Leitrim GAA thread

Replying To Champotime18:  "This looks like an ok team from who i believe will be part of the squad this year

Struggling to fill in number 4, 12 as I'm not sure who else has committed

1. Gaffney
2. Conor Renoylds
3. Donal Wrynn
5. C. McGlion
6. Donal Casey
7. Shane Quinn
8. Pearse Dolan
9. Shane Moran
10. Darragh Rooney
11. Barry McNulty
13. Ryan O,Rourke
14. Donal Wrynn
15. Riordan O'Rourke"
I know wrynn is good but having him full-back and full-forward in the same team is asking a bit much!!

Zucker (Leitrim) - Posts: 156 - 13/11/2023 11:06:56    2512642

Replying To Champotime18:  "This looks like an ok team from who i believe will be part of the squad this year

Struggling to fill in number 4, 12 as I'm not sure who else has committed

1. Gaffney
2. Conor Renoylds
3. Donal Wrynn
5. C. McGlion
6. Donal Casey
7. Shane Quinn
8. Pearse Dolan
9. Shane Moran
10. Darragh Rooney
11. Barry McNulty
13. Ryan O,Rourke
14. Donal Wrynn
15. Riordan O'Rourke"
D Wrynn at full back and full forward.
There's one player named who's permanently injured and has been for the past few years. I'd suggest he is left off the panel until he gets his injuries sorted once and for all. Lots of talent but he rarely plays and there has to be a reason why he's constantly breaking down.

ThePowerhouse (Leitrim) - Posts: 107 - 13/11/2023 11:10:51    2512644

Replying To Weaternpro:  "1pt in second half from our Intermediate Champions tells you everything I suppose the can claim the did better then Crossmaglen lastnight"
they look to have started very well but once Kilmeena actually started to play football they tore them asunder in 5 minutes.
That team would beat the likes of Carrick and Mohill. The gulf between div 1 and div 4 counties club scene is colossal

gaelsboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 466 - 13/11/2023 13:24:56    2512704

Replying To ThePowerhouse:  "D Wrynn at full back and full forward.
There's one player named who's permanently injured and has been for the past few years. I'd suggest he is left off the panel until he gets his injuries sorted once and for all. Lots of talent but he rarely plays and there has to be a reason why he's constantly breaking down."
who?

Zucker (Leitrim) - Posts: 156 - 13/11/2023 13:33:46    2512706

Replying To Zucker:  "who?"
Casey i assume

Leitrimforliam (Leitrim) - Posts: 246 - 13/11/2023 14:18:06    2512718

Replying To gaelsboy:  "they look to have started very well but once Kilmeena actually started to play football they tore them asunder in 5 minutes.
That team would beat the likes of Carrick and Mohill. The gulf between div 1 and div 4 counties club scene is colossal"
I have relations in Leitrim and thus follow the club scene closely.

And you are right, Kilmeena, a small club north west of Westport close to the atlantic, with what must be a golden generation of players could well beat Mohill or Carrick. But there's no reason why they should. It's more of a damning indictment of the poor standard of the town clubs in Leitrim.

drumalee11 (USA) - Posts: 291 - 13/11/2023 14:45:15    2512725

Replying To Zucker:  "who?"
Mc Gloin

theroadtocroker (Leitrim) - Posts: 26 - 14/11/2023 06:30:35    2512843

Replying To theroadtocroker:  "Mc Gloin"
Correct.

ThePowerhouse (Leitrim) - Posts: 107 - 14/11/2023 10:39:28    2512877

Replying To Zucker:  "I know wrynn is good but having him full-back and full-forward in the same team is asking a bit much!!"
Some man for wan man!!

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 925 - 14/11/2023 12:01:56    2512938

Replying To leitrimman1994:  "Word on the street is that Andy Moran has anyone that can kick a ball up training with the county panel . Fair play to him . Good to hear he's keeping his panel tight knit . No paddy Maguire , Keith beirne or Paul Keaney involved this year."
Why no Paul Kearney and Keith Beirne involved in 2024?

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3363 - 14/11/2023 15:34:57    2513013

Going back to the proposal to take some counties out of the hurling league and keep them in the Lory Meagher only. Shocking, stupid idea. If it went through, those counties' intercounty seasons would start three months later. So what are those committed hurlers going to do for those three months? They might try their hand at a bit of the old football. And the football season will still be in full swing by the time the Lory Meagher Cup starts; are they going to want to abandon their new football team? Would they even have been added to their football team in the knowledge that they'd be disappearing to play hurling half way through? My guess is if this proposal goes through, you can say goodbye to hurling in those counties. I might be wrong, but I can't see how not playing hurling is a good way to promote hurling. Imagine telling Junior clubs Cloone/Glenfarne-Kiltyclogher/Eslin "No league for you; here's some coaches instead for some training sessions on League weekends. Good gossons."

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1054 - 14/11/2023 16:15:58    2513017

Replying To Tacaí Liatroma:  "Going back to the proposal to take some counties out of the hurling league and keep them in the Lory Meagher only. Shocking, stupid idea. If it went through, those counties' intercounty seasons would start three months later. So what are those committed hurlers going to do for those three months? They might try their hand at a bit of the old football. And the football season will still be in full swing by the time the Lory Meagher Cup starts; are they going to want to abandon their new football team? Would they even have been added to their football team in the knowledge that they'd be disappearing to play hurling half way through? My guess is if this proposal goes through, you can say goodbye to hurling in those counties. I might be wrong, but I can't see how not playing hurling is a good way to promote hurling. Imagine telling Junior clubs Cloone/Glenfarne-Kiltyclogher/Eslin "No league for you; here's some coaches instead for some training sessions on League weekends. Good gossons.""
Honestly, who cares? I've gone to a few games and to be clear, it is absolutely dreadful stuff. Load of players going around the place with beer bellies. Dire stuff.

timeforachange (Leitrim) - Posts: 85 - 14/11/2023 18:14:37    2513043

Replying To drumalee11:  "I have relations in Leitrim and thus follow the club scene closely.

And you are right, Kilmeena, a small club north west of Westport close to the atlantic, with what must be a golden generation of players could well beat Mohill or Carrick. But there's no reason why they should. It's more of a damning indictment of the poor standard of the town clubs in Leitrim."
Kilmeena population is growing and they have a huge pick. Parish goes right into the edge of Westport. Many people from Westport built houses out in the Kilmeena area whose kids are now playing for Kilmeena.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11249 - 14/11/2023 22:12:55    2513073

Replying To timeforachange:  "Honestly, who cares? I've gone to a few games and to be clear, it is absolutely dreadful stuff. Load of players going around the place with beer bellies. Dire stuff."
The GAA is only as strong as its weakest link IMO. The forefathers of the GAA would be rolling in their graves. If this goes ahead, do not be one bit suprised if someone is brazen enough to propose similar for football in weaker counties.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 848 - 15/11/2023 13:27:31    2513167

Replying To timeforachange:  "Honestly, who cares? I've gone to a few games and to be clear, it is absolutely dreadful stuff. Load of players going around the place with beer bellies. Dire stuff."
I do care and don't want this to pass. I agree with the rest of your statement though. The least the hurlers in Leitrim can do is make sure they are fit. It's a disgrace that players swelling out of their jerseys were picked to represent our county on the national stage. Junior B clubs wouldn't even pick players that unfit.

Leitrimforliam (Leitrim) - Posts: 246 - 15/11/2023 14:24:32    2513176

Replying To yew_tree:  "Kilmeena population is growing and they have a huge pick. Parish goes right into the edge of Westport. Many people from Westport built houses out in the Kilmeena area whose kids are now playing for Kilmeena."
I'm not questioning your knowledge but why was there only 26 players named on the Kilmeena side while Annaduff named 30.

Could the same be said about Annaduff; a club on the edge of carrick on shannon? With many new builds?

drumalee11 (USA) - Posts: 291 - 15/11/2023 17:25:44    2513219

Replying To Leitrimforliam:  "I do care and don't want this to pass. I agree with the rest of your statement though. The least the hurlers in Leitrim can do is make sure they are fit. It's a disgrace that players swelling out of their jerseys were picked to represent our county on the national stage. Junior B clubs wouldn't even pick players that unfit."
agreed. hurling is a skillful game and it is underdeveloped here, which is no fault of the lads playing it, but they would give themselves a better chance of progression if they took it more serious. Do the hurlers get strength and conditioning programs like the footballers do?

gaelsboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 466 - 15/11/2023 18:04:32    2513228

Does anyone know will there be trails for u20s or is squad picked

Honeyman2000 (Leitrim) - Posts: 13 - 15/11/2023 22:55:00    2513262

Replying To ThePowerhouse:  "D Wrynn at full back and full forward.
There's one player named who's permanently injured and has been for the past few years. I'd suggest he is left off the panel until he gets his injuries sorted once and for all. Lots of talent but he rarely plays and there has to be a reason why he's constantly breaking down."
Two Donal Wrynns!!!

index777 (Leitrim) - Posts: 66 - 16/11/2023 10:35:05    2513293

Replying To Honeyman2000:  "Does anyone know will there be trails for u20s or is squad picked"
There has been no trials to date and I've heard nothing about holding trials in the foreseeable future. Don't believe squad is picked and I'm sure there will be more additions to already large group of players in training with the seniors. Everything to date has been collective with seniors and u20's. I believe this great and will bring on the u20's leaps and bounds. Andy is missing a trick though not holding trials. Himself and MG are outsiders to leitrim football so how in all fairness would they know the best squad to pick without trials. Even if they held trials and didn't bring on anyone new it makes sense holding them just for fairness and openness. Hopefully we see a few trial games for lads they haven't already brought in as I'm sure they could only gain from holding them.

Leitrimforliam (Leitrim) - Posts: 246 - 16/11/2023 11:32:34    2513315