Galway Football thread

Replying To Flemenstar200:  "No breeze is ridiculous lol. Was a strong wind, very difficult to score into it"
Yet both teams scored 1 07 and 1 08 playing against the game force wind as ye call it..
Stop lads!

Belclare7 (Galway) - Posts: 188 - 02/03/2025 17:54:30    2594184

Replying To galway19:  "One more win out of the last two games will seal a league final spot, more than likely against Donegal."
I'd say Donegal do not want to play a league final just one week before they meet Derry in championship. I wouldn't be surprised to see their league performances and results 'disimprove' in their last 2 fixtures because of that championship schedule. Mayo won a league and lost to Roscommon in championship a week later in recent seasons. With championship and league starting and ending within a week of each other in the new schedule, a league final is a fixture that certain teams will hope/try to avoid.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3985 - 02/03/2025 18:21:08    2594192

Great to get out with the point, in the end, and although 1-18 each suggests a great game it was anything but in my eyes. I thought we were very sluggish especially in the first half. McHugh made a big difference to be fair to him. The game was played at a very slow pace mostly, with us very slow to move the ball up the field. In comparison to Dublin V Armagh last night which was played at 100mph, I hope I am wrong but I find it hard to see us getting anything in Croker in 2 weeks time.

giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1260 - 02/03/2025 18:23:11    2594195

Replying To Belclare7:  "Yet both teams scored 1 07 and 1 08 playing against the game force wind as ye call it..
Stop lads!"
Again irrelevant go to pearse regularly no doubt conditions are a joke there a lot of time but again irrelevant to today where it was very winds in tuam.

Flaherty kickouts kept getting pulled right.

What they scored makes no odds to conditions.

Galway did better against wind last then with it.

Your very thin skinned re tuam.

It was windy there today not a slight on the place it's better than pearse to have a game

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1363 - 02/03/2025 19:35:27    2594231

I definitely think Galway need to be kicking ball from half back midfield area into forward line I don't think silke , Mulkerrins Kelly Hernon or Maher kicked one ball 2 day into forwards and I'm not being negative it's just we don't have players who are comfortable kicking ball they are a serious running team Galway struggle when tempo of game is slow and referee definitely not help 2 day very stop start when it's high tempo game Galway are at there best ,, it must soon be time for comer comeback Tierney should be back next day as well a draw and Galway be in league final v dubs

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 1012 - 02/03/2025 19:35:45    2594232

Replying To Kickitout:  "I definitely think Galway need to be kicking ball from half back midfield area into forward line I don't think silke , Mulkerrins Kelly Hernon or Maher kicked one ball 2 day into forwards and I'm not being negative it's just we don't have players who are comfortable kicking ball they are a serious running team Galway struggle when tempo of game is slow and referee definitely not help 2 day very stop start when it's high tempo game Galway are at there best ,, it must soon be time for comer comeback Tierney should be back next day as well a draw and Galway be in league final v dubs"
Agree , when we kicked it in we got reward..
Brian Mannion made some great runs when he came in and no ball went in, same for Finnerty .

Belclare7 (Galway) - Posts: 188 - 02/03/2025 20:07:07    2594247

Lord above it would kill Ciaran Whelan to give Galway any kudos at all.The only reason he is against two pointer rule is that Dublin haven't mastered it yet but when they do he will be all for it.Also Galway saved the penalty so give a bit of respect to the keeper.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 385 - 02/03/2025 21:47:58    2594289

Replying To Belclare7:  "Agree , when we kicked it in we got reward..
Brian Mannion made some great runs when he came in and no ball went in, same for Finnerty ."
Mannion was v good when he came on and showed well.

Looking at kickouts today we seem to send too many up for them leaving us short on lads to win breaks

The fact we play 5 or 6 midfielders might be a reason for this.

Sweeney hasn't had much impact in last 2 games.

Oflaherty has gone past him now and must be a starter now come championship

McGrath and mchugh are definitely 2 & 5 how the rest of defence lines up will be interesting, a lot of competition.

O'Neill did well today and 5 points from half forward line too

Still undefeated and today was prob our most experimental side.

Great to have a game in Croker next and hopefully Damo can get game time as he will give us a whole new dimension

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1363 - 02/03/2025 22:02:54    2594294

It definitely was not a penalty to Tyrone I have bring at all the Galway matches so far and I just felt 2 day a lot of frustration with new rules both with supporters and players I think they need row. Back on good few of them even 2 day Galway gave free away lefr ball on ground brough forward tap over free even last indecent Shane Walsh free Tyrone only had 2 up for min before thar if Galway had not got free in woukd it have being spotted ;; listen to Meath manger think he summed it up perfectly it's a mess a cross between soccer basketball and rugby they are destroying our game 2 many changes keep the 3 up no back pass to goalie and leave it at that

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 1012 - 02/03/2025 22:13:17    2594295

Replying To Alwaysencourage:  "Lord above it would kill Ciaran Whelan to give Galway any kudos at all.The only reason he is against two pointer rule is that Dublin haven't mastered it yet but when they do he will be all for it.Also Galway saved the penalty so give a bit of respect to the keeper."
Cawley giving that penalty!!
Just watched it there, never a penalty in a million years,

Belclare7 (Galway) - Posts: 188 - 02/03/2025 22:17:53    2594297

Anyone know what the attendance was in Tuam?

centrefield99 (Galway) - Posts: 142 - 03/03/2025 08:52:51    2594323

Replying To Kickitout:  "I definitely think Galway need to be kicking ball from half back midfield area into forward line I don't think silke , Mulkerrins Kelly Hernon or Maher kicked one ball 2 day into forwards and I'm not being negative it's just we don't have players who are comfortable kicking ball they are a serious running team Galway struggle when tempo of game is slow and referee definitely not help 2 day very stop start when it's high tempo game Galway are at there best ,, it must soon be time for comer comeback Tierney should be back next day as well a draw and Galway be in league final v dubs"
Thats a really good point re the footpassers. For all our ability to kick long range points we are very light on quality footpassers out the field. The new rules make this ability a very useful tool in the attacking arsenal as there is a little more space inside which increases the reward to risk ratio of the long ball e.g peter harte to canavan yesterday, john daly to mstt tierney a few weeks back.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 973 - 03/03/2025 09:25:03    2594339

It's mad that most teams are now trying to avoid getting to a league final. It's time to find a couple of panel players now in the next 2 games. I can definitely see competition for places. Some guys coming back into form(Kelly, Silke, Walsh I thought Darcy was good when he came in), some struggling for form (Glynn, Finnerty, Mulkerrin) and some unknowns( Comer, Molloy, Heaney, Hernon)
That was my first time seeing Jack O'Neill yesterday and I thought for a debut it was good definitely worth a run out against Dublin, I also liked the cameo from Brian Mannion, made good use of any ball and looks to be in the shape of his life. I'm worried about Finnerty, just a free taker really at the moment. I'm actually worried about our forward play in general. We are relying on 2 pointers and placed balls. Walsh was fairly well held yesterday so we need other threats and not just from our midfield and half back line.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 456 - 03/03/2025 09:44:38    2594345

We have a serious squad now and one win from a league final. It would be great to win it. Thinks we have lost last 6 we have played in or something mad like that. Plenty of competition for places and could make a case for many players but the nailed on starters are Gleeson McGrath Silke Kelly Conroy Maher McDaid Walsh Finnerty. I am not including Comer to this as we are yet to see him in league. Than you have likes of Fitzgerald Glynn Molloy Mulkerrins the 2 O Neills Sweeney O Laoi Mannion Thompson O Curraoin Culhane fighting for remaining spots. Very healthy competition I do feel another scroing forward would be a massive addition. i also thought we struggeled in midfield against Tyrone who to be fair havee 2 giants in midfeield. If only we had Cooke but that has been well discussed a very good longe range scorer & fielder. Does anyone know what issue is with Culhane?

Eire89 (Galway) - Posts: 317 - 03/03/2025 10:51:47    2594370

Replying To centrefield99:  "Anyone know what the attendance was in Tuam?"
Think I read somewhere this morning that it was "just shy of 7 thousand". Was a good atmosphere for a league match in early March.

LárBáire (Galway) - Posts: 43 - 03/03/2025 11:15:46    2594380

I presume there are a few here that were at the match yesterday?

Has it impacted on your view of the new rules and how they can be implemented?

I am growing more sceptical every week.

Cbar (Mayo) - Posts: 336 - 03/03/2025 11:49:13    2594388

Replying To Cbar:  "I presume there are a few here that were at the match yesterday?

I am growing more sceptical every week."
All in all the games this year in league have been far better to watch and there was some really existing finishes. I would get rid of the goalkeeper rule receiving the ball past halfway, allow teams to only keep 2 back if if an opposition player gets sent off, 1 back if 2 sent off etc and change the handing the ball back to just placing it on the ground.

hopballref (Galway) - Posts: 424 - 03/03/2025 12:10:20    2594395

Replying To Cbar:  "I presume there are a few here that were at the match yesterday?

I am growing more sceptical every week."
While there are issues for sure to iron out my own opinion is the new rules are a complete revalation adn have made the game enjoyable again. Maybe I'm overly positive but I think that with some of the issues popping up people are not seeing the wood for the trees. Galway people might even be getting an imbalanced idea of the 2 pointer becuase Walsh is blowing everyone else out of the water with them. Tweaks to be made and things ironed out for sure but I am now watchign football matches again instead of watching all the hurling and then only bothering with galway's game in the football., Absolutely can't wait for summer.

Overdahill (Galway) - Posts: 13 - 03/03/2025 12:14:38    2594398

Very impressed with Jack O'Neill yesterday, another big, strong player out around the middle of the field. Got 2 points and had a bad miss off his left foot but found himself in great positions to score. I thought Dylan McHugh was missed in the first half driving forward from half back. Would like to see Flaherty start against Dublin, he has not had favorable games to show us his ability on the kickout. A few Galway supporters were getting on his case in the second half which I thought was very unfair considering he was kicking into a very strong breeze.
I would also imagine Sean Fitzgerald to come back in, there only seems to be one spot up for grabs in the backs in my opinion. McGrath, Fitzgerald, McHugh, Silke and Kelly are all shoe ins to start and Daniel O'Flaherty has done nothing wrong to make that No.4 jersey his. Great to have the like of Glynn and Mulkerrin to drive the standards too.

Sm88 (Galway) - Posts: 2 - 03/03/2025 12:27:23    2594402

Replying To Overdahill:  "While there are issues for sure to iron out my own opinion is the new rules are a complete revalation adn have made the game enjoyable again. Maybe I'm overly positive but I think that with some of the issues popping up people are not seeing the wood for the trees. Galway people might even be getting an imbalanced idea of the 2 pointer becuase Walsh is blowing everyone else out of the water with them. Tweaks to be made and things ironed out for sure but I am now watchign football matches again instead of watching all the hurling and then only bothering with galway's game in the football., Absolutely can't wait for summer."
Overall the game is definitely more enjoyable but there are few issues that need ironing out

The Walsh equalising free where you can take a 13 yd free or move it outside the arc for 2 just doesn't seem right.

I think 2 pointer should only be for scores from play.

Did anyone know if a defender gets a flick or goalie touches it over a shot from outside arc is only 1.

The handing ball back is a bit of nonsense too. Dropping ball like Kelly did yesterday or throwing it back should be allowed.

Finally it should be 3up at all times reguardless of red black cards make life easier for refs and linesman and avoids issue like end of game yesterday

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1363 - 03/03/2025 12:29:12    2594404