer required to carry ball which never his strength. Doesn't concede as much scoreable frees as he used to. Has gone from struggling to make 26 to first choice 3 imo.

Glynn: mixed bag. Tackling has gotten better but getting breached more often. Morris with a lot of scores yesterday which may have been down to Glynn..... Had some amazing turnovers yesterday.

McHugh: has lost a bit of pace this year. Not finding it as easy to break line - visible since Dublin game. Think pace is by far his best attribute so that needs to be worked on. Reasonably solid defensively but way too safe with ball. Possibly should work on getting kick passes as an option as it's only handpasses for now. Great break through for first goal chance - fouled but still should have scored it.

Kelly: actually finding a bit of form with running last 20 mins v Down and yesterday. Still runs through too many blind alleys - will try and run through a wall which is great when he breaks through wall but often doesn't work. Will get flogged with Moycullen this year too as primary ball carrier but needs a break legs are going to go.

Silke: best game all year yesterday - defensively sharp, kick passes, running, goal threat, kicking points. My MoTM. Was looking after everyone's house, one of our greatest. After all talk of him not being able to catch ball above head won some amazing kickouts vs down and meath. Will go down as best of the Silkes better than his father & uncle. (Brian please don't kill me lol)

Conroy: did not get the usual kickout frees yesterday - that did not help our platform. Missed 2 pointer. Was marked out of it in last few games after amazing league. Struggled in heat yesterday. Can't track men through middle anymore. Still one of our best kickers/kickpassers. Amazing servant - can't believe he came back better after breaking legs and won PoTY 2024. Hurts to talk about retirements but I think Paul will find it hard to come back - 2yo and another on way. Very hard to miss out on time with smallies.

Maher: stepped up his game massively going forward. All star level in attack. Brilliant pass to silke for goal. Some man. Defensively struggled - Menton bossed him yesterday as did Murdock last week. Not sure if he needs more help or needs to prioritize but cannot fault his work rate, works like a dog every game.

D'Arcy: some hands on the lad. Amazing player this year - rarely gets caught out on kickouts main stealer of opp kickouts. Has a fantastic engine too. Love the way he has started bulldozing players out of way after winning kickouts plays with great urgency through middle. Prob needs some work on shooting. A bright spark this year.

Tierney: best game was when he got brought back on vs Armagh & when he dominated Roscommon. Not a great indicator. Didn't do a whole pile wrong but way too safe. He is a major goal threat so we really have to work it. Needs to go back to basics of winning kickouts had too many taken off him this year. It might be unfair on Matthew as asking a lot of him - he could be one of our best players but not there yet which is frustrating.

Thompson: actual gold dust. I'm so jealous of salthill having a creator like him. I've loved everything he's done all year. We maybe asked a bit too much from him yesterday - lads only 20 has a ton of learning to do. Will accept no complaints about Thompson. Only small thing is he probably should have put on the gloves from the start..... I know myself though he probably loves the feel of the leather you can just tell the way he holds the ball - gloves are like condoms :D

Finnerty:
Should be our single all star but won't get it. Amazing year. Probably unfortunate to snap at the 2 point effort but can't overly fault him for trying it. Put through Dylan for a goal opp, could have put him through for another if they communicated properly. Visionary pass across to mcDaid for goal - watch that back a left handed handpass across 2 opposition players. Probably needs to put more pressure on opp defenders coming out with ball.

Walsh: unlucky to get injured v down just as he was coming into swing of things - like when did we last see Shane win a kickout let alone opposition kickout. Carrying knocks all year but we wouldn't be at qtr final without him. He can do things that nobody else can do - that nobody else has ever done. Cliff is more consistent but I know he can't kick a free 50-60 yards with weaker foot into wind - while injured.....

Comer: 20 mins championship this year... He's a power house. We had to figure out how to play without him this year but being without him then we realize how much we miss him.

McDaid:
Pulling us out of hell every time. We need a goal, McDaid scores a goal, simple as. Id make him captain right now. He made huge impact was obviously carrying a little knock from down game. He is emblematic of us this year, he always finds a way.

Hernon: as I said in half back review, too inconsistent. Can make great turnovers. A bit unfortunate that his best position might be FB and Fitz has it locked down. First sub off after the planned Cooke/Conroy switch. Very talented though and would not be against starting him more often.

O Flash: as I have christened him. He's put on some amount of muscle this year is a big man now. The pace is something else. I thought he was very harshly penalized yesterday but probably did himself no favours the way he took ball into contact. Has to take his men on every time no back passing..... Can't defend though, that needs to be worked on or else he won't start.

Molloy: I love players that can do things nobody else can. Shane, Thompson, McDaid. Some of the things Molloy does has to put him in that list. Some of the other things he does though, you'd be shot if you did it on a junior c pitch. Maybe hyperbole but he really epitomize the good and the bad.

Sweeney: I thought this would be his year for breaking ball -best performance ever v armagh. Unlucky injury. Big year coming at club back again next year.

JD: new rules suit him. Needs to get whatever injury he has sorted. Not much more to say we all know his class.

Cooke: clearly being managed for game time. Slows ball too much. Passing has been fantastic - shooting not really there.

Culhane: God I still don't know how he scored that goal v down. I know he works well with Finnerty.

Flaherty: mid kickouts are class. Better at shorts than Gleeson. Not as good at long. Not sure if it was just those games but had 2 periods of terrible kickouts where down/Armagh won 4/5 in a row which probably didn't help. Not much between him and Gleeson - Flaherty way better at commanding square & mid kickouts, Gleeson better shot stopper & long kickouts.

Heaney, O Laoi, O Chongaile, O Curraoin: these players didn't really get enough/any championship game time. I'm confident all can make an impact. Think new rules suit these lads they need more time. Unlucky with injuries/selection.

Other squad players that id like to see: Kilcommins, Mannion (Brian and Billy), o neills, Egan (he's class gotta call him Egoat), Costello, Gallagher. I won't explain I'm sure you all know what ye want to see. Open to seeing other squad players kick on.

Hard to know where we will be next year until we find out who is staying or leaving, including PJ. We could have 6 retirements which hurts me to say - PC, Shane, Damo, Silke, Heaney, Cooke/gleeson. We probably have 6 coming through but can we match them?

My own club men Vinny Gill, Ross coen, Dylan brady are class they are ones to watch. Ryan Monaghan Oughterard probably needs another look at hoping for a big championship for him. Daithi Kilcommins is a big guy - lotto plus might know more but have heard he's better than his brother.
Dara Walsh killannin big midfielder. Not sure if we can steal Ryan Roche from connacht rugby but we should try - he may not be making it this year.
Warren seoige and fionn macdonnacha Leitir mor - watch them this year.
McGlinchey obviously but a great argument to leave him in u20.
I don't know much about the oranmore lads on u20 this year I'll have to view a few of their games.

Goalkeepers - I've only seen div 1 league which might not say much. Best I've seen is Donal o Sullivan for SK...... harsh but true

systematic (Galway) - Posts: 226 - 30/06/2025 15:04:41    2622667

It's all very well saying PJ should go but who is there to take over? I can't really think of any local candidate that people would be happy with so are you going outside the county then? PJ probably has enough credit in the bank to make his own decision anyway.

Hopefully all the squad come back. I still think they have a window of another year or two to win an All-Ireland. Think Conroy will probably call it a day though and who could begrudge him. An unbelievable servant.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2403 - 30/06/2025 15:40:20    2622677

Replying To systematic:  "IDK I'm probably too raw to take a proper look at overall year performance but maybe it will be cathartic.

Gleeson: long range kickouts were overall really good even vs Meath. Had a few really good ones - one to Darcy in second half and one over top eventually got to Thompson. If we decide after all to stick with Gleeson have to prioritize long kickouts and get quicker banging them out. Short kickouts a waste of time for him and he's too slow to get mid range off. Brilliant saves including 2 v Meath. Needs to be better commanding his square see 1st Meath goal.

McGrath: always got the toughest opp to mark. Never subbed off. nearly every minute of every game. Legs looked gone at end. Great ball carrying but let down for 2nd Meath goal. Brilliant player but needs more help.

Fitz: really stepped up after last few games. Has marked some really great players out of it, great tackling and turnovers. New rules suit him as he's no longer required to carry ball which never his strength. Doesn't concede as much scoreable frees as he used to. Has gone from struggling to make 26 to first choice 3 imo.

Glynn: mixed bag. Tackling has gotten better but getting breached more often. Morris with a lot of scores yesterday which may have been down to Glynn..... Had some amazing turnovers yesterday.

McHugh: has lost a bit of pace this year. Not finding it as easy to break line - visible since Dublin game. Think pace is by far his best attribute so that needs to be worked on. Reasonably solid defensively but way too safe with ball. Possibly should work on getting kick passes as an option as it's only handpasses for now. Great break through for first goal chance - fouled but still should have scored it.

Kelly: actually finding a bit of form with running last 20 mins v Down and yesterday. Still runs through too many blind alleys - will try and run through a wall which is great when he breaks through wall but often doesn't work. Will get flogged with Moycullen this year too as primary ball carrier but needs a break legs are going to go.

Silke: best game all year yesterday - defensively sharp, kick passes, running, goal threat, kicking points. My MoTM. Was looking after everyone's house, one of our greatest. After all talk of him not being able to catch ball above head won some amazing kickouts vs down and meath. Will go down as best of the Silkes better than his father & uncle. (Brian please don't kill me lol)

Conroy: did not get the usual kickout frees yesterday - that did not help our platform. Missed 2 pointer. Was marked out of it in last few games after amazing league. Struggled in heat yesterday. Can't track men through middle anymore. Still one of our best kickers/kickpassers. Amazing servant - can't believe he came back better after breaking legs and won PoTY 2024. Hurts to talk about retirements but I think Paul will find it hard to come back - 2yo and another on way. Very hard to miss out on time with smallies.

Maher: stepped up his game massively going forward. All star level in attack. Brilliant pass to silke for goal. Some man. Defensively struggled - Menton bossed him yesterday as did Murdock last week. Not sure if he needs more help or needs to prioritize but cannot fault his work rate, works like a dog every game.

D'Arcy: some hands on the lad. Amazing player this year - rarely gets caught out on kickouts main stealer of opp kickouts. Has a fantastic engine too. Love the way he has started bulldozing players out of way after winning kickouts plays with great urgency through middle. Prob needs some work on shooting. A bright spark this year.

Tierney: best game was when he got brought back on vs Armagh & when he dominated Roscommon. Not a great indicator. Didn't do a whole pile wrong but way too safe. He is a major goal threat so we really have to work it. Needs to go back to basics of winning kickouts had too many taken off him this year. It might be unfair on Matthew as asking a lot of him - he could be one of our best players but not there yet which is frustrating.

Thompson: actual gold dust. I'm so jealous of salthill having a creator like him. I've loved everything he's done all year. We maybe asked a bit too much from him yesterday - lads only 20 has a ton of learning to do. Will accept no complaints about Thompson. Only small thing is he probably should have put on the gloves from the start..... I know myself though he probably loves the feel of the leather you can just tell the way he holds the ball - gloves are like condoms :D

Finnerty:
Should be our single all star but won't get it. Amazing year. Probably unfortunate to snap at the 2 point effort but can't overly fault him for trying it. Put through Dylan for a goal opp, could have put him through for another if they communicated properly. Visionary pass across to mcDaid for goal - watch that back a left handed handpass across 2 opposition players. Probably needs to put more pressure on opp defenders coming out with ball.

Walsh: unlucky to get injured v down just as he was coming into swing of things - like when did we last see Shane win a kickout let alone opposition kickout. Carrying knocks all year but we wouldn't be at qtr final without him. He can do things that nobody else can do - that nobody else has ever done. Cliff is more consistent but I know he can't kick a free 50-60 yards with weaker foot into wind - while injured.....

Comer: 20 mins championship this year... He's a power house. We had to figure out how to play without him this year but being without him then we realize how much we miss him.

McDaid:
Pulling us out of hell every time. We need a goal, McDaid scores a goal, simple as. Id make him captain right now. He made huge impact was obviously carrying a little knock from down game. He is emblematic of us this year, he always finds a way.

Hernon: as I said in half back review, too inconsistent. Can make great turnovers. A bit unfortunate that his best position might be FB and Fitz has it locked down. First sub off after the planned Cooke/Conroy switch. Very talented though and would not be against starting him more often.

O Flash: as I have christened him. He's put on some amount of muscle this year is a big man now. The pace is something else. I thought he was very harshly penalized yesterday but probably did himself no favours the way he took ball into contact. Has to take his men on every time no back passing..... Can't defend though, that needs to be worked on or else he won't start.

Molloy: I love players that can do things nobody else can. Shane, Thompson, McDaid. Some of the things Molloy does has to put him in that list. Some of the other things he does though, you'd be shot if you did it on a junior c pitch. Maybe hyperbole but he really epitomize the good and the bad.

Sweeney: I thought this would be his year for breaking ball -best performance ever v armagh. Unlucky injury. Big year coming at club back again next year.

JD: new rules suit him. Needs to get whatever injury he has sorted. Not much more to say we all know his class.

Cooke: clearly being managed for game time. Slows ball too much. Passing has been fantastic - shooting not really there.

Culhane: God I still don't know how he scored that goal v down. I know he works well with Finnerty.

Flaherty: mid kickouts are class. Better at shorts than Gleeson. Not as good at long. Not sure if it was just those games but had 2 periods of terrible kickouts where down/Armagh won 4/5 in a row which probably didn't help. Not much between him and Gleeson - Flaherty way better at commanding square & mid kickouts, Gleeson better shot stopper & long kickouts.

Heaney, O Laoi, O Chongaile, O Curraoin: these players didn't really get enough/any championship game time. I'm confident all can make an impact. Think new rules suit these lads they need more time. Unlucky with injuries/selection.

Other squad players that id like to see: Kilcommins, Mannion (Brian and Billy), o neills, Egan (he's class gotta call him Egoat), Costello, Gallagher. I won't explain I'm sure you all know what ye want to see. Open to seeing other squad players kick on.

Hard to know where we will be next year until we find out who is staying or leaving, including PJ. We could have 6 retirements which hurts me to say - PC, Shane, Damo, Silke, Heaney, Cooke/gleeson. We probably have 6 coming through but can we match them?

My own club men Vinny Gill, Ross coen, Dylan brady are class they are ones to watch. Ryan Monaghan Oughterard probably needs another look at hoping for a big championship for him. Daithi Kilcommins is a big guy - lotto plus might know more but have heard he's better than his brother.
Dara Walsh killannin big midfielder. Not sure if we can steal Ryan Roche from connacht rugby but we should try - he may not be making it this year.
I don't know much about the oranmore lads on u20 this year I'll have to view a few of their games.

Goalkeepers - I've only seen div 1 league which might not say much. Best I've seen is Donal o Sullivan for SK...... harsh but true"
You need to get a job mate

MinorChamp_09 (Galway) - Posts: 26 - 30/06/2025 16:05:36    2622681

Replying To Marooned:  "It's all very well saying PJ should go but who is there to take over? I can't really think of any local candidate that people would be happy with so are you going outside the county then? PJ probably has enough credit in the bank to make his own decision anyway.

Hopefully all the squad come back. I still think they have a window of another year or two to win an All-Ireland. Think Conroy will probably call it a day though and who could begrudge him. An unbelievable servant."
I said 2 names about 3 pages ago - Cian O'Neill and Anthony Cunningham.

I can't agree that PJ has credit in the bank to make the decision his own. He's had SIX seasons and still no Sam. He's in his bloody overdraft, and even having a bank manager as his right hand man shouldn't save him.

streaker (Galway) - Posts: 527 - 30/06/2025 16:25:13    2622688

It's nice to view some of the posts and comments , really soak in the misery

ruckrover (Mayo) - Posts: 23 - 30/06/2025 16:33:35    2622691

Replying To MinorChamp_09:  "You need to get a job mate"
I took today off on sympathetic leave

systematic (Galway) - Posts: 226 - 30/06/2025 16:33:41    2622692

Replying To systematic:  "IDK I'm probably too raw to take a proper look at overall year performance but maybe it will be cathartic.

Finnerty:

McDaid:

Goalkeepers - I've only seen div 1 league which might not say much. Best I've seen is Donal o Sullivan for SK...... harsh but true"
Fair play to you for the analysis. I think you're being very kind in some of the assessments here but I suppose that's the right way to be at this time. A lot of talent there and most of the lads should stick around and see how they go under a fresh voice / team of voices, which now has to happen. Championship level game day / in-game management is costing us.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 1086 - 30/06/2025 16:44:12    2622697

Replying To Eire89:  "Clifford is in a different planet compared to walsh and to be fair to everyone else. shane had one truly outrageous performance in Croke park in Kerry in 22 but has fluffed his lines many a time."
Lots of people comparing Clifford and Walsh let's not forget Walsh is 32 now and when Walsh was Clifford age he was equally as good Walsh has carried Galway for over 12 years we will never see his likes in Galway again I said it earlier this year without him in league we would have being relegated Galway have being bang average this year the so called group of death dubs loose by 7 to Tyrone Armagh hammers by Kerry Galway loose maybe those teams were built up to much ,, Galway need a revamp there lots players coming to end also lots subs and extended panel who need to move on need find players with pace to many midfielders playing in forwards half back line none of them kick ball hand passes back and over id say Galway hardly kicked 6 passes forward yesterday in 70 mins Kerry alway using kick pass i thought at start year Dave Morris would have brought more or maybe he not let

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 1096 - 30/06/2025 16:45:48    2622698

Replying To ruckrover:  "It's nice to view some of the posts and comments , really soak in the misery"
It's great to read the Mayo blog and all the deluded comments and misery over the years...

Belclare7 (Galway) - Posts: 329 - 30/06/2025 16:49:13    2622700

Replying To gilly1910:  "Seriously!!! I would have thought that if you had serious notions about winning the All Ireland, that winning your provincial championship is nothing more than a stepping stone. Yeah we won Connnacht barely beating an average Mayo side, but then we have struggled to beat most sides this year. Sorrry but time for Joyce to go, he has had more than enough opportunities to win an All Ireland with a fairly decent squad, and losing to Armagh last year should haunt him for the rest of his days."
Did we really have serious notions of winning an All-Ireland though? As you said yourself, we struggled to win to beat an average Mayo in the Connacht final, and continued to struggle in the games after. We've looked more open at the back, struggled at midfield at times and both our keepers have flaws. Not the form of serious All-Ireland contenders I'd suggest.

That's not to say questions shouldn't be asked of PJ, especially the 1st half tactics yesterday.

So yes, seriously. Unlike the Mayo clowns who've been visiting the Galway thread, we have a Connacht title won in their backyard against them. And every time the f*****s come for a gloat, they deserve to be reminded of it.

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 921 - 30/06/2025 16:56:06    2622704

Replying To ruckrover:  "It's nice to view some of the posts and comments , really soak in the misery"
There's misery and then there's Mayo misery.....74 years waiting and long may it continue.

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 921 - 30/06/2025 16:57:20    2622706

Misery, like most things in life is relative. Now the Mayo GAA blog, thats where you will find real misery, albeit often diluted with perennial delusion,

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 997 - 30/06/2025 16:57:50    2622707

Replying To Kickitout:  "Lots of people comparing Clifford and Walsh let's not forget Walsh is 32 now and when Walsh was Clifford age he was equally as good Walsh has carried Galway for over 12 years we will never see his likes in Galway again I said it earlier this year without him in league we would have being relegated Galway have being bang average this year the so called group of death dubs loose by 7 to Tyrone Armagh hammers by Kerry Galway loose maybe those teams were built up to much ,, Galway need a revamp there lots players coming to end also lots subs and extended panel who need to move on need find players with pace to many midfielders playing in forwards half back line none of them kick ball hand passes back and over id say Galway hardly kicked 6 passes forward yesterday in 70 mins Kerry alway using kick pass i thought at start year Dave Morris would have brought more or maybe he not let"
Ah Shtop Shane is a fabulously talented footballer but he's not in same league as Clifford, not many are.

We won Connacht without him and went to the wire for an all Ireland with him on the periphery.

Shane just hasn't had the consistency to be put in with the top forwards even before his injury issues in last few years.

Even in 2022 we got past Armagh and Derry where he didn't perform before he turned in the all time great final performance.

Hopefully again kilmacud don't win Dublin and he's well rested for next year.

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1612 - 30/06/2025 17:09:40    2622711

You can do that when you learn how to read.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8142 - 30/06/2025 17:09:44    2622712

Oh, and people referring to Daniel O'Flaherty as "O'Flash", and young Culhane as simply "Tomo" can go away.
Shortened versions of names should be kept for lads that achieved something- Ja. DJ. Micko etc....

streaker (Galway) - Posts: 527 - 30/06/2025 17:17:35    2622714

Replying To jm25:  "Ah Shtop Shane is a fabulously talented footballer but he's not in same league as Clifford, not many are.

We won Connacht without him and went to the wire for an all Ireland with him on the periphery.

Shane just hasn't had the consistency to be put in with the top forwards even before his injury issues in last few years.

Even in 2022 we got past Armagh and Derry where he didn't perform before he turned in the all time great final performance.

Hopefully again kilmacud don't win Dublin and he's well rested for next year."
Or Ballina don't win Mayo???

streaker (Galway) - Posts: 527 - 30/06/2025 17:27:08    2622715

Finnerty:

McDaid:

Pity two of the stand out minors from the last few years Tomás Farthing, and Seán Walsh are now feathering in the rugby columns we could really do with their ability skills , speed and strength.

backtooldwall (Galway) - Posts: 157 - 30/06/2025 17:35:42    2622720

Finnerty:

McDaid:

So as a Corofin man would you think that Kevin O'Brien could take over Galway as manager or maybe Kevin Johnson who of the 2 would you pick if any?
What about Gary Delaney has he potential to be involved soon (in a coaching roll)or is it 2 early for the likes of him? I think it needs to be a Galway man or someone who's living in Galway like Kevin Johnson,

Fox.1n.7he.b0x (Galway) - Posts: 161 - 30/06/2025 17:48:55    2622727

One thing that the management didn't do yesterday is they never moved McGrath onto Morris. McGrath did a great job on Frayne who is fine player in his own right but Morris was causing most of the damage and they left Glynn on him.First half he did alright but Morris roasted him in the second.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2403 - 30/06/2025 18:30:51    2622732

Replying To Royalio11:  "Not to beat a man when they are down - but Galway had that coming. Serious lack of respect shown to the Meath team, was there any research done on in the lead up or was it a case of showing up? We have destroyed teams in midfield since the second half fiasco of the Leinster Final. Once Galway couldn't get primary ball they went short - fell into the trap and got turned over.

Take off the maroon glasses, it was one of the most one dimensional performances I have witnessed. Over back, over back, over back - give it to Walsh, hop and turn, lose ball. Repeat.

Meath didn't score a two pointer, something we have relied on throughout 2025 - didn't matter, Galway let our inside lads pick of scores inside the ARC. Again, was there any research done on Meath?

At no stage did Galway have a real hold on the game, one flurry of scores to pull back from 6 points behind, all when our full back went off and referee decided he wasn't going to blow for pick ups and throws.

Both teams guilty of bad bad wides Meath in the first half, Galway in second. Our keeper had a terrible day from boot left 5 points behind on his own.

Word on the referee, brutal inconsistency on both sides. Extremely frustrating which balanced out.

Anyway, we are at Year 1 and have plenty to do and work on with more players to get back from injury hopefully this season is a building block.

Galways management need to shaken up."
I'm looking forward to the Donegal game fella!

crafty (Galway) - Posts: 268 - 30/06/2025 18:55:44    2622736