NFL 2017

absolutely dreadful . that is the only description i can have of that display . we are very lucky to have a player
of the calibre of john heslin . david bryan was terrible all day and must be replaced . jamie gonoude was out of the game and should be wing back
paul sharry is not yet fully fit and we have no dominant midfielder . alan gaughan was great when he came on and scored two great points
. this is not good enough but it is what i have come to expect . the gaelic grounds in limerick awaits on sunday next and it could be a long journey home

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1903 - 05/02/2017 17:42:16    1952195

Replying To mickcunningham:  "absolutely dreadful . that is the only description i can have of that display . we are very lucky to have a player
of the calibre of john heslin . david bryan was terrible all day and must be replaced . jamie gonoude was out of the game and should be wing back
paul sharry is not yet fully fit and we have no dominant midfielder . alan gaughan was great when he came on and scored two great points
. this is not good enough but it is what i have come to expect . the gaelic grounds in limerick awaits on sunday next and it could be a long journey home"
Tut tut Mick the negativity. When anyone else is negative on this forum you shoot them down. If Gonoud was out of the game what difference would moving him to wing back have made? If Bryan was bad enough to be replaced in your opinion then why not Gonoud? Oh ye I forgot your a pass man aren't you Quinn isn't much better for my 2 cents worth! But you'd have to be biased now and disagree I'm sure. At least we didn't loose, a lot of soul searching over the next 6 days I would think.

Chops (Westmeath) - Posts: 859 - 05/02/2017 19:00:26    1952259

Took Westmeath a goal which should have been disallowed to scrape a point. Some very nasty high tackling as well in the closing stages from Westmeath. Poor showing

GAAman41 (Dublin) - Posts: 87 - 05/02/2017 20:06:39    1952319

Let`s be gracious and say Carlow are a strong team - could very well be promoted. We are lucky there is no div . 5. Without John Heslin today it could have been embarrasing.

jfd (Westmeath) - Posts: 256 - 05/02/2017 20:44:39    1952377

Chops you are off again David Bryan was at fault for the penalty. I am a pass man but not biased . I call games as I see them and if you Are happy with a lucky draw against carlow it shows how low we have slipped. Also I will not take any personal jibes from you

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1903 - 05/02/2017 21:31:58    1952429

Replying To mickcunningham:  "Chops you are off again David Bryan was at fault for the penalty. I am a pass man but not biased . I call games as I see them and if you Are happy with a lucky draw against carlow it shows how low we have slipped. Also I will not take any personal jibes from you"
Mick this was David Bryans 1st league start for Westmeath was it not? I seem to recall Darren Quinn making his entrance back in 2012 for an injured Gary Connaghton against Monaghan. His 1st kick out went straight out over the sideline which Monaghan took quickly and worked it back in for a goal. Should he have been taken off?? Its ok for you to make personal attacks on players but if anyone else does you cut them down and make little of them asking them what would they know about Westmeath football and make out they were not genuine supporters. What I do know is Bryan deserved a chance because he has been one of the most consistent keepers in the county for the past 5-6 seasons. The fact is Westmeath football is in a bad place, there were a lot more inadequate performances today than David Bryans. 2 Leinster final appearances in the past couple of seasons papered over a lot of cracks. We are where we are because 1) we haven't enough quality players and 2) the quality players we do have only turn up when it suits them. I am not happy with a draw against Carlow but I am realistic. I remember the bad days of league games with 100 people at them in Castletown Geoghan and in my opinion the current crop are not much different. This division isn't going to be the cakewalk everyone predicted. We have to earn the right to get back to div 3.

Chops (Westmeath) - Posts: 859 - 05/02/2017 22:43:42    1952480

Replying To mickcunningham:  "Chops you are off again David Bryan was at fault for the penalty. I am a pass man but not biased . I call games as I see them and if you Are happy with a lucky draw against carlow it shows how low we have slipped. Also I will not take any personal jibes from you"
You know what. ? I came on here to exchange a few pleasantries and wish Westmeath well for the remainder of the league, but when I saw this post I pulled back and said to myself, is some Westmeath posters/supporters blaming Carlow because they are in div 4, all teams in div 4 are there because of their own making until the league is over, there is no one team in div 4 better than the other. No team has a god given right to victory but all teams have a god given right to compete for victory, no team won today and no team lost, we in Carlow are not saying we reached new heights by drawing with Westmeath, all we are saying is we compeded well so how can you claim that a draw against Carlow shows "how low you have slipped" seeing as you are in the same div 4 as Carlow are.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 3282 - 05/02/2017 23:00:26    1952485

Look mate, well done on Carlows performance today. I wish you well from here on in but we have fallen from Division 1 to Division 4 in succession so that's slippage on a grand scale. Most Westmeath supporters can't remember drawing with Carlow. That's no slight on yee. We deserve to be in Division 4 but we have fallen a long way and are entitled to be disappointed.

Jack_Sparrow (Westmeath) - Posts: 1057 - 06/02/2017 00:04:03    1952504

some of the comments here show that the football folk of westmeath have a skewed view of the standard of their team and of football in the county as a whole.
we're in Division 4 because that is where we deserve to be

manfromdelmonte (UK) - Posts: 541 - 06/02/2017 07:50:09    1952528

sorry if i offended you carlow man . that was not my intention . indeed to be perfectly honest , carlow should have won the game handy
. they showed more hunger and will to win than we did . i can only wish yee well for thecampaign ahead and if
your team show the same spirit it will be carlow who will be promoted and certainly not westmeath

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1903 - 06/02/2017 08:46:00    1952538

Replying To Jack_Sparrow:  "Look mate, well done on Carlows performance today. I wish you well from here on in but we have fallen from Division 1 to Division 4 in succession so that's slippage on a grand scale. Most Westmeath supporters can't remember drawing with Carlow. That's no slight on yee. We deserve to be in Division 4 but we have fallen a long way and are entitled to be disappointed."
Most Westmeath supporters must be very young then because whilst I can't remember a draw between the teams there have been plenty of Carlow wins!

One thing that struck me about Westmeath was that ye didn't pick what I would have seen (and I accept I may well be wrong) as your strongest team to start with. Not starting Martin and Glennon surprised me (maybe they're not fit?) but I can tell you from long experience of this division that like Tipperary, Offaly, Roscommon, Longford, Fermanagh and Wexford before you, you won't get out of Division 4 thinking you can experiment a bit, or thinking it's an opportunity to try new fellas out. You need your very best team every week. The teams I mentioned above all found themselves spending at least one more season in Division 4 than they thought they would i.e. when they came down it took at least two years to get out and in all cases it was because they didn't realise it's a dog fight in Division 4 where the teams are not actually appreciably weaker than Division 3 and are fairly evenly matched and who can put a run together has a chance but in our case there always seems to be at least two better than us. Hopefully not this year and we might see ye in Croke Park for a final in April.

Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1680 - 06/02/2017 09:41:37    1952568

Replying To manfromdelmonte:  "some of the comments here show that the football folk of westmeath have a skewed view of the standard of their team and of football in the county as a whole.
we're in Division 4 because that is where we deserve to be"
Agreed 100% some people think we have a team of super stars who only need the right manager to get the best out of them. We do not have the quality at the moment to compete simple as that.

Chops (Westmeath) - Posts: 859 - 06/02/2017 09:42:44    1952569

Replying To Chops:  "Agreed 100% some people think we have a team of super stars who only need the right manager to get the best out of them. We do not have the quality at the moment to compete simple as that."
Agreed 100%. A lot of delusion among Westmeath supporters thinking we are better than we actually are. We are where we deserve to be and yesterdays draw shows we have reached our level. Too much talk coming out of the manager too about plans and players fitness etc. If League is the priority (as TC has said), does that mean he will resign if we are not promoted? I'm not calling for his head, i am making the point that you dont go putting a target on your own back by making statements like that. Changing the manager isnt the answer either. We just dont have the players for even this level.

Meridian (Westmeath) - Posts: 699 - 06/02/2017 10:21:25    1952584

I don't agree with the theory that we don't have the players. There is good players in Westmeath but they are being held back by management. Not only are the results not good but we are playing the most negative, boring and stagnant foot ball ever. The management have to take the blame for this. Get Luke Dempsey back in charge and put a smile on the faces of Westmeath fans again.

cantona7 (Westmeath) - Posts: 133 - 06/02/2017 10:25:18    1952589

Replying To Meridian:  "Agreed 100%. A lot of delusion among Westmeath supporters thinking we are better than we actually are. We are where we deserve to be and yesterdays draw shows we have reached our level. Too much talk coming out of the manager too about plans and players fitness etc. If League is the priority (as TC has said), does that mean he will resign if we are not promoted? I'm not calling for his head, i am making the point that you dont go putting a target on your own back by making statements like that. Changing the manager isnt the answer either. We just dont have the players for even this level."
I agree with you on Cribbin Meridian. He comes out with pointless statements when there is no need to say anything. Last week he harped on about Glennon being in great shape, then doesn't name him in his starting line up. The week before he was spouting out of him about the spiralling cost of running a county team, an issue that should not concern him but should be the concern of the county board. Last year he came out after we got hammered by Dublin saying yes we targeted Connolly, rubbish like this needs to stay inside his head and not end up in print or on the radio. Its embarrassing to say the least. Does he deserve to go at the end of the league if we don't get promoted? No, why would we dump him then, a new manager wont turn these lads into pedigree in the 8 or 10 weeks from the end of March until June.

Chops (Westmeath) - Posts: 859 - 06/02/2017 10:45:46    1952597

We need to stop going on about the manager its not really his fault. Its down to coaching in my oppinion and we just need to train better and wiser and i think we have the football ability but our lack of game knowledge is very poor. I think Cribbin needs a top trainer rather than a change of manager. Look at other teams that are going so so well and its down to a top trainer more than the manager. Manager only manages the situation and the real hero the one that gets them playing is the trainer who sets out the style of play and how they learn there patterns. Here is where we are in trouble as i feel we have no pattern in what we are trying to do. Sorry to that Carlow lad but we are better footballers but yesterday i will say you were better trained and beter organised and that brought you to nearly beating a supperior football team and that the key the team that is organised more who train better will get the results.
Please dont get rid of the manager its not all his fault but someone step up and get a good trainer in.

Djkray (Dublin) - Posts: 152 - 06/02/2017 12:07:03    1952661

Replying To mickcunningham:  "sorry if i offended you carlow man . that was not my intention . indeed to be perfectly honest , carlow should have won the game handy
. they showed more hunger and will to win than we did . i can only wish yee well for thecampaign ahead and if
your team show the same spirit it will be carlow who will be promoted and certainly not westmeath"
It's all about passion, you're a passionate Westmeath man, and I'm a passionate Carlow man, to be honest neither of us would change that, and that's good, so no offence taken, the way I see it is from the outside looking in, Westmeath reached the 2015 leinster final without success and it took it's toll on the players etc, deflation set in and they were subsequently demoted to div3, they came back against all the odd's and got to the 2016 leinster final again without success and became deflated again and were demoted to div 4 so I believe it's not that you don't have the quality of players to progress again it's because (imo) there's only a certain amount that lads can take both mentally and physically.
I believe Westmeath are still the fancied team to get promoted, you didn't lose that promotion chance yesterday, you just lost a point.
PS. - - A manager is only half the solution/problem, the other half is the county board

All the best.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 3282 - 06/02/2017 12:30:31    1952675

Our main problem was we went about 20 minutes without scoring after a very quick start. I thought Luke Loughlin looked like a future possibilty but the forward line worked better once he was taken off. Carlow got some very good scores from outside the 40 when Westmeath took the reasonable bet that they were probably going to be misses. Westmeath stuck at it and were good enough to be in a winning position at full time. It is poor game management to concede a goal at that point. Heslin was fouled a couple of times in the last few minutes with the Carlow player getting a yellow card but no free for Westmeath. Overall a draw was a fair result.

wonit1time (Westmeath) - Posts: 450 - 06/02/2017 13:36:44    1952712

Replying To cantona7:  "I don't agree with the theory that we don't have the players. There is good players in Westmeath but they are being held back by management. Not only are the results not good but we are playing the most negative, boring and stagnant foot ball ever. The management have to take the blame for this. Get Luke Dempsey back in charge and put a smile on the faces of Westmeath fans again."
Cantona name 10 players we have in the county of Westmeath at the minute that would walk onto a Dublin, Kerry, or Mayo panel?

Chops (Westmeath) - Posts: 859 - 06/02/2017 13:54:04    1952725

Replying To iarmhi_an_mhaith:  "David Bryan (Killucan)
Jamie Gonoud (Tyrrellspass)
Kevin Maguire (Caulry)
John Egan (Athlone)
James Dolan (Garrycastle)
Frank Boyle (Killucan)
Shane Corcoran (Milltownpass)
Paddy Holloway (Castledaly)
Ger Egan (Capt) (Tyrrellspass)
Kelvin Reilly (St Lomans Mullingar)
Callum Mc Cormack (Maryland)
David Lynch (St Malachys)
Luke Loughlin (The Downs)
John Heslin (St Lomans Mullingar)
Paul Sharry (St Lomans Mullingar)

Strange enough team, would've thought Martin and Dempsey would be starters"
David Bryan (Killucan)
Kevin Maguire (Caulry)
John Egan (Athlone)
Frank Boyle (Killucan)
Shane Corcoran (Milltownpass)
Paddy Holloway (Castledaly)
Luke Loughlin (The Downs)

Strange enough team, would've thought Martin and Dempsey would be starters

for me management thought game was going to be easy win, we have to win game first then introduce in newer lads see how they are doing, first league game and for me to many changes from a fairly settle team, I would not be hard on any player who gives there time for county but for any player in the full forward line it must be so hard. looking down field you see your team breaking at speed up the field then once they get to the oppositions 45 stop cross pitch and pass it back. all this did was allow carlow get bodies back

David Bryan (Killucan) not much in it with D Quinn but his kick outs struggle to pass the 45 even in byrne cups game v louth i think 2 went pass 45. other teams will press up on kick outs and this will cause bigger problems against stronger teams
Kevin Maguire (Caulry)
John Egan (Athlone) first time i remember him named as corner back usually half forward where he work extremely hard and wins lots of loose ball
Frank Boyle (Killucan) usually corner back
Shane Corcoran (Milltownpass) was it his first start
Paddy Holloway (Castledaly) usually starts at half back, did well but even though he is tall seems a big light for midfield
Luke Loughlin (The Downs) first league start will got have done confidence any good, better if introduce if winning and get a few simple scores at county level

madbull (Westmeath) - Posts: 195 - 06/02/2017 14:12:52    1952738