Galway Football thread

Replying To SAM1998:  "If Gleeson gets the nod for the final I will not be happy. Our whole team last Sunday looked far more relaxed with Power in goal. I just hope Pj sees sense.."
So it's all about in the view of SAM 1998 "the team looking more relaxed". How did you measure this state of relaxation? Did you ask the players how relaxed they were and would they have "looked" less relaxed if Conor Gleeson had been in goal? If Conroy's long-distance goal had not gone in, Kerry may well have won the match. In that scenario would you then have said that the players didn't look relaxed at all? Winning changes perceptions. These sort of observations from SAM 1998 are painful to read. Gleeson is an outstanding goalkeeper. If he wasn't, an outstanding manager like Padraig Joyce would not have picked him. So also is Bernard Power an excellent keeper. This knocking of our players has to stop. They have given great service. I am sick of the way a fine goalkeeper like Gleeson has been pilloried by people who frankly haven't a clue. I have no connection with Dunmore, a great GAA club. I am just an advocate of fair play.

FatLadySinging (Galway) - Posts: 88 - 31/03/2023 19:02:25    2468046

Replying To SAM1998:  "If Gleeson gets the nod for the final I will not be happy. Our whole team last Sunday looked far more relaxed with Power in goal. I just hope Pj sees sense.."
I suppose the manager has boxed himself into a corner by saying Gleeson is number 1. But he doesn't talk nonsense either, he's straight in his answers, and wouldn't have said that without meaning it.
So I'm expecting Gleeson to play this Sunday. But I'd prefer Power after last Sunday.

jam83 (Galway) - Posts: 134 - 31/03/2023 20:38:24    2468055

Best of luck sunday 2 team and especially our goalie connor. Let the smart comments start now,

Dunmore10 (Galway) - Posts: 120 - 31/03/2023 20:50:29    2468056

Replying To FatLadySinging:  "So it's all about in the view of SAM 1998 "the team looking more relaxed". How did you measure this state of relaxation? Did you ask the players how relaxed they were and would they have "looked" less relaxed if Conor Gleeson had been in goal? If Conroy's long-distance goal had not gone in, Kerry may well have won the match. In that scenario would you then have said that the players didn't look relaxed at all? Winning changes perceptions. These sort of observations from SAM 1998 are painful to read. Gleeson is an outstanding goalkeeper. If he wasn't, an outstanding manager like Padraig Joyce would not have picked him. So also is Bernard Power an excellent keeper. This knocking of our players has to stop. They have given great service. I am sick of the way a fine goalkeeper like Gleeson has been pilloried by people who frankly haven't a clue. I have no connection with Dunmore, a great GAA club. I am just an advocate of fair play."
Look I don't mean to knock any Galway player, but I stand by my comments .And I hope Conor Gleeson is mom next Sunday.

SAM1998 (Galway) - Posts: 18 - 31/03/2023 21:30:45    2468061

Team named, I'm surprised Power hasn't got the nod but Conor has the full backing of PJ and he needs to repay him. The selection committee have gone all out to protect him, I even note the comments section is turned off on the Galway GAA Facebook page, I think that is a first.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 721 - 31/03/2023 21:30:54    2468062

Gleeson has recovered from his slight knock to retain 1st choice spot.

It's Galway starting team that's strong enough to win its first Div 1 title since 1981 all about performing on the day!

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 31/03/2023 22:02:45    2468069

I'd rather have seen Power in goal but Padraic has backed Gleeson. In a way it should work itself out anyway. If Gleeson has a good game on Sunday then he keeps his spot. If he gets into trouble with a critical mistake then Power is in goal for championship. It's just a pity in hindsight that management didn't give both an equal shot in the league. Power looked good last week but it's a sample size of one match.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 674 - 01/04/2023 08:23:43    2468073

Replying To Yondu:  "Gleeson has recovered from his slight knock to retain 1st choice spot.

It's Galway starting team that's strong enough to win its first Div 1 title since 1981 all about performing on the day!"
Galway are bringing new players through which is always so important. They have six new starters tomorrow compared to the team that started the All Ireland Final just over eight months ago. A big Summer ahead for Galway.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2162 - 01/04/2023 09:38:18    2468080

Definitely the commentary on the keeper is OTT.

Thought Gleson had a decent league with exception of goal against Armagh (I think he was technically fouled but also believe he should have been stronger and more dominant).

Also thought Power looked good the last day.

Powers shorter, lower trajectory kick outs are much better than Gleesons short range kicks but Gleeson has the long one over the press in his locker. So it is a bit of a trade off.

Gleeson is top notch one on one shot stopper. Power did well in that regard last week also.

I thought they would have shared game time in the league but it is what it is at this stage.

Best of luck tomorrow. Always important to beat Mayo.......... especially when ur married to them!

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1829 - 01/04/2023 11:03:37    2468093

On the goal keeper situation I don't think it's fair to be to critical of amateur players. Both Power and Gleeson are good keepers and have their strengths and weaknesses. Power has made mistakes Tipperary in 16 and Mayo in 19 spring to mind. It's probably a toss of a coin between them. Looking forward to tomorrow and what I expect will be a good long summer.

centrefield99 (Galway) - Posts: 102 - 01/04/2023 11:40:10    2468098

Replying To Mayonman:  "Definitely the commentary on the keeper is OTT.

Thought Gleson had a decent league with exception of goal against Armagh (I think he was technically fouled but also believe he should have been stronger and more dominant).

Powers shorter, lower trajectory kick outs are much better than Gleesons short range kicks but Gleeson has the long one over the press in his locker. So it is a bit of a trade off.

Gleeson is top notch one on one shot stopper. Power did well in that regard last week also.

I thought they would have shared game time in the league but it is what it is at this stage.

Best of luck tomorrow. Always important to beat Mayo.......... especially when ur married to them!"
I thought Gleeson was showing signs of improvement too. The penalty Donegal got was from another similar issue though. He seems to get rooted on his heels when high balls come in. He's a big lad and needs to be more commanding, time his jump and have a some momentum behind him coming out to the ball.
I'm hoping he was a big game tomorrow, which would further build his confidence.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2039 - 01/04/2023 11:57:30    2468102

Replying To Mayonman:  "Definitely the commentary on the keeper is OTT.

Best of luck tomorrow. Always important to beat Mayo.......... especially when ur married to them!"
Two thirds of the starting team are from the city or west of it.
What has happened the the powerhouse of North Galway that once ruled ?

SixtiesKid (Galway) - Posts: 304 - 01/04/2023 12:02:50    2468106

Replying To SixtiesKid:  "Two thirds of the starting team are from the city or west of it.
What has happened the the powerhouse of North Galway that once ruled ?"
Demographics... and the fact that PJ picks the best players, regardless of address.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 01/04/2023 12:57:33    2468115

Replying To SixtiesKid:  "Two thirds of the starting team are from the city or west of it.
We are one county. Not two counties of North and city/west that's amalgamated. Some people seem to see it this way

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 01/04/2023 13:03:29    2468116

Replying To Yondu:  "Gleeson has recovered from his slight knock to retain 1st choice spot.

It's Galway starting team that's strong enough to win its first Div 1 title since 1981 all about performing on the day!"
Comer and McDaid wouldn't make their starting team? You've stopped repeatedly saying "11 of the all Ireland final team" recently I noticed given that in recent weeks was only 7 of the All Ireland starting team

PressureKick (UK) - Posts: 210 - 01/04/2023 13:11:03    2468117

What a stupid comment, but Galway have to give Mayo a chance!!!!! So we aren't starting Silke, Molloy, McDaid, Comer, Glynn or Patrick Kelly. 40% of the All Ireland Final team.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 721 - 01/04/2023 13:30:08    2468121

Any word on the long term injuries

Molloy
Mullkerrin
Mcloughlin

And had there been any update about Mcdaid. A break will do him no harm. Hopefully nothing more than costing up a few niggles. Players that break the line can change the whole dynamic of a team and are priceless.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1829 - 01/04/2023 14:53:47    2468134

Replying To endgame:  "Galway are bringing new players through which is always so important. They have six new starters tomorrow compared to the team that started the All Ireland Final just over eight months ago. A big Summer ahead for Galway."
Molloy, Silke gone for the year nothing can be done there but to find replacements. Comer, Glynn, Patrick Kelly on the bench should all feature tomorrow. McDaid currently injured and should be back in starting 15 for the championship.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 01/04/2023 16:19:48    2468150

Replying To PressureKick:  "Comer and McDaid wouldn't make their starting team? You've stopped repeatedly saying "11 of the all Ireland final team" recently I noticed given that in recent weeks was only 7 of the All Ireland starting team"
Did i say anywhere that Comer and McDaid wouldn't make their starting team?

Galway published team if it does indeed starts contains 9 of the All-Ireland final starting team. Glynn, Comer, Patrick Kelly should either start or certainly feature bringing that total up to 12.

Three missing are McDaid, Silke, Molloy and their replacements are McGrath, Fitzgerald, Hernon all U20 All-Ireland winners from 2020 and a match and title won in Croke Park.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 01/04/2023 16:37:13    2468154

Replying To Yondu:  "Did i say anywhere that Comer and McDaid wouldn't make their starting team?

Galway published team if it does indeed starts contains 9 of the All-Ireland final starting team. Glynn, Comer, Patrick Kelly should either start or certainly feature bringing that total up to 12.

Three missing are McDaid, Silke, Molloy and their replacements are McGrath, Fitzgerald, Hernon all U20 All-Ireland winners from 2020 and a match and title won in Croke Park."
Grand buddy. Galway have zero injuries and zero excuses. We'll pass over 3 of their 5 all stars not starting along with a host of others. Shur isn't it the best lineup possible and they'll be going gung ho like it's an all Ireland

How are Roscommon prepping for next Sunday?

PressureKick (UK) - Posts: 210 - 01/04/2023 17:23:29    2468160