2023 Dublin NFL Div 2 thread

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Philly McMahon reckons he shouldn't just be back as cover, that he should be back as number 1."
Phillips has his opinion of course. I repeat, in his interview after the Louth match Dessie stated that 2 of his 3 goalies are out injured and Stephen was willing to provide cover. You said it did not look good for Dessie???

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 674 - 31/03/2023 10:00:35    2467920

Replying To sligo joe:  "Phillips has his opinion of course. I repeat, in his interview after the Louth match Dessie stated that 2 of his 3 goalies are out injured and Stephen was willing to provide cover. You said it did not look good for Dessie???"
And I said it was news to me that 2 are injured long term?

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 31/03/2023 10:24:36    2467929

Well done them Dubs.

Had to weather a defense first approach but eventually found the room, had a feeling before the game that if we didn't conceed a goal today that we'd win, Derry would score enough to win otherwise given how I thought they'd setup.

I didn't see us scoring 4 though which was lovely.

Nice to see the goals go in today and even better to see one not go in the other end.

Dessie and co have a lot to do in the weeks ahead, but all in all, the league was a success for varying reasons.

Congrats to the lads and well done to Derry on a successful campaign and a much deserved promotion into Div 1.

Up the Dubs

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 02/04/2023 19:26:30    2468368

Replying To jimbodub:  "Well done them Dubs.

Had to weather a defense first approach but eventually found the room, had a feeling before the game that if we didn't conceed a goal today that we'd win, Derry would score enough to win otherwise given how I thought they'd setup.

Nice to see the goals go in today and even better to see one not go in the other end.

Dessie and co have a lot to do in the weeks ahead, but all in all, the league was a success for varying reasons.

Congrats to the lads and well done to Derry on a successful campaign and a much deserved promotion into Div 1.

Up the Dubs"
Spot on Jimbo.

Looking forward to a trip to Wexford or Laois in 3 weeks time.

Plenty to fine tune between now and then.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3724 - 02/04/2023 19:56:48    2468384

Yes Jimbo, a weird scoreline but a taste of summer in the air today, O'Callaghan was superb.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 02/04/2023 20:00:31    2468386

Replying To realdub:  "Yes Jimbo, a weird scoreline but a taste of summer in the air today, O'Callaghan was superb."
He was cracking today.. saved his best performance for the final.

Onwards and upwards

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 02/04/2023 20:13:26    2468389

Replying To Fionn:  "Spot on Jimbo.

Looking forward to a trip to Wexford or Laois in 3 weeks time.

Plenty to fine tune between now and then."
Plenty to work on, they've a better panel this year than last.

Interesting to see if McCaffrey can re-establish himself

Im hopeful that he's the extra bit of quality on our hopeful way to Sam

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 02/04/2023 20:15:45    2468390

Replying To jimbodub:  "Well done them Dubs.

Up the Dubs"
A very good performance by Dublin but we missed McKaigue badly as he usually goes man to man on the oppositions best player. O'Callaghan is a fantastic player but McKaigue would not have made it easy for him. All in all it was a disappointing day for us but for me the Dubs should be favourites for the All Ireland. Well done today deserved winners.

Jazzyjeff (Derry) - Posts: 152 - 02/04/2023 20:37:23    2468396

Well done Dublin and now the jacks are back in div 1 and I think they will give the All Ireland a good rattle again when they kick into gear properly.
Derry look limited enough, they'll probably do ok in the dogfight in Ulster but I think Croke Park is too big a stage for them against the big teams.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 02/04/2023 20:51:09    2468404

Replying To jimbodub:  "Plenty to work on, they've a better panel this year than last.

Interesting to see if McCaffrey can re-establish himself

Im hopeful that he's the extra bit of quality on our hopeful way to Sam"
Jack should be fine and back for the Championship.
Hamstring is at him, I heard.

He was flying down In PUC.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3724 - 02/04/2023 21:01:09    2468406

Replying To Jazzyjeff:  "A very good performance by Dublin but we missed McKaigue badly as he usually goes man to man on the oppositions best player. O'Callaghan is a fantastic player but McKaigue would not have made it easy for him. All in all it was a disappointing day for us but for me the Dubs should be favourites for the All Ireland. Well done today deserved winners."
Classy post man
Best of luck with the year ahead

Dubs have a lot of work to do, aim now is to retain Leinster and build from there

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 02/04/2023 21:06:16    2468407

Replying To realdub:  "Yes Jimbo, a weird scoreline but a taste of summer in the air today, O'Callaghan was superb."
Dublin is the best looking team I have seen so far this year. Very strong, athletic, and extremely fit. They use the hand pass to great advantage and do not waste time just passing for the sake of passing. The long ball in was great to see and the result was reflected in the score.
Expect to see them in the final this year.

Gaa Fan (USA) - Posts: 749 - 02/04/2023 21:22:45    2468415

Dublin, Mayo are up there. They're the ones to catch. Kerry, Tyrone, Armagh Galway and Roscommon are in the chasing pack.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 02/04/2023 21:58:51    2468429

Replying To Jazzyjeff:  "A very good performance by Dublin but we missed McKaigue badly as he usually goes man to man on the oppositions best player. O'Callaghan is a fantastic player but McKaigue would not have made it easy for him. All in all it was a disappointing day for us but for me the Dubs should be favourites for the All Ireland. Well done today deserved winners."
Yeah but get real here, square ball and soft penalty accounts for 2 of the goals. Bigger issue is Derry's small panel, 2 key men off, and it left holes everywhere. Though Dublin are unlikely to miss so many points later in the year.

points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet (Tyrone) - Posts: 238 - 03/04/2023 08:01:41    2468433

It was good bet. "As advised" as the old racing correspondents used to say, but didn't get on at 8/11 myself.

Hard to know what to make of our fellas really, Looked very impressive at times but 6 points from play in 80 minutes is not going to beat Kerry or Mayo.

Derry will be worried I think. Same flaws as against Galway last year, Can't beat good teams playing like that, Donegal 2011 rather than Donegal 2012 and still short the type of player that made the difference for them.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2522 - 03/04/2023 08:15:56    2468436

Replying To Gaa Fan:  "Dublin is the best looking team I have seen so far this year. Very strong, athletic, and extremely fit. They use the hand pass to great advantage and do not waste time just passing for the sake of passing. The long ball in was great to see and the result was reflected in the score.
Expect to see them in the final this year."
Ur joking right they were awful couple of fluky goals killed the game that and Derry did the same as against Galway last year give up when 4 or 5 behind.
Wasn't impressed at all with dubs yesterday
Highlight of the weekend was mayo players diving repeatedly and ref buying it every time

His not fit to ref high standard games.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 03/04/2023 10:14:56    2468466

Replying To points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet:  "Yeah but get real here, square ball and soft penalty accounts for 2 of the goals. Bigger issue is Derry's small panel, 2 key men off, and it left holes everywhere. Though Dublin are unlikely to miss so many points later in the year."
They could have scored 8, there were numerous chances that should have been put away. OK the square ball and the flukey last goal were the difference in the game but Dublin were far superior in the second half and won comfortably.

Yes Derry have a small squad but take two All Stars out of any team and they will struggle to replace them. Gallagher is on record as saying that when he took over there was real indiscipline and lack of commitment. He shipped out those who didn't buy in and works with a tight squad. Ciaran McFaul is coming back into the fold but he will have to earn his place in the team. If he can get back to his best then Derry will be a different animal. We are light in attack but any team with McKaigue, McKinless, McFaul, Glass, Rogers, E. Doherty and McGuigan will be hard to beat on their day.

Jazzyjeff (Derry) - Posts: 152 - 03/04/2023 13:52:45    2468540

Nice campaign, great away trips and padding out the squad and a bit of tin at end Div 2 has been kind to us.

Very happy with the campaign and how the lads are moving. The first 15 picks itself and we haven't seen at all once yet this year. I think the panel will be a lot stronger this year, with the continued emergence of options in Newcombe, O' Dell Gannon and O Hanlon. Thought O Dell was superb yesterday when he came on - hes beefed up and had a real impact on the game - his best senior performance to date. All these lads are growing into it nicely.

The return of Mannion and Jack adds that extra bit of threat and quality you only get from two marquee players - we saw it Cork from Jack, we saw last week and yesterday in Mannion - game changing.

King Con is looking on it and with the variance of threat i think we could see a very big year from him.

The only disappointment yesterday was Deano injury, we have three week turnarounds so hopefully going off was precautionary.

We're moving nicely, we will be hard beat and for me my money we have as good a chance as anyone.

The last dance may be on, either way we'll enjoy it.

As always Up The Dubs.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 03/04/2023 14:18:23    2468555

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "Ur joking right they were awful couple of fluky goals killed the game that and Derry did the same as against Galway last year give up when 4 or 5 behind.
Wasn't impressed at all with dubs yesterday
Highlight of the weekend was mayo players diving repeatedly and ref buying it every time

His not fit to ref high standard games."
Not joking. Most goals scored are as you put it "fluky". Dublin saw the weakness in the Derry team and exploited it to perfection.

Gaa Fan (USA) - Posts: 749 - 03/04/2023 14:51:55    2468571

First Dublin goal was square ball given that it was O'Gara rather than Con who made the contact, but nobody including the players were probably certain about that until later.

It didn't make the difference and better accuracy would have meant an even bigger margin.

I didn't like the booing of the ref during the presentation. Has Padraig Clifford set a trend? Although McCarthy was not to blame for the reaction of the crowd.

Some of calls were questionable, but the unbalanced Dublin free count this year cannot be down to refs being biased. Too many messy tackles which will prove costly if this continues into the championship.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2522 - 04/04/2023 09:51:32    2468694