This topic has been closed. No further posting is allowed.
Replying To hill16no1man: "Hey no I haven't been effected by alcohol personally really I just know it has no benifits that come from it. but I posted here not from an alcohol point of view, it was a post describing the match day experience got to do with going to a rugby match, I didn't want it to be an alcohol debate, I just wanted to describe what I experienced as an event as a whole on and off the pitch. look like I understand your entitled to drink but why not just go to the pub to socialise as i just felt the majority were not really interested in the actual sport taken place and as much as you say its a social event surely the reason for going to watch a sports match should be about the players on the pitch and the sport itself, if that's not enough entertainment then maybe just go to the pub that way your not annoying the people who are there to watch the action on the pitch. You can still take a passing interest in the match with on the tv in the pub and socialise to your heart's content. It's ironic the same people that were frustrating going up and down to the bar making you have to move and causing alcohol to spill on you were the ones when a penalty or conversion was going to be taken shushhing everybody around them haha" You are a biased reporter. You paint a negative picture of the Thomond Park match. There was 26000 at it and you use words and phrases like 'maori were put together' ect but I agree Alcohol is a scourge. I think that in Thomond your supposed to drink under the stands but its not enforced. Irish people have a tragic history with alcohol and we really need strict public messages and laws about it. Please dont compare us to Europeans. Our drinking culture is a disaster.
bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 13/11/2016 19:53:22
Replying To hill16no1man: "Hey no I haven't been effected by alcohol personally really I just know it has no benifits that come from it. but I posted here not from an alcohol point of view, it was a post describing the match day experience got to do with going to a rugby match, I didn't want it to be an alcohol debate, I just wanted to describe what I experienced as an event as a whole on and off the pitch. look like I understand your entitled to drink but why not just go to the pub to socialise as i just felt the majority were not really interested in the actual sport taken place and as much as you say its a social event surely the reason for going to watch a sports match should be about the players on the pitch and the sport itself, if that's not enough entertainment then maybe just go to the pub that way your not annoying the people who are there to watch the action on the pitch. You can still take a passing interest in the match with on the tv in the pub and socialise to your heart's content. It's ironic the same people that were frustrating going up and down to the bar making you have to move and causing alcohol to spill on you were the ones when a penalty or conversion was going to be taken shushhing everybody around them haha" Rugby always had good nightlife. Cork had Highfield and dolphin nightclubs when I was a teenager and attracted the finest women. GAA on the other hand was dull..... I went to all hurling schools and grew up in hurling/soccer area,but got interested in rugby in early 20's. I do not have any issues with swilling beer at Munster games..aren't we having fun? Rugby has a lot of well off people playing their game...but the present Dubs team isn't doing too bad with the Brogans..McAfferty,Bastick,Mcauley and Mannion. Rugby in Limerick..Wales and New Zealand is played by all...nothing better than the sight of JPR williams or Moss Keane thundering down the field.
Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 13/11/2016 20:03:05
Replying To Rockies: "Cork hurlers lost Darren Sweetnam, Tomas O' Leary and Simon Zebo to hurling. Simon was a very good underage player with Blackrock. Tomas (Seanie's son) was an excellent hurler. Maybe we could have Munster play a few games in the new Pairc ......would fill it up." Doubt they would fill it There attendances have dropped significantly over last five years, they are a few million down on gate receipts and had to get a write off for this years loan repayments to the irfu
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 13/11/2016 20:03:14
Replying To bloodyban: "You are a biased reporter. You paint a negative picture of the Thomond Park match. There was 26000 at it and you use words and phrases like 'maori were put together' ect but I agree Alcohol is a scourge. I think that in Thomond your supposed to drink under the stands but its not enforced. Irish people have a tragic history with alcohol and we really need strict public messages and laws about it. Please dont compare us to Europeans. Our drinking culture is a disaster." I gave an honest opinion which stated I actually enjoyed what happened on the pitch despite terrible conditions and I don't get out how painting the obvious that the Maori selection who are a selection of players with distinct Maori heritage picked to play together looked just that not cohesive and not a team who had an understanding as a group. Where as munster wanted to win the match far more and looked far more cohesive as a unit and had a clear understanding of the style they wanted to play.
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 13/11/2016 20:16:48
In relation to this so called famous victory in Soldiers field in Chicago I just wonder had the A B a full team out Something tells me that several reserves were played tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts:2797 - 11/11/2016 20:19:15 The New Zealanders had a full team out. Why wouldn't they? Waterford hurler Jack O'Donoghue is a once off and a coeincidence. Scallioneater (Carlow) - Posts:262 - 11/11/2016 21:09:13Based on what... your extensive knowledge of munster underage and academy rugby. There has been very few munster academy and contracted players from Waterford. Yet since Jack joined academy he's been joined in academy by Steve McMahon from Dungarvan and there is several more Waterford natives in provincial sub academies In Connacht and Munster
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 13/11/2016 20:19:23
The rugby lads on this thread want us to believe that ALL rugby internationals are important. Yet, Ireland fields a reserve team today against Canada, with no less than 15 changes from the NZ game. Now, they also frequently say that the GAA managers don't take the national league seriously- I know of no serious modern GAA manager who would treat a national league game like this (or show such disrespect to an opponent, for that matter). It would make you wonder- maybe NZ hold us in the same regard as we hold Canada?? football first (All) - Posts:1034 - 12/11/2016 10:43:29Yes lots of changes but that doesn't mean the game isn't important. Do we not see GAA managers saying all too often about league only preparation for championship and so do so many posters here.
In answer to the question in the topic head, I don't think it will in the long term. Cultural change is happening relentlessly. Rugby is a 9 month season and it is increasingly winning over the hearts and minds of the sporting public. The GAA, in terms of commanding national attention is a 3 month season at most. I think that is how our cultural life will evolve into the future: 75% of the time a rugby- obsessed people and the other 25% of the time with our attention focussed on Gaelic games, during the period of the year when professional rugby is in the off season. Back in the time when Moss Keane was in his prime, it was often said (and I think he joked about it himself) that rugby was played by fellas who were not good enough to make it as inter county footballers. That comment used to be made half humourously, but there was a lot of truth in it. Now the shoe is very firmly on the other foot -- if a top class GAA player is good at rugby and has a chance to make a career in the sport, even if not at the very top level, he will choose rugby every time. Numerous promising Gaa players have made that jump in recent years and many more will do it in the future. There is little doubt in my mind that in 50 years time rugby will be the No.1 sport in Ireland (almost to the extent it is No.1 in New Zealand). I'm saying this as someone who has zilch interest in rugby and for whom it will always be on the edge of my consciousness, but I cannot fail to see the cultural shift that is happening before my eyes. PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts:497 - 12/11/2016 11:20:10 Rugby is not going to be no1 in Ireland in 50 years and sport wont be to anything like it is in New Zealand.
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 13/11/2016 20:23:50
Replying To Rockies: "Rugby always had good nightlife. Cork had Highfield and dolphin nightclubs when I was a teenager and attracted the finest women. GAA on the other hand was dull..... I went to all hurling schools and grew up in hurling/soccer area,but got interested in rugby in early 20's. I do not have any issues with swilling beer at Munster games..aren't we having fun? Rugby has a lot of well off people playing their game...but the present Dubs team isn't doing too bad with the Brogans..McAfferty,Bastick,Mcauley and Mannion. Rugby in Limerick..Wales and New Zealand is played by all...nothing better than the sight of JPR williams or Moss Keane thundering down the field." I don't get what your trying to respond about? Talking about nightlife is only making it more about what happens off the pitch and not on the pitch like they are not being entertained enough that you need to as you say be swilling alcohol to enjoy it. nobody is talking about well to do individuals we were saying rugby in Dublin as in the clubs make it all but solely inclusive that they only want those individuals in their club. As in they don't want anybody but these people to be involved where as the players clubs you mentioned in gaa don't have an inclusive policy as they have an open door for all people who want to play for the clubs.
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 13/11/2016 20:24:14
Replying To hill16no1man: "I don't get what your trying to respond about? Talking about nightlife is only making it more about what happens off the pitch and not on the pitch like they are not being entertained enough that you need to as you say be swilling alcohol to enjoy it. nobody is talking about well to do individuals we were saying rugby in Dublin as in the clubs make it all but solely inclusive that they only want those individuals in their club. As in they don't want anybody but these people to be involved where as the players clubs you mentioned in gaa don't have an inclusive policy as they have an open door for all people who want to play for the clubs." That has been true in the past. ..rugby in Cork for example was played by students from Christians and Pres....who tended to be a bit toffee nosed
I the future I think you will see all talented players playing rugby...from all walks of life....like what happens in Wales ...New Zealand and Limerick..
It is also professional...if successful is quite lucrative
Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 13/11/2016 20:37:23
I remember the days of the ban...GAA players attended soccer or rugby games in disguise. Jimmy Barry Murphy and Con Roche got lengthy suspensions for attending the "garrison game" At least,,,,we will never revert to that
Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 13/11/2016 21:00:39
Replying To Rockies: "I remember the days of the ban...GAA players attended soccer or rugby games in disguise. Jimmy Barry Murphy and Con Roche got lengthy suspensions for attending the "garrison game" At least,,,,we will never revert to that" ger cunningham must be doing the opposite sending a look a like to the dublin championship games judging by his panel selection haha stubborn cork men eh haha
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 13/11/2016 21:22:26
Don't know what the fascination is with managers from the Barrs....Donal O'Grady, John Allen, Gerald McCarthy, John Meyler, Con Roche and now Ger Cunningham...Dublin should get a Kilkennyman
Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 13/11/2016 21:54:56
Whatever about Cork's woes in hurling....Dublin really should do better. I like a lot of their players..good stickmen and play with a lot of fire. They lack a cohesiveness that a Brian Cody could give them Jimmy Barry Murphy (another barrs manager) gave Cork that cohesiveness for a year or 2 I know this digresses away from the topic....but as long as the GAA flourishes in Dublin..I do not see a problem. The population and thus gate revenue comes from them GAA popularity in Dublin is high....I remember a different story in the not too distant past
Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 13/11/2016 22:01:37
0It must surely frustrate the actual hardcore supporters who go to the matches to watch and enjoy the action on the pitch that they have to put up with making room for others to constantly stream out to the bar and bring alcochol back up spilling more and more around them as the game goes on. hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts:11353 - 12/11/2016 19:48:24 1933840
yeah it does, if you want to drink and watch a game - go to a pub or do it at home, im going there to watch the game and cheer my team. And i aint teetotal either. I dont mind before or after game , but not during
its on the match programme and on signs around stadium that you cant drink alcohol into stadium but they aint enforcing it , was at the game myself in terracing at the cheap side, i didnt think it was a bad as hillman suggests but to be honest i was focused on the game, and would be more attuned to the drinking culture around rugby . I never make room for anybody carrying drink, you want to bring in drink dont expect me to move and miss the game. Alway baffled me at munster away games to see guys who spent hundreds of euro travelling over and them spending 10/15 mins during game queueing for drink, also remember clermont fans bringing their own wine
Rugby wise it aint exclusive to munster rugby - happens in other sports too - look at darts!!,happens in GAA but at least the GAA ahve the cop on not to leave it in the stadium, even happens when people go to concerts/shows theatre
as i just felt the majority were not really interested in the actual sport taken place i think thats a bit harsh, to me the majority were very interested in game , the atmosphere was fantastic the crowd really got behind the teamand the team responded, only in limerick would you get 26k for a game like that, was there with my dad and two kids - its a memory we will all cherish for the rest of our lives
I wonder if they did like they do with hill16 and make you have to consume the alcohol underneath the terraces at the bar would they loose an awful lot of people from attending matches as it seems a very big part of the whole rugby event. Id say probably not , could mean some people missing first 5 mins of first/second half, sadly maybe its now part of pro sport -make money from the bars
I was on the terrace at side of the pitch and most glaring thing of the whole experience didnt happen on the pitch at all. The most glaring thing for me was the magnificent gesture of the maori in before the game laying out the jersey with AF on it and letting Axles (RIP) kids take the jersey.
janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 14/11/2016 23:19:29
Remember years ago going to watch billy connolly in dublin. I lovce billy think he is brilliant. I didnt drink alcohol before the show and didnt drink too much water before it for obvious reasons. While you couldnt buy liquor during the show you could buy say four pints before the show and bring them in to the auditorium and drink them yourself. Hence throughout the show people were traipsing up and down to the loo, Billy was telling stories and stopping when people were moving, and generally taking the piss out of them (pun) as they walked to and from the loo, after a while he stops and say - do people in ireland not piss at home anymore , had it all in stitches he did
janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 14/11/2016 23:27:05
Two things I noticed on.the Rte doc re rugby team, when Rory best was playing with his kids in.back garden he had gaa goalposts in back, also.the kit man's room had studs, pliers chocolate and.... holy water!!! Only in.Ireland eh!
janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 14/11/2016 23:48:59
I hope hillman you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful city, despite the rain , well this.is the city of Angeles Ashes!
janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 14/11/2016 23:51:37
janesboro
I agree cant understand the need for alcohol while your there watching the game surely you paid the money to see the match not drink, they can do that for free in the pub like you said haha i was right at an exit on the steps that they kept coming down so was no choice but move a bit each time or have the drink spilled on me when they tried brushing past me. im not saying alcohol is only a rugby problem but its first time i have seen to a degree freely taken vast amounts like that up to were you watch a match, darts is a bit different in fairness it was a pub game before it ever became professional, sure its less than 20 years since the players themselves were drinking alcohol while playing, the sport has come a long way in a very short space of time but its limited viewing areas are a huge problem to attract people to go to the event so the pub atmosphere has to be retained to make the numbers go as otherwise your only paying money to watch a tv screen which you do the same thing at home. when i said the majority i should have stated the majority around where i was standing.
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 15/11/2016 14:55:10
janesboro yeah was a nice touch the jersey but in fairness I was already expecting a kind of tribute to be done seen as it has been done for most rugby games over last three weeks and was posting more as a match day experince at rugby point of view.
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 15/11/2016 14:58:15
Replying To janesboro: "I hope hillman you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful city, despite the rain , well this.is the city of Angeles Ashes!" im always in limerick as im married to a limerick woman I know only too well the rain it never stops there probably one of the only things frank mccourt got right with his book im led to believe but thats for another day haha
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 15/11/2016 15:01:03
Replying To janesboro: "Remember years ago going to watch billy connolly in dublin. I lovce billy think he is brilliant. I didnt drink alcohol before the show and didnt drink too much water before it for obvious reasons. While you couldnt buy liquor during the show you could buy say four pints before the show and bring them in to the auditorium and drink them yourself. Hence throughout the show people were traipsing up and down to the loo, Billy was telling stories and stopping when people were moving, and generally taking the piss out of them (pun) as they walked to and from the loo, after a while he stops and say - do people in ireland not piss at home anymore , had it all in stitches he did" yeah if you ever read dub sub confidential by the ex dublin sub keeper john leonard he mentions a meeting with billy connolly in it, its actually a brilliant book too sport only makes up a part of it his life story is well worth the read. I posted on the drinking ban culture thread a link to an article in sundays paper you should take a read its pretty informative about a certain oohh ahhh paul mcgrath vs tyrones cathal mccaronn on how different the public treats pretty much the same problem of addiction.
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 15/11/2016 15:05:33