Munster Hurling Championship 2025

It's a catch 22 for cork next Sunday loose to waterford and they are out win and the prize is another trip bk to the gaelic grounds for a munster final.

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1143 - 20/05/2025 15:30:51    2611347

Replying To munsterchamps:  "It's a catch 22 for cork next Sunday loose to waterford and they are out win and the prize is another trip bk to the gaelic grounds for a munster final."
I'd hardly call it a catch 22. Beat Waterford and we have an AI QF at worst to look forward too, and a chance to atone in a rematch against Limerick. Ye are not invincible all of sudden, but that win has now blown ye into the stratosphere. We could be looking back on this by the end of the season and saying it was a master stroke by Cork!

bloodandbandage (Cork) - Posts: 389 - 20/05/2025 18:21:34    2611375

Replying To bloodandbandage:  "I'd hardly call it a catch 22. Beat Waterford and we have an AI QF at worst to look forward too, and a chance to atone in a rematch against Limerick. Ye are not invincible all of sudden, but that win has now blown ye into the stratosphere. We could be looking back on this by the end of the season and saying it was a master stroke by Cork!"
Not only are Cork the best hurlers but they are also the best cute hoors
They certainly have Limerick now where they want them

Yadse (Limerick) - Posts: 117 - 21/05/2025 02:56:01    2611429

Replying To bloodandbandage:  "I'd hardly call it a catch 22. Beat Waterford and we have an AI QF at worst to look forward too, and a chance to atone in a rematch against Limerick. Ye are not invincible all of sudden, but that win has now blown ye into the stratosphere. We could be looking back on this by the end of the season and saying it was a master stroke by Cork!"
"A Master stroke by Cork" I love it.

Well on that note I'd just like to thank the Cork County Board, and the Cork Players for allowing us this one small win. We are certainly getting a small bit enjoyment out of it at the moment.

At least when the end of the season comes and when presumably Cork go on to complete the treble, we can look back at one day of enjoyment and admire the mastery of Cork in picking and choosing what games they want to win and what games they don't.

LimerickandProud (Limerick) - Posts: 156 - 21/05/2025 09:04:10    2611453

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "True Forever and especially if Aussie Gleeson plays.

However Cork hurlers are one of the best counties to respond after being writtwn off and I would expect Cork and Limerick to meet again in the Munster final."
I would agree with you on this. I was at Semple stadium on Sunday and didn't see any Munster or AI winners there. Tipp are improving but probably need at least another year and maybe another player or two. In my opinion it will be Limerick and Cork in the Munster final and I would expect the result to be a lot closer. Limerick would have to be favs going on Sundays performance. I also think that the AI winners will come from those 2. I don't think that KK are ready yet but always have to be respected, and I can't see Dubs, Wex or Galway troubling whichever 3 teams come out of Munster, which is looking like Limerick, Cork and Tipp. I'm not disrespecting Waterford here but they will need to stop shooting themselves in the foot like they did in Semple last week. There first half wides have already been pored over so no need to repeat that.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1628 - 21/05/2025 09:29:01    2611460

ya can't beat the cork humour ;-)

Buachaillbui (Clare) - Posts: 127 - 21/05/2025 09:50:55    2611475

Munster hurling and Ulster football are the only championships worth watching these days!!

TJH (Sligo) - Posts: 69 - 21/05/2025 10:13:14    2611481

Replying To LimerickandProud:  ""A Master stroke by Cork" I love it.

Well on that note I'd just like to thank the Cork County Board, and the Cork Players for allowing us this one small win. We are certainly getting a small bit enjoyment out of it at the moment.

At least when the end of the season comes and when presumably Cork go on to complete the treble, we can look back at one day of enjoyment and admire the mastery of Cork in picking and choosing what games they want to win and what games they don't."
Ah lads, the last sentence was written with tongue firmly in cheek. It's very possible we could be out by Sunday evening.

bloodandbandage (Cork) - Posts: 389 - 21/05/2025 10:30:47    2611489

Replying To Freethinker:  "I would agree with you on this. I was at Semple stadium on Sunday and didn't see any Munster or AI winners there. Tipp are improving but probably need at least another year and maybe another player or two. In my opinion it will be Limerick and Cork in the Munster final and I would expect the result to be a lot closer. Limerick would have to be favs going on Sundays performance. I also think that the AI winners will come from those 2. I don't think that KK are ready yet but always have to be respected, and I can't see Dubs, Wex or Galway troubling whichever 3 teams come out of Munster, which is looking like Limerick, Cork and Tipp. I'm not disrespecting Waterford here but they will need to stop shooting themselves in the foot like they did in Semple last week. There first half wides have already been pored over so no need to repeat that."
'I can't see Dubs, Wex or Galway troubling whichever 3 teams come out of Munster'
Wexford won't be playing any Munster team. Their game against Kilkenny on Sunday is the last they'll play this year, whatever the result.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2788 - 21/05/2025 11:40:04    2611506

Replying To bloodandbandage:  "Ah lads, the last sentence was written with tongue firmly in cheek. It's very possible we could be out by Sunday evening."
Ah I'm only having the craic. I worked in Cork for a good few years and I know that is the Cork humour .

All joking aside, I do think Cork knew the game was over very early on and consciously or subconsciously they decided that rather than trying to put in a massive physical effort in the heat to try and reel Limerick in, to save themselves for the Waterford match. Limerick didn't want a shoot out with the All Ireland Champions to just to survive in Munster and also probably felt they needed to get one back over Cork after two defeats last year. In truth the match meant more to Limerick than Cork

I still fancy Cork to get over Waterford and set up a rematch with Limerick in the Munster final. That would be another great occasion and I can tell you if it happens, there won't be much in it, despite the trash some of the media (and some Limerick supporters) are talking this week.

LimerickandProud (Limerick) - Posts: 156 - 21/05/2025 12:14:23    2611514

Replying To LimerickandProud:  ""A Master stroke by Cork" I love it.

At least when the end of the season comes and when presumably Cork go on to complete the treble, we can look back at one day of enjoyment and admire the mastery of Cork in picking and choosing what games they want to win and what games they don't."
Especially having the foresight to know that a win over us was a certainty. A stroke of genius. I wonder does Peter Queally know there's no point in dragging those guys down to Cork now ? It's over done and dusted.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3059 - 21/05/2025 14:24:20    2611561

Genuine question for the Cork fans.

If Sean O 'Donoghue (who In my opinion is Corks best corner back) is not available on Sunday due to injury, is Damien Cahalane the best player Cork have to replace him or who else could do a job in the full back line?

I'm probably being a little unfair on Damien Cahalane but I never really rated him as highly as the other Cork backs and I feel he plays he could be a significant weakness that Waterford could try and exploit.

Genuine questions for the Waterford fans.

Is Austin Gleeson able for more than a 10 minute cameo? I note the came on against Limerick and he looked like he has wintered well, however he has always had unbelievable ability, a kind of player that if fit you feel could play anywhere. I presume he wouldn't be anywhere near the Waterford team or the 26 unless he is showing well in training. What do the Waterford supporters think would be the best way to use him against Cork?

LimerickandProud (Limerick) - Posts: 156 - 21/05/2025 17:02:53    2611601