Genius, to be fair, I was being a bit facetious if i am honest. Just it does annoy me that with a lot of Kerry lads, its never that Dublin are better, its always that Kerry didn't perform The inference being that Kerry are better, they just didn't turn up on the day. I remember before last years final, Newstalk had a broadcast from Paul Geaney's Pub on Main St in Dingle. To a man more or less the opinion was "Kerry have the better more natural footballers, and if they show up on the day….." Its utter BS and it does annoy me! I dont for one second really believe that we are that far ahead of ye atall. I know very well what writing the kingdom off can lead to!!! Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 19/08/2016 13:01:04 1903181 Link 1 |
Kerry: B Kelly; T Morley, M Griffin, B O Beaglaoich; S Enright, K Young, P Crowley; K Donaghy, D Moran; D Walsh (1-01), D O'Sullivan (1-02), P Murphy; J O'Donoghue (0-05, 0-03f), P Geaney (0-03, 0-01f), S O'Brien (0-01). Subs: A O'Mahony for Morley BC, BJ Keane (0-03) for Walsh, A Maher for Donaghy, B Sheehan (0-01, 0-01f) for Moran, M O'Se for Crowley, T Brosnan for O'Donoghue. The Kerry team, QF v Clare. There have been very very few changes in the 3 matches they've played this summer. Cooper? Sheehan in goal? SirStrawHat (Dublin) - Posts: 58 - 19/08/2016 13:20:52 1903191 Link 0 |
Liam I do appreciate what you mean that the term natural footballer is demeaning to other counties. I think this gets a little lost in translation I believe it to mean Kerry's natural instinct traditionally has been quick accurate kick passing. A skill that is dying in our game, I don't think anyone is doubting the ability of the Dublin lads who are a joy to watch ( when they are not playing us ofcourse )
westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 19/08/2016 13:23:14 1903194 Link 0 |
We know about the Sheehan rumour which is probably BS. There is a definite question mark around who will start midfield and there are a couple of spots up for grabs in the forwards. Have a look at the 'team for the semi' thread on the Kerry forum. The difference in some of the teams being named is gas. Will cooper start? Will Maher start? Will Sheehan start? All genuine questions at this stage. Injuries have meant we haven't been able to start our strongest side at any point this year. The team just hasn't settled into a rhythm, playing so little football doesn't help either. I don't ever remember going into a semi not knowing 13-14 of the starters. GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2113 - 19/08/2016 13:31:03 1903198 Link 0 |
Ya I forgot we didn't get to meet Tyrone the year after they beat us either , good one. Well as our old buddy snuff would say we're after two cold bowls of capital cumupance in 12 months so if that is fuel for our boys they might as well throw the towel at it. Liamo of course Dublin were the " better team " That's what happened us ;-) You're a gas man :-) KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 19/08/2016 13:34:42 1903201 Link 0 |
if you are using a pub from one of the Kerry players as representative of the Kerry view, I don't know what to say to yoiu. I have met nobody here who thinks we have anywhere the same talent level or depth or thinks we have a chance of winning, quite a few are fearful of another hammering so please stop such false representations of the truth. KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 19/08/2016 13:46:42 1903203 Link 0 |
In 2009, Kerry struggled through the back door of the championship to arrive in Croke Park with unbelievable form. Dublin lost by 17 points. By 2011, Dublin was a team that grabbed the game. On skill, maybe Kerry were better but in bravery, it was Dublin. By 2013, the skill, tactics and speed was even with the exception of the subs. Here Dublin nailed it. By 2015, tactically Dublin surpassed Kerry and Gavin planned many moves ahead. His military prowess was exceptional. For Kerry, their tactics to stop Dublin running at them down the middle and prevent Dublin getting goals and to throw Cluxton, (arguable one of the best goalies in modern times) was indeed covering our perceived areas of weakness. Gavin, however had Dublin's defence closing down Kerry's gifted forwards. Even Gooch was playing back fiddle to Philly McMahon. This year, in the league, I was genuinely in awe of Dublin's full bodied capacity. They now are a team that has it all; fitness, skill, tactics and an ability to play with speed for 70 minutes plus. kerrykerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1779 - 19/08/2016 13:59:22 1903210 Link 1 |
Kerry don't play that kind of football anymore in my opinion, not since Tyrone schooled them in Croker a few times, Dublin are playing great flowing football when they get the chance, Dublin will win this and the final as well, they just need to keep focused and not get complacent. TirChonaillabu2 (Donegal) - Posts: 344 - 19/08/2016 21:13:43 1903372 Link 1 |
They do against footballing teams and you will see that next Sunday. No disrespect it's the likes of Donegal that prevent it being played due to your view of how football is played. Personally I prefer out outlook. westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 19/08/2016 21:49:11 1903383 Link 1 |
I don't agree with you,I think Kerry have changed their style a lot as well, I'd rather we played a more attacking game and hope we do in the future if we get new management in,but you have to start with a solid defence, you'll see Kerry try and defend in numbers to stop Dublin, if they don't the Dubs will run them over. TirChonaillabu2 (Donegal) - Posts: 344 - 19/08/2016 23:32:34 1903410 Link 1 |
Ah now hermit, kingdomboy1 etc, don't be twisting words. I never said you played for 10 mins, I said we were the better side for most of it and ye hit a purple patch mid way through the second half and nearly got out of sight. realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8729 - 19/08/2016 23:47:52 1903415 Link 1 |
Don't mind that Donegal lad Westkerry if we were playing aliens he'd shout for ET . He's been bitter since we schooled them in the 2014 final. KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 20/08/2016 01:01:44 1903430 Link 0 |
Kerry are going to win, they are absolutely Flying in training. Kerry by four. royce (UK) - Posts: 30 - 20/08/2016 06:20:11 1903438 Link 0 |
For sure you can never right off Kerry, but flying in training is no guarantee of winning Its all on the day which team performs, gets a bit of luck, a dodgy decision etc its a hard one to call, roll on the 28th!! superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2842 - 20/08/2016 09:48:05 1903452 Link 1 |
Yerra it should be close alright. As I've said earlier its hard not to have Dublin as favorites but I'm expecting a huge performance from Kerry. IF, IF, we play to our potential you never know what might come. Just thinking back its hard to recall the last time Kerry did actually put in a big 70 min performance, maybe Q-final last year? So they're certainly overdue for one! TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 20/08/2016 10:48:43 1903458 Link 0 |
I have a small wager on Kerry to win, heard Kerry are chomping at the bit to beat the Dubs, 3 times Tyrone beat Kerry on the spin and in 12 they finished that Tyrone Team, Kerry to beat the Dubs, not by being the better team, but on Hunger and desire, Kerry by Blood London by Birth. royce (UK) - Posts: 30 - 20/08/2016 11:50:12 1903476 Link 0 |
Fair play realdub well said, and hopefully our lads can at least put in a good 50/60 minutes in this game .
KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 20/08/2016 12:16:18 1903486 Link 0 |
If you think Kerry play anything like the Ulster sides then I'm afraid there is nothing I can say to you Dublin had 13 men and totally outplayed Donegal ultra-defensive system. Don't be fooled by the 5 point margin, Dublin were on the way to winning by about 15 points until the red cards and it was only a once in a blue moon error from COS that allowed ye get a goal. And even at that Donegal never looked like coming close, the booing from their fans at Dublin's keep ball near the end was absolutely laughable, a team with 2 men less and they still stayed in their defensive zones like zombies. KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 20/08/2016 12:46:37 1903495 Link 0 |
You have a wager on them because you 'heard Kerry are chomping at the bit to beat them'. Kerry are always chomping at the bit to beat the Dubs. This time is no different.
CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 20/08/2016 13:43:35 1903524 Link 1 |
Flying in training?! Sh*t, might as well not bother turning up!
CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 20/08/2016 13:45:51 1903525 Link 0 |