Dublin Hurling

Very disappointed to hear Eoghan O'Donnell will be playing football only next year at county level. A huge loss to the hurlers. But best of luck to him all the same.

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4651 - 12/11/2024 20:14:15    2579413

Replying To bad.monkey:  "Very disappointed to hear Eoghan O'Donnell will be playing football only next year at county level. A huge loss to the hurlers. But best of luck to him all the same."
Very disappointing news, a massive loss, Dublin will never win anything until they can get all the top players playing.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2405 - 12/11/2024 21:16:56    2579423

Yep its an endless cycle at the moment with all the best players choosing football - Con O'C, Costello, Kilkenny , Keaney..etc

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4651 - 14/11/2024 10:34:11    2579597

As said on Dublin thread it is not a disaster as we have a good selection of defenders and a few more held their paws up in the club championship.

Paddy Smith or John Bellew would do a job at full back. Donoghue did experiment with putting Eoghan in at full forward but that's really a specialist position in hurling more so than football I think. Few if any old time Doran type bruisers haunting the square anymore.

Good luck to EOD by the way. He was been great servant as the cliche goes and often kept up an unequal fight when others dropped the head. Hope it works out for him. Can see it actually under new rules.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3643 - 14/11/2024 13:40:45    2579613

Yes I think he will do well for the footballers , just feels like another blow for the hurlers. But onward and upward, lots of seriously talented young hurlers in the county O'Dulaing , Brendan Kenny , Purcell and plenty of others

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4651 - 15/11/2024 13:20:55    2579734

What a performance !!! Unbelievable

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4651 - 21/06/2025 18:54:06    2619678

What an unbelievable result that was. Congratulations to all Dublin hurling people!

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3751 - 21/06/2025 19:26:30    2619688

Congratulations Dublin. And best of luck in the semi.
You're lads played their hearts out. I wish our fellas would have done the same.
Great chance now of getting to an All-Ireland. Your keeper should have his pick in Coppers tonight

streaker (Galway) - Posts: 519 - 21/06/2025 20:11:24    2619707

Replying To streaker:  "Congratulations Dublin. And best of luck in the semi.
You're lads played their hearts out. I wish our fellas would have done the same.
Great chance now of getting to an All-Ireland. Your keeper should have his pick in Coppers tonight"
Harsh on Galway. No lack of effort

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 2214 - 21/06/2025 20:34:11    2619716

Unbelievable win! What a feeling, Limerick have been fantastic to watch and I wish them well. Looking forward to the next game with some optimism.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4955 - 21/06/2025 20:36:39    2619717

Get in!!!!!!!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13825 - 21/06/2025 20:47:00    2619723

Replying To bad.monkey:  "What a performance !!! Unbelievable"
Split Dublin in 2 !

In fairness, they were unbelievable today, especially after going down to 14 men, I thought their heads would drop but the opposite happened and a fully deserved win. I hope they make the All Ireland final now.

county man (Limerick) - Posts: 1154 - 21/06/2025 21:00:44    2619730

Ah.... I did not see that coming.

Revenge for 1961 next project.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3643 - 21/06/2025 21:36:46    2619745

Well done guys.

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2952 - 21/06/2025 21:55:52    2619753

Replying To county man:  "Split Dublin in 2 !

In fairness, they were unbelievable today, especially after going down to 14 men, I thought their heads would drop but the opposite happened and a fully deserved win. I hope they make the All Ireland final now."
Fair play. Limerick followers were hugely disappointed but magnamimous.

Then again, you and Cats have nothing to prove. Two greatest teams if all time. We beat a giant.

Others are not the same.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3643 - 21/06/2025 22:05:38    2619756

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Ah.... I did not see that coming.

Revenge for 1961 next project."
Fair play to ye Barney, a great game of Hurling. Delighted for all the real Dublin Hurling people like yourself. Hard to believe ye won it with only 14 players too.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2405 - 21/06/2025 22:09:06    2619757

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Fair play. Limerick followers were hugely disappointed but magnamimous.

Then again, you and Cats have nothing to prove. Two greatest teams if all time. We beat a giant.

Others are not the same."
Congratulations on Dublin's great win. They tore into everything and had to hurling skill to put Limerick away. Da Dublin double still on the cards and it would certainly not be the worst thing that happened to Gaelic games. Hoping Dublin go all the way now in both codes.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2317 - 21/06/2025 23:44:00    2619779

I cried on the hll today. That was an incredible achievement. I have to hand it to the Limerick lads around me...very magnanimous in defeat ..they showed real class...very proud tonight...the lads were just amazing

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1995 - 22/06/2025 04:16:55    2619791

Dublin showed great passion and intensity and fully deserved their victory. Hard to know if they can go all the way but if they play like that for the remainder they will be there or thereabouts.
Sad that so many Dubs didn't come in early. Only interested in the football. That will all change now I feel.

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 523 - 22/06/2025 05:08:22    2619792

Congrats to all Dublin hurlings fans. Ye always had the skill and talent but lacked the intensity and "in your face" style of play. That ferocity was present yesterday and hopefully remains going forward. John Hetherton embodied that. Hurling needs a strong Dublin side.

Every confidence you'll rattle the Rebels.

dakid (Australia) - Posts: 320 - 22/06/2025 05:57:29    2619793