Dublin v Mayo - All Ireland Football Final 2016

On the evidence of this year there can only be one winner but we know this Mayo team normally give one big performance every year, we can only hope they have saved their best until last. Come on Mayo!!!

JamesH (Mayo) - Posts: 465 - 30/08/2016 19:20:57    1908317

Replying To MedwayIrish:  "Flaker, I understand your wish for the lack of bullshit comments but if that's what you're looking for, on this site of all places, do you not think you'd have more luck selling ice to the eskimos?? End of the day I view this place as a massive pub where everyone winds each other up and that ain't gonna change any time soon. Also, I notice you've bitten at least once on every one of these threads which invites parallels to..........a certain rugby poster. Just saying!"
You think my quality of posting is similar? I hope not. And yes I understand your point but this place really is gone to the pits. People setting up about 40 threads on the same topic just worded a different way. It's dreadful. And yes I do bite, but I would like to think my views are not rants and going against almost everybody as some certain posters tend to do!

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7931 - 30/08/2016 20:08:37    1908340

Over the last 3 years these have been the 1st & 2nd best teams in the Country so expect a good battle.

Its never been set up better for Mayo - low expectations from all, Dublin elevated to the hilt. It wouldn't surprise me if this was finally their year!

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1445 - 30/08/2016 20:18:04    1908346

Replying To TheFlaker:  "You think my quality of posting is similar? I hope not. And yes I understand your point but this place really is gone to the pits. People setting up about 40 threads on the same topic just worded a different way. It's dreadful. And yes I do bite, but I would like to think my views are not rants and going against almost everybody as some certain posters tend to do!"
To quote Harry Enfields Scousers; eh, eh, calm down, calm down! No, content of posts etc I wouldn't draw a parallel there....at all....all I'm saying is, if it's pissing you off this much now what are you going to be like in a fortnight? There's going to be another 20 of these threads at least. Easy for me to say I know, je suis Suisse once Wexford are knocked out.

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 30/08/2016 20:25:15    1908350

Replying To realdub:  "Yeh bleedin watch it yew_tree or we'll kick da bleedin head off ya!"
Lol some langer and his mate said something similar to me a few hours before the Ireland v Italy game at Croker in 09 down by the canal that runs parallel to the north circular. He thought I had free tickets for them. I did tell him he was welcome to try but he not so politely declined. Probably just as well. He could've been carrying but at the time I wasn't too bothered. You know the moment; you've had the magic 3 pints which means you're fully in control of your faculties with a little energy boost yet, best of both worlds.

To balance this out, that's the only time I've been threatened in Dublin though on well over 30/40 visits.

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 30/08/2016 20:31:34    1908351

Replying To superbluedub:  "Rubbish post again!!this game will go to the wire as you well know"
Quite the psychologist there lad, you seem to know me better than I know myself. Ease up on watching Criminal Minds and you'll be back to yourself in no time!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 30/08/2016 20:32:46    1908352

Replying To MedwayIrish:  "Lol some langer and his mate said something similar to me a few hours before the Ireland v Italy game at Croker in 09 down by the canal that runs parallel to the north circular. He thought I had free tickets for them. I did tell him he was welcome to try but he not so politely declined. Probably just as well. He could've been carrying but at the time I wasn't too bothered. You know the moment; you've had the magic 3 pints which means you're fully in control of your faculties with a little energy boost yet, best of both worlds.

To balance this out, that's the only time I've been threatened in Dublin though on well over 30/40 visits."
Lol I wasn't actually thinking you were comparing me by the way. Problem with typing is you can't tell my mood, so apologies if you thought I was biting back at you there! I actually don't get that angry whilst replying to idiotic posts, I just somehow hope they eventually acknowledge how idiotic their post is! To be fair there are a lot of good posters on here, all in all there might be 10 who I think are literally clueless on most topics to the point where I often hope they are trolls!

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7931 - 30/08/2016 20:36:52    1908355

Well first off let no one kid themselves,the best two teams in country are in final , Dublin are rightly favourite, I do feel this is perhaps mayo's last chance with this team, mayo haven't set the world alight and should have beat dubs last year.
Heart says mayo, head says dubs.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/08/2016 20:40:33    1908358

Replying To superbluedub:  "Rubbish post again!!this game will go to the wire as you well know"
I see two of my suggestions re player of the year and All Stars have been taken up already, just waiting for the Christmas books now. All in all an excellent post. I'm expecting several retrospective thumbs up.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 30/08/2016 20:42:48    1908361

I think Connolly will be up for this in a big way after last year .

My only concern is Dublins discipline, strangely Mayo wind Dublin players up like no others, thankfully this is a final so the lads will have extra focus and winning final experience, that's a huge advantage.

I keep hearing that Mayo ran Dublin close in the first game last year they did, but only when no one seems to Dublin were playing 12 vs 15 at the end.

The second game last year 15 vs 15 finished 3.15 to 1.14 to Dublin

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4458 - 30/08/2016 21:04:17    1908375

Replying To royaldunne:  "Well first off let no one kid themselves,the best two teams in country are in final , Dublin are rightly favourite, I do feel this is perhaps mayo's last chance with this team, mayo haven't set the world alight and should have beat dubs last year.
Heart says mayo, head says dubs."
Agree with some of what you say. I don't agree with it being Mayo's last chance. Their most important players still have some of their best years. Higgins could go but S O'S and Boyle are the next oldest key men and could still go a minimum of 2 more years.

They've u21 success to refresh the squad in the meantime. I don't see them going anywhere.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4286 - 30/08/2016 21:12:16    1908379

Replying To royaldunne:  "Well first off let no one kid themselves,the best two teams in country are in final , Dublin are rightly favourite, I do feel this is perhaps mayo's last chance with this team, mayo haven't set the world alight and should have beat dubs last year.
Heart says mayo, head says dubs."
The first time you've had anything good to say about Mayo and it's just to have a go at Kerry. Just go back to your old self, at least we know where we stand.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 30/08/2016 21:48:42    1908401

Replying To TheUsername:  "I think Connolly will be up for this in a big way after last year .

My only concern is Dublins discipline, strangely Mayo wind Dublin players up like no others, thankfully this is a final so the lads will have extra focus and winning final experience, that's a huge advantage.

I keep hearing that Mayo ran Dublin close in the first game last year they did, but only when no one seems to Dublin were playing 12 vs 15 at the end.

The second game last year 15 vs 15 finished 3.15 to 1.14 to Dublin"
Ah so that explains it. Won't happen the next day though, Jim and the lads have learned to count since.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 30/08/2016 21:53:39    1908404

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Lol I wasn't actually thinking you were comparing me by the way. Problem with typing is you can't tell my mood, so apologies if you thought I was biting back at you there! I actually don't get that angry whilst replying to idiotic posts, I just somehow hope they eventually acknowledge how idiotic their post is! To be fair there are a lot of good posters on here, all in all there might be 10 who I think are literally clueless on most topics to the point where I often hope they are trolls!"
No didn't think you were biting but what you need to remember is that handful of trolls (or otherwise) are always going to be present, no amount of ranting and raving is going to send them into exile. Back to the pub idea, this place is a cross section of the general public, and thinking about it, if that's the case you'd expect more retards on here, not less!

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 30/08/2016 23:12:06    1908447

Replying To MedwayIrish:  "No didn't think you were biting but what you need to remember is that handful of trolls (or otherwise) are always going to be present, no amount of ranting and raving is going to send them into exile. Back to the pub idea, this place is a cross section of the general public, and thinking about it, if that's the case you'd expect more retards on here, not less!"
Very poor choice of word up above

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20621 - 30/08/2016 23:29:10    1908452

Replying To jimbodub:  "Very poor choice of word up above"
Fair play, didn't set out to offend but if I have, my apologies.

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 31/08/2016 00:11:36    1908465

Definitely feels like the hype coming out of Mayo isn't like 2013 maybe I'm wrong, haven't read any posts on here yet but I for one would never write off this Mayo team they have the athleteism power and speed to hurt Dublin. Very interesting to see the match ups on the day can't wait.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 31/08/2016 12:26:04    1908626

Well first off let no one kid themselves,the best two teams in country are in final , Dublin are rightly favourite, I do feel this is perhaps mayo's last chance with this team, mayo haven't set the world alight and should have beat dubs last year.
Heart says mayo, head says dubs.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 31/08/2016 15:15:32    1908732

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "The first time you've had anything good to say about Mayo and it's just to have a go at Kerry. Just go back to your old self, at least we know where we stand."
Hows that a dig at Kerry? Also supported mayo against Tyrone this year, and dubs over last few years. Think you need to check your facts my friend.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 01/09/2016 13:19:21    1909110

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Definitely feels like the hype coming out of Mayo isn't like 2013 maybe I'm wrong, haven't read any posts on here yet but I for one would never write off this Mayo team they have the athleteism power and speed to hurt Dublin. Very interesting to see the match ups on the day can't wait."
Just wondering what you would consider hype? Do you equate what some anonymous poster on here says to hype? Is it some daft piece at the end of six one news? Do you seriously think that anything on here from posters bears any relation to what the Mayo panel are saying or thinking. I've lived in Mayo through many All Ireland build up at this stage and the hype thing is overblown from people looking in from the outside. A few Jersey days in school and such thing. Is that hype? I never understood. Maybe in Dublin it's not the same due to the size and diversity of the population but the hype thing I never understood. The build up should be enjoyed by the young and old otherwise what's the point in supporting the team. Just less of the patronising talk of "hype". Sorry it's just a bugbear of mine.
PS The songs are embarrassing to spot of Mayo people.

Weary (None) - Posts: 249 - 01/09/2016 14:57:26    1909157